We noticed that you're using an unsupported browser. The TripAdvisor website may not display properly.
We support the following browsers:
Windows: Internet Explorer, Mozilla Firefox, Google Chrome. Mac: Safari.
The latest reviews. The lowest prices. The perfect place to shop for hotels.

“Caveat” 2 of 5 bubbles
Review of The Graham Georgetown

Best prices for -
Check In mm/dd/yyyy Check Out mm/dd/yyyy
Prices are for 1 room, 2 adults
Show Prices
Compare best prices from top travel sites
and 3 more sites!
The Graham Georgetown
Ranked #17 of 140 Hotels in Washington DC
Certificate of Excellence
new york
Level Contributor
71 reviews
60 hotel reviews
common_n_hotel_reviews_1bd8 67 helpful votes
“Caveat”
2 of 5 bubbles Reviewed May 26, 2014

Let me start by saying that I did not actually stay at the Graham. We were going to stay, we went as far as trying to make a reservation directly with the hotel. We spoke with someone in reservations who was supposed to confirm the rate and email us later in the day. We never received the confirmation so we called back the next day. We were put on endless hold then were switched to others who were rude and uninterested in helping us with our reservation. It was at that point that we decided that this would not be a good place to stay judging from their nasty staff on the phone. We booked the Jefferson instead which was great. The Graham should take lessons from them.........

  • Stayed May 2014, traveled as a couple
    • 1 of 5 bubbles
      Service
Helpful?
3 Thank nyer_9
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Write a Review

482 reviews from our community

Traveler rating
    320
    103
    38
    11
    10
See reviews for
110
169
23
105
Rating summary
  • Location
    5 of 5 bubbles
  • Sleep Quality
    4.5 of 5 bubbles
  • Rooms
    4.5 of 5 bubbles
  • Service
    4.5 of 5 bubbles
  • Value
    4.5 of 5 bubbles
  • Cleanliness
    5 of 5 bubbles
Traveler tips help you choose the right room.   Room tips (104)
Date | Rating
  • Dutch first
  • English first
  • French first
  • German first
  • Italian first
  • Portuguese first
  • Spanish first
  • Any
English first
Orlando, FL
Level Contributor
34 reviews
21 hotel reviews
common_n_hotel_reviews_1bd8 55 helpful votes
5 of 5 bubbles Reviewed May 21, 2014

The Graham is a clean, efficient hotel just off M Street in the Georgetown neighborhood of Washington, DC. The lobby might be small but the rooms are comfortable sized, clean and modern. I spent a little time in the restaurant which was also small but comfortable. I only had coffee there, but the service was excellent. I would imagine the same would apply to breakfast which is a little pricey. I opted to pick up something in the surrounding neighborhood on my way in the morning (lots of choices.) The whole staff was friendly, helpful and accommodating. I would definitely stay there again.

  • Stayed April 2014, traveled on business
    • 4 of 5 bubbles
      Value
    • 5 of 5 bubbles
      Location
    • 5 of 5 bubbles
      Sleep Quality
    • 5 of 5 bubbles
      Rooms
    • 5 of 5 bubbles
      Cleanliness
    • 5 of 5 bubbles
      Service
Helpful?
1 Thank Sloshgator
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Toronto,Ontario
Level Contributor
10 reviews
6 hotel reviews
common_n_hotel_reviews_1bd8 7 helpful votes
2 of 5 bubbles Reviewed May 21, 2014

The hotel is over priced and not a luxury property. Our room had bathroom door that didn't close properly! The valet service and parking was slow, and the roof top bar is trying too hard.

The location is good and the front desk staff were pleasant, but there is a lot of work do before I will go back.

The Monticello was a better hotel.

Room Tip: Not 603 as the bathroom door is a sliding door that does not close
See more room tips
  • Stayed May 2014, traveled with family
    • 1 of 5 bubbles
      Value
    • 5 of 5 bubbles
      Location
    • 3 of 5 bubbles
      Sleep Quality
    • 2 of 5 bubbles
      Rooms
    • 4 of 5 bubbles
      Cleanliness
    • 2 of 5 bubbles
      Service
Helpful?
4 Thank afellowes4
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
New York City, New York
Level Contributor
37 reviews
7 hotel reviews
common_n_hotel_reviews_1bd8 13 helpful votes
5 of 5 bubbles Reviewed May 18, 2014

Wow. Wow. Wow. Really beautiful hotel on Thomas Jefferson. On a quaint historic cobblestoned street between M Street with every type of restaurant and quality shop you can think of and the historic canal. Adorable. Safe to walk alone at any hour. The room was exquisite. I particularly enjoyed my foam memory mattress. I wondered how far I would sink in to it. Great food in the restaurant with extremely friendly, personable and bright staff. The roof top wrap around bar/lounge is really a wonderful cosmopolitan touch. I recommend this place and hope to stay again. Oh, and only 10 minute ride to the courthouses if you're there on business.

  • Stayed May 2014, traveled on business
    • 4 of 5 bubbles
      Value
    • 5 of 5 bubbles
      Location
    • 5 of 5 bubbles
      Sleep Quality
    • 5 of 5 bubbles
      Rooms
    • 5 of 5 bubbles
      Cleanliness
    • 5 of 5 bubbles
      Service
Helpful?
Thank Gina c
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Long Island, New York
Level Contributor
95 reviews
42 hotel reviews
common_n_hotel_reviews_1bd8 58 helpful votes
3 of 5 bubbles Reviewed May 4, 2014

Spent three nights at the Graham on a little get-away with my husband. We picked it for the neighborhood which was lovely. Getting into "downtown" Washington was about a $12 or $15 taxi ride. Don't plan on using the Metro. It's far to the nearest station.
Pros: Comfy bed, nice linen and towels, pleasant staff including front desk and bellmen.
Cons: Small room, noisy heater, one robe for a king room, odd mildew smell in the room
And here's why we won't go back: On the roof is a truly beautiful bar. It is very crowded and certainly a hot spot. There are perhaps hundreds of people coming and going from dinnertime late into the night. That would be fine but they use the same elevator as the guests. They are free to get off at any floor or congregate in the lobby. There is absolutely zero security since anyone from the street has access to anyplace in the building all night. I felt uncomfortable with this lack of security every evening.

Room Tip: High floorbunless you like serious city noises - people and vehicles.
See more room tips
  • Stayed April 2014, traveled as a couple
    • 2 of 5 bubbles
      Value
    • 4 of 5 bubbles
      Location
    • 4 of 5 bubbles
      Sleep Quality
    • 2 of 5 bubbles
      Rooms
    • 3 of 5 bubbles
      Cleanliness
    • 4 of 5 bubbles
      Service
Helpful?
1 Thank LIGrammy
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Philadelphia, Pennsylvania
Level Contributor
5 reviews
common_n_hotel_reviews_1bd8 5 helpful votes
4 of 5 bubbles Reviewed May 1, 2014

I chose the Graham b/c of its location and price. The chain hotels were all twice the price. I was pleasantly surprised when I got to my room. I have read a lot of the reviews and can only conclude that all of the rooms are different. I had a suite, with a king bed and a sitting area. My bed was one of the most comfortable beds I have been in. The two areas were completely separate. The "hall" between the two areas housed the bathroom on the left and the closet on the right. TVs in both areas (although I didn't turn on the tv in the sitting area). I didn't utilize the restaurants/bars in the hotel b/c there are too many great choices within a short walk.

I have only one drawback to identify. The Heating/AC unit is on the wall. It is not a centralized system with a thermostat to help you maintain temp and humidity. These systems tend to be louder and harder to control. Mine was't terribly loud, but it was hard to maintain a temp.

I travel for work a lot and as a result, I like the chains for consistency and points accumulation. Next time I am in DC however, I will likely come back to the Graham.

  • Stayed April 2014, traveled on business
    • 4 of 5 bubbles
      Value
    • 5 of 5 bubbles
      Location
    • 5 of 5 bubbles
      Sleep Quality
    • 5 of 5 bubbles
      Rooms
    • 4 of 5 bubbles
      Cleanliness
Helpful?
1 Thank fpl8of9
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
San Francisco
Level Contributor
125 reviews
71 hotel reviews
common_n_hotel_reviews_1bd8 98 helpful votes
4 of 5 bubbles Reviewed April 21, 2014

A very good small hotel in a very good neighborhood, for those who like fancy expensive chain shops. It is new, so not all taxi drivers know it by name. I stayed there 3 or 4 nights for business. Great staff, great breakfast (quick and simple). My suite was convenient, however the writing desk was in bedroom and there was no use for the front room, besides making the bed farther from the front door (also important). The colour scheme of my room was black-and-white, which underlined its cleanness, but felt a bit cool (cold). Noise from the street in the morning was a little louder than I liked.

  • Stayed March 2014, traveled solo
    • 5 of 5 bubbles
      Value
    • 5 of 5 bubbles
      Location
    • 4 of 5 bubbles
      Sleep Quality
    • 5 of 5 bubbles
      Rooms
    • 5 of 5 bubbles
      Cleanliness
    • 5 of 5 bubbles
      Service
Helpful?
1 Thank War-chique
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Hotels you might also like...
Travelers also viewed these Washington DC hotels
Foggy Bottom - GWU - West End
Fairmont Washington, D.C. Georgetown
Georgetown
Four Seasons Hotel Washington, DC
Georgetown
The Ritz-Carlton Georgetown, Washington, D.C.
The Ritz-Carlton Georgetown, Was...
#10 of 140 in Washington DC
4.5 of 5 bubbles 401 reviews
Show Prices
Show Prices
Show Prices
Foggy Bottom - GWU - West End
The Watergate Hotel
The Watergate Hotel
#8 of 140 in Washington DC
4.5 of 5 bubbles 217 reviews
Avenue Suites Georgetown
#9 of 140 in Washington DC
4.5 of 5 bubbles 1,385 reviews
Dupont Circle
Kimpton Hotel Palomar Washington DC
Show Prices
Show Prices
Show Prices

Been to The Graham Georgetown? Share your experiences!

Write a Review Add Photos & Videos

Additional Information about The Graham Georgetown

Property: The Graham Georgetown
Address: 1075 Thomas Jefferson Street NW, Washington DC, DC 20007 (Formerly Hotel Monticello)
Location: United States > District of Columbia > Washington DC > Georgetown
Amenities:
Bar / Lounge Business Center with Internet Access Fitness Center with Gym / Workout Room Free High Speed Internet ( WiFi ) Restaurant Room Service Suites Wheelchair access
Hotel Style:
#11 Luxury Hotel in Washington DC
#22 Romantic Hotel in Washington DC
#42 Business Hotel in Washington DC
#43 Family Hotel in Washington DC
Price Range (Based on Average Rates): $$$$
Hotel Class:4 star — The Graham Georgetown 4*
Number of rooms: 57
Official Description (provided by the hotel):
Welcome to The Graham, where cultured sophistication meets modern luxury in one of the most refined residential hotels in Georgetown DC. Named after famous Georgetown resident Alexander Graham Bell, inventor of the telephone, our Georgetown hotel draws inspiration from Bell's inventiveness and consummate poise, offering a mix of innovative style and gracious service that fit naturally with the spirit of the neighborhood. Nestled along the banks of the Potomac River, The Graham sits in the heart of DC's most affluent and historic area. Our central Georgetown location makes it easy to walk around this intimate neighborhood, home to important landmarks and historic estates, prestigious universities, and numerous independent shops and restaurants. Georgetown University, George Washington University, Washington Harbour, the Kennedy Center, and the National Cathedral are all located nearby, and the area itself is within close proximity to downtown Washington D.C. When the day is over, retreat to one of our Georgetown hotel's 57 guestroom and suites, stylish and spacious with luxurious residential comforts and amenities designed for the discerning guest, including complimentary Wi-fi and a 24-hour fitness center. Experience our new craft cocktail cellar and small-plate dining concept The Alex, and afterwards head up to The Observatory, The Graham's open air rooftop bar and lounge, to take in one of the most stunning views of our nation's capital-martini and cigar in hand, of course. ... more   less 
Reservation Options:
TripAdvisor is proud to partner with Booking.com, Hotels.com, Travelocity, Cheap Tickets and Jetsetter so you can book your The Graham Georgetown reservations with confidence. We help millions of travelers each month to find the perfect hotel for both vacation and business trips, always with the best discounts and special offers.
Also Known As:
Monticello Hotel Washington Dc
Monticello Washington Dc

Is This Your TripAdvisor Listing?

Own or manage this property? Claim your listing for free to respond to reviews, update your profile and much more.

Claim Your Listing