We noticed that you're using an unsupported browser. The TripAdvisor website may not display properly.
We support the following browsers:
Windows: Internet Explorer, Mozilla Firefox, Google Chrome. Mac: Safari.

“Boutique or Extended Stay? Could be either!” 5 of 5 stars
Review of One Washington Circle Hotel

Best prices for -
Enter dates for best prices
Check In mm/dd/yyyy Check Out mm/dd/yyyy
Prices are for 1 room, 2 adults
Show Prices
Compare best prices from top travel sites
and 9 more sites!
One Washington Circle Hotel
Ranked #20 of 140 Hotels in Washington DC
Certificate of Excellence
San Francisco
Level Contributor
51 reviews
19 hotel reviews
common_n_hotel_reviews_1bd8 23 helpful votes
“Boutique or Extended Stay? Could be either!”
5 of 5 stars Reviewed December 30, 2011

This is a hotel with versatility. It could feel like a boutique hotel, or a businessman's hotel, or a family hotel.

1. Location:
near Metro station (Foggy Bottom);
at a walkable distance from Dupont Circle and GWU area;
a 15-minute drive from the Reagan National Airport;
most cabs know the hotel

2. Rooms:
Very spacious suites;
Small (by comparison with the suite's size) but well-fitted bathroom;
Kitchen comes with a large refrigerator, coffee-grinder, useful set of utensils;
Balcony that could come in useful

5. Misc.:
Fast check-in - not one of those hotels with a large lobby and yet slow check-in;
Very good service; ask Emmanuel about where to eat, etc.;
Whole Foods, 24-hour CVS pharmacy, Walgreens are all nearby;
Sound of sirens could be detrimental to sleep, but that's quite probably true of any hotel within the city's limits

All in all, a very pleasant experience and a hotel I would go back to.

Room Tip: Get a room on the higher floors; if you are particular about your coffee, this is your chance to bri...
See more room tips
  • Stayed December 2011, traveled on business
    • 4 of 5 stars
      Value
    • 5 of 5 stars
      Location
    • 4 of 5 stars
      Sleep Quality
    • 5 of 5 stars
      Rooms
    • 5 of 5 stars
      Cleanliness
    • 4 of 5 stars
      Service
Helpful?
1 Thank AverageTraveller1
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Write a Review

1,403 reviews from our community

Traveler rating
    693
    512
    129
    33
    36
See reviews for
484
230
96
375
Rating summary
  • Location
  • Sleep Quality
  • Rooms
  • Service
  • Value
  • Cleanliness
Traveler tips help you choose the right room.   Room tips (324)
Date | Rating
  • Chinese (Simplified) first
  • Danish first
  • Dutch first
  • English first
  • French first
  • German first
  • Italian first
  • Japanese first
  • Norwegian first
  • Portuguese first
  • Russian first
  • Spanish first
  • Swedish first
  • Any
English first
Sydney, Australia
Level Contributor
16 reviews
3 hotel reviews
common_n_hotel_reviews_1bd8 10 helpful votes
5 of 5 stars Reviewed December 28, 2011

We stayed at this hotel for 6 nights with our 12 year old daughter. Upon arriving we were immediately assisted by a fantastic staff member, Molique (sorry if it is spelt wrong). Who seeing what type of room we had booked and how long we were there for offered us an upgrade. All the staff at the hotel were very helpful and willing to assist. The location was great and very close to the Metro. The room we were in (Grand Suite) was big and clean. Would definitely recommend this to friends and stay here again.

  • Stayed December 2011, traveled with family
    • 5 of 5 stars
      Value
    • 5 of 5 stars
      Location
    • 3 of 5 stars
      Sleep Quality
    • 5 of 5 stars
      Rooms
    • 5 of 5 stars
      Cleanliness
    • 5 of 5 stars
      Service
Helpful?
1 Thank Jacqui K
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Cleveland, Ohio
Level Contributor
14 reviews
6 hotel reviews
common_n_hotel_reviews_1bd8 13 helpful votes
5 of 5 stars Reviewed December 19, 2011

Ok, this review is coming a bit late, but my wife and I loved this hotel. We stayed during New Years 2011. The price was only around $75, and the lady at the front desk let us stay an additional night for the same price (which was New Years).
We had a great time, you could live in these rooms for a significant amount of time. They were like little apartments with a kitchen, huge walk in closet, couch and nice big flat screen LCD TV. Whenever in DC, you gotta try this place. You are close to Dupont Circle, the Metro Train, and the Georgetown area.

  • Stayed January 2011, traveled on business
    • 5 of 5 stars
      Value
    • 5 of 5 stars
      Location
    • 5 of 5 stars
      Sleep Quality
    • 5 of 5 stars
      Rooms
    • 5 of 5 stars
      Cleanliness
    • 5 of 5 stars
      Service
Helpful?
1 Thank JohnBlaze28
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
New York City, New York
Level Contributor
81 reviews
36 hotel reviews
common_n_hotel_reviews_1bd8 51 helpful votes
4 of 5 stars Reviewed December 19, 2011

This is my second review for this hotel. I stayed in their studio suite for $ 85 per night this past weekend and by far it was the best deal I ever paid for a downtown hotel in DC. Large studio with a balcony, nice size living room, a walking closet, a working desk, a pantry and a decent size bathroom. OWC needs to upgrade their bathrooms, especially their tub/shower area. It was not too bad but some tiles were a bit rusty and old. I experienced the same condition on my previous stay at their premium suite. They opened up new restaurants across the circle as well as a high-end supermarket so guests have many options to dine out/get breakfast minutes away from the lobby. Foggy Bottom station is also within a short walking distance. I returned at 2:00 a.m. and they locked down the lobby for additional security measure and the guard asked me to show him my room access card prior to entering the building. I felt safer even though the area is already safe to begin with. I have recommended this hotel to friends for their spacious rooms and friendly services. Book directly from their website and see if they have advance booking specials.

Room Tip: Get better deals from their website booking, they offer better pricing than some online travel websi...
See more room tips
  • Stayed December 2011, traveled solo
    • 5 of 5 stars
      Value
    • 5 of 5 stars
      Location
    • 4 of 5 stars
      Sleep Quality
    • 5 of 5 stars
      Rooms
    • 4 of 5 stars
      Cleanliness
    • 4 of 5 stars
      Service
Helpful?
1 Thank Arch-Designer
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Zurich, Switzerland
Level Contributor
124 reviews
65 hotel reviews
common_n_hotel_reviews_1bd8 107 helpful votes
3 of 5 stars Reviewed December 14, 2011

This was my second stay at One Washington Circle. My first stay was in 1997 and this one was quite a bit later. But my sense then was the same as it is now, namely that this is a fairly average DC hotel. I would have stayed at the Fairmont, Ritz or Westin (all within a few blocks of each other) but they were sold out due to conferences.

On the pro side, the desk staff were very polite and there was free internet in the room. I also slept very well once I got settled. The rooms can be quite large (as other commentators have noted) because it looks like people combined a few rooms in an apartment to create a hotel room. I also thought the gym was very serviceable.

On the con side, as I was not responsible for doing the booking, I ended up not getting the free parking rate at the hotel, which ended up being a big issue because even though I only stayed at the hotel less than 24 hours, I got charged for two days worth of parking. I also found the bathroom a bit on the daggy side for comparable hotels. I also experienced a rather shady character within a block of the hotel, but this is not the fault of the hotel -- and it is not necessarily typical of this area. But you do get a few "interesting" types from time to time in this neighborhood (which I should know as I actually lived in the area for three years in the early 2000s).

Overall, if I needed to stay here again, I would -- but I would check out what deals Tripadvisor has first!

  • Stayed November 2011, traveled on business
    • 3 of 5 stars
      Value
    • 3 of 5 stars
      Location
    • 3 of 5 stars
      Sleep Quality
    • 3 of 5 stars
      Rooms
    • 3 of 5 stars
      Cleanliness
    • 4 of 5 stars
      Service
Helpful?
Thank sd_in_switzerland
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Kingston, Pennsylvania
Level Contributor
14 reviews
3 hotel reviews
common_n_hotel_reviews_1bd8 3 helpful votes
5 of 5 stars Reviewed December 13, 2011

My son attends George Washington University in Washington DC. When we first started visiting the DC area, we weren't really familiar with a lot of the hotels so we always opted for a Marriott. Then we discovered One Washington Circle Hotel. It is the best kept secret in DC! The location is prime. It is right in the center of everything! Walking distance to many upscale restaurants, the monuments, and M street. The hotel is spotless, and offers so many amenities. There is a kitchen, fully stocked with kitchen essentials, even a wine opener and wine glasses! The Fitness Center is also very nice - as is the Circle Bistro Restaurant and Bar. The menu is small but the food is very good.
A lot of rooms have balconies, which I happen to love! The staff is amazing, and so friendly! I hesitated in writing this because I don't want to have a difficult time booking rooms in the future because of gained popularity! But I had to be fair and give them the praise they deserve. You will not be disappointed if you visit this wonderful hotel.

Room Tip: The rooms with the balconies are awesome! So are the suites!
See more room tips
  • Stayed November 2011, traveled with family
    • 5 of 5 stars
      Value
    • 5 of 5 stars
      Location
    • 5 of 5 stars
      Sleep Quality
    • 5 of 5 stars
      Rooms
    • 5 of 5 stars
      Cleanliness
    • 5 of 5 stars
      Service
Helpful?
1 Thank Kathleen042884
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Illinois
Level Contributor
44 reviews
20 hotel reviews
common_n_hotel_reviews_1bd8 39 helpful votes
4 of 5 stars Reviewed December 9, 2011

Booked One Washington Circle Hotel when I was traveling alone to the city. I wanted to be walking distance from the Mall and close to the Portrait Gallery. Overall the property is not luxury or in top condition but it was shoulders above some of the mid priced hotels I have been to of late. For the price /location in a major city I think it is hard to complain. I certainly had lots of space to spread out.

The hotel offers kitchens but if I were in need of this feature I would call ahead. The room I booked online had a kitchen however it was poorly equipped with little more than dishes and dining cutlery and glasses but nothing for cooking beyond some pots. The fridge and coffee maker served my purpose. There is a restaurant but I never ate there so have no comment on it. I ate breakfast at a cafe at the suggestion of the staff - Bread and Chocolate. Bread and Chocolate is two blocks away and the omelets and waffles and pastries were all delicious and the cappuccino had top rate foam - and came in a mug as big as a soup bowl. The bed was very comfortable and the room was spacious for the price so I had no complaints on that score. I read that others had room issues so perhaps call ahead? I did not have mold in my room and someone washed my coffee stuff every day and changed my sheets so it seemed in order. The desk staff was helpful and arranged a fixed price limo back to the airport and helped with dining suggestions.

The area is noisy at times but I found the hotel windows deadened the sirens to a reasonable level. I do travel with earplugs but did not use them. I also live in an urban area so perhaps it is worse for people with quiet hometowns. I would have to say the neighborhood felt really deserted on the weekend. There were some restaurants in walking distance. I did not have any really amazing meals and would do more research next time. I wandered to the National Geographic museum and it was in a pretty neighborhood nearby and I enjoyed the exhibit on at their gallery.

I did walk to the mall and to the museums so it was absolutely fine and safe. For the price, I would stay at the hotel again with my children but would probably chose a different more lively location if I was visiting with my husband.

Hope this helps.

  • Stayed December 2011, traveled solo
    • 4 of 5 stars
      Value
    • 4 of 5 stars
      Location
    • 5 of 5 stars
      Sleep Quality
    • 4 of 5 stars
      Rooms
    • 3 of 5 stars
      Cleanliness
    • 3 of 5 stars
      Service
Helpful?
Thank Flit_Wing
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Hotels you might also like...
Travelers also viewed these Washington DC hotels
Foggy Bottom - GWU - West End
George Washington University Inn
George Washington University Inn
#26 of 140 in Washington DC
4.5 of 5 stars 991 reviews
Foggy Bottom - GWU - West End
The River Inn
The River Inn
#7 of 140 in Washington DC
4.5 of 5 stars 1,395 reviews
Avenue Suites Georgetown
#4 of 140 in Washington DC
4.5 of 5 stars 1,215 reviews
Show Prices
Show Prices
Show Prices
Foggy Bottom - GWU - West End
Hotel Lombardy
Hotel Lombardy
#21 of 140 in Washington DC
4.5 of 5 stars 1,807 reviews
Dupont Circle
Hampton Inn Washington, D.C./White House
Foggy Bottom - GWU - West End
Melrose Georgetown Hotel
Melrose Georgetown Hotel
#32 of 140 in Washington DC
4.5 of 5 stars 893 reviews
Show Prices
Show Prices
Show Prices

Been to One Washington Circle Hotel? Share your experiences!

Write a Review Add Photos & Videos

Additional Information about One Washington Circle Hotel

Property: One Washington Circle Hotel
Address: 1 Washington Cir NW, Washington DC, DC 20037-2347
Phone Number:
Location: United States > District of Columbia > Washington DC
Amenities:
Bar / Lounge Business Center with Internet Access Fitness Center with Gym / Workout Room Free High Speed Internet ( WiFi ) Children Activities (Kid / Family Friendly) Kitchenette Pets Allowed ( Dog / Pet Friendly ) Restaurant Room Service Suites Swimming Pool Wheelchair access
Hotel Style:
#8 Best Value Hotel in Washington DC
#24 Family Hotel in Washington DC
#25 Romantic Hotel in Washington DC
#37 Business Hotel in Washington DC
Price Range (Based on Average Rates): $$
Hotel Class:3 star — One Washington Circle Hotel 3*
Number of rooms: 151
Official Description (provided by the hotel):
One Washington Circle Hotel is conveniently located in the heart of Washington, DC's vibrant Foggy Bottom neighborhood, just one block from the Foggy Bottom Metro Station. Enjoy cool, vibrant atmosphere from the moment you step through the front doors of our stylish hotel. Our friendly staff members welcome each guest with a genuine smile to our super comfortable, modern accommodations in a prime downtown DC location. ... more   less 
Reservation Options:
TripAdvisor is proud to partner with Booking.com, Expedia, TripOnline SA, Hotwire, Priceline, Cancelon, Odigeo, Agoda, Orbitz, Hotels.com and Travelocity so you can book your One Washington Circle Hotel reservations with confidence. We help millions of travelers each month to find the perfect hotel for both vacation and business trips, always with the best discounts and special offers.
Also Known As:
1 Washington Circle Hotel
One Washington Circle Dc
Hotel One Washington Circle

Is This Your TripAdvisor Listing?

Own or manage this property? Claim your listing for free to respond to reviews, update your profile and much more.

Claim Your Listing