We noticed that you're using an unsupported browser. The TripAdvisor website may not display properly.We support the following browsers:
Windows: Internet Explorer, Mozilla Firefox, Google Chrome. Mac: Safari.

“Cool hotel”

Best prices for -
Check In mm/dd/yyyy Check Out mm/dd/yyyy
Prices are for 1 room, 2 adults
Show Prices
Compare best prices from top travel sites
and 5 more sites!
The Graham Georgetown
Ranked #9 of 141 Hotels in Washington DC
Certificate of Excellence
Reviewed April 21, 2014

A very good small hotel in a very good neighborhood, for those who like fancy expensive chain shops. It is new, so not all taxi drivers know it by name. I stayed there 3 or 4 nights for business. Great staff, great breakfast (quick and simple). My suite was convenient, however the writing desk was in bedroom and there was no use for the front room, besides making the bed farther from the front door (also important). The colour scheme of my room was black-and-white, which underlined its cleanness, but felt a bit cool (cold). Noise from the street in the morning was a little louder than I liked.

  • Stayed: March 2014, traveled solo
    • Value
    • Location
    • Sleep Quality
    • Rooms
    • Cleanliness
    • Service
1  Thank War-chique
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Write a ReviewReviews (588)
Traveler rating
Traveler type
Time of year
Language
  • More languages

458 - 464 of 588 reviews

Reviewed April 20, 2014

Had a beautiful and elegant surprise birthday celebration this past March. From the planning to the careful execution, Lexi and staff were incredible in making this experience come to life. I will be coming again!

  • Stayed: March 2014, traveled with friends
    • Value
    • Location
    • Cleanliness
    • Service
Thank ryanoemge
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Reviewed April 9, 2014

I had the great pleasure of staying at the Graham Georgetown hotel for a short 5 day holiday/ business trip with my husband.

I already stayed at some beautiful hotels in the US (maily hotel chains) and nice boutique hotels in Europe... but there was something special about the Graham Georgetown hotel.The hotel is quite small and unique with a very exclusive and private feel. It makes you feel at home. The rooms are absolutely gorgeous and furnished very nice. Our bedroom was very quaint.

What makes the hotel unique from other beautiful hotels is the perfect service and lovely staff. By the time you leave, it feels like you are friends with every member on the staff. The staff are always helpful and attentive, but not in a way that invades your privacy.

I highly recommend this hotel!

  • Stayed: November 2013, traveled as a couple
    • Value
    • Location
    • Sleep Quality
    • Rooms
    • Cleanliness
    • Service
Thank Hannah Maria F
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Reviewed April 8, 2014

I stayed recently on a business trip for three nights. The Graham is a small, quiet hotel, with full amenities, close to the restaurants and shops of M street. My room was nicely decorated and had everything i could need. very comfortable bed. The staff were great and very helpful, especially Jackie and Keisha at the front desk. I would definitely stay again.

Stayed: March 2014, traveled on business
Thank Susan P
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Reviewed April 8, 2014

We recently had a one night stay at The Graham on a last minute reservation. The hotel has a great location in Georgetown, although there was some occasional street noise related to our room being right at street level. We were given room 102, on the ground floor right behind the reception desk and near the elevators, so in the early evening there was some noise from reception area and the elevators, but by later in the evening it had resolved. There was some car/truck noise early the next morning however.

The room appeared to have been recently refreshed and the bed was very comfortable. The HVAC system was "old style' and slightly noisy when the fan was running. There was only one robe for our king bed room. Bathroom was nice sized but not spacious. The shower was good, although there was a fair amount of plumbing noise when water was being run.

The hotel itself was comfortable, with a great rooftop bar area. Staff was very friendly and attentive. The workout room was very small, with no windows and not very inviting.

We did have an evening meal in the hotel restaurant, which is in a small, but comfortable space in the lower level. The food was excellent, and service was rapid with only one other table eating at what should have been a busy dinner hour.

One complaint we passed on to the staff was that the closet in our room had no minibar refrigerator (which the front desk was not aware of) although there was clearly a space for one and curiously the hotel safe was loose (not anchored) so it could have been picked up and carried out (if someone was totally determined to rob the room).

Overall a pleasant stay at a 3-4 star boutique hotel.

Room Tip: Avoid street level room if possible since you are right at sidewalk level.
See more room tips
  • Stayed: April 2014, traveled as a couple
    • Value
    • Location
    • Sleep Quality
    • Rooms
    • Cleanliness
    • Service
Thank travelhive
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Reviewed March 29, 2014

Apologies, I'm a few months late in writing this - I was prompted as I am searching for a new bed at home and this hotel has the best beds Ive ever slept in…Hoping you'll share your secrets after reading this please?
After getting married a few months earlier we decided to take a belated honeymoon in Washington DC & Florida and as the Monticello was an old favourite of mine (2 previous visits) I insisted on staying here again. I had followed the revamp news online and kept up to date with the opening and was a little worried that the charm of the Monticello would have disappeared, with all the roof top 'party set' clientele.

A few niggles...

Upon check-in the young man seemed to have a little trouble locating our booking (inc terrace) and initially said it wasn't available, it then became apparent he had mixed up the shared terrace room that we had booked, thinking we had the 'private' terrace room, but after checking with a lady in the office it was cleared up. The room he offered us was on the ground floor directly behind reception, adjacent to the elevator.. I knew this would be noisy so i pointed out it was our honeymoon and asked for another room. All he had was a standard king (without terrace) and that would be a hour before it was ready, which was a no go after a long transatlantic flight, so we risked the first room.

We had no problems with the room/terrace, best beds EVER, spacious and clean but as another person pointed out I cannot understand why one coffee and one decaf coffee are supplied - who wants to have to phone reception for extra coffee when you wake up - Just supply two of each!

Over all during our 4 night stay I was disturbed two of the nights by the elevator and sadly the reception staff/concierge? who were talking and laughing loudly in the early hours of the morning.

My last niggle was on our 3rd morning the cleaning lady knocking to get in the room whilst i was in the shower, she started to enter the room before i could get to the door, i apologised and said we would be out of the room in 30 minutes, her abrupt and rather rude response was that 'I should have used the do not disturb sign' WHICH funnily enough we never had as I had looked for it on day one (on honeymoon!!) and assumed they didn't use them. Either way no excuse for rudeness, especially to a paying customer.

Apart from this it was a wonderful trip to Georgetown as always, it wouldn't deter me from returning back to this hotel, although Id request a different floor away from the elevator.

Maybe some of the Monticello's old personal charm has gone but the location, the revamp of the rooms and the view from the roof top bar kind of make up for it. Its a shame the terrace isn't kept for residing guests only, that way we may have gotten a seat.

Room Tip: Away from elevator, don't take the one behind reception if you're a light sleeper.
See more room tips
  • Stayed: October 2013, traveled as a couple
    • Value
    • Location
    • Sleep Quality
    • Rooms
    • Cleanliness
    • Service
Thank hellsbells42
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Reviewed March 28, 2014

I love love love The Graham! I travel a lot, so it's important to me to stay somewhere like The Graham. The rooms are spacious, beds are comfy, staff is amazing, food is fabulous and the location is perfect...will never stay anywhere else when I'm in Georgetown/DC.

  • Stayed: February 2014, traveled solo
    • Value
    • Location
    • Sleep Quality
    • Rooms
    • Cleanliness
    • Service
1  Thank Laura M
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Hotels you might also like...
Travelers also viewed these Washington DC hotels
Foggy Bottom - GWU - West End
The Watergate Hotel Georgetown
The Watergate Hotel Georgetown
#46 of 141 in Washington DC
489 reviews
Dupont Circle
The Jefferson, Washington DC
The Jefferson, Washington DC
#4 of 141 in Washington DC
1,170 reviews
Georgetown
The Avery Georgetown
The Avery Georgetown
#6 of 141 in Washington DC
262 reviews
Show Prices
Show Prices
Show Prices
Avenue Suites Georgetown
#17 of 141 in Washington DC
1,584 reviews
Dupont Circle
The Dupont Circle
The Dupont Circle
#22 of 141 in Washington DC
3,380 reviews
Sofitel Washington DC
#19 of 141 in Washington DC
3,273 reviews
Show Prices
Show Prices
Show Prices

Been to The Graham Georgetown? Share your experiences!

Write a Review Add Photos & Videos

Additional Information about The Graham Georgetown

Address: 1075 Thomas Jefferson St NW, Washington DC, DC 20007-5248 (Formerly Hotel Monticello)
Phone Number:
Location: United States > District of Columbia > Washington DC > Georgetown
Amenities:
Bar / Lounge Business Center with Internet Access Fitness Center with Gym / Workout Room Free High Speed Internet ( WiFi ) Restaurant Room Service Suites Wheelchair access
Hotel Style:
#7 Luxury Hotel in Washington DC
#22 Romantic Hotel in Washington DC
#27 Family Hotel in Washington DC
#42 Business Hotel in Washington DC
Price Range: $281 - $438 (Based on Average Rates for a Standard Room)
Hotel Class:4 star — The Graham Georgetown 4*
Number of rooms: 57
Official Description (provided by the hotel):
Welcome to The Graham, where cultured sophistication meets modern luxury in one of the most refined residential hotels in Georgetown DC. Named after famous Georgetown resident Alexander Graham Bell, inventor of the telephone, our Georgetown hotel draws inspiration from Bell's inventiveness and consummate poise, offering a mix of innovative style and gracious service that fit naturally with the spirit of the neighborhood. Nestled along the banks of the Potomac River, The Graham sits in the heart of DC's most affluent and historic area. Our central Georgetown location makes it easy to walk around this intimate neighborhood, home to important landmarks and historic estates, prestigious universities, and numerous independent shops and restaurants. Georgetown University, George Washington University, Washington Harbour, the Kennedy Center, and the National Cathedral are all located nearby, and the area itself is within close proximity to downtown Washington D.C. When the day is over, retreat to one of our Georgetown hotel's 57 guestroom and suites, stylish and spacious with luxurious residential comforts and amenities designed for the discerning guest, including complimentary Wi-fi and a 24-hour fitness center. Experience our new craft cocktail cellar and small-plate dining concept The Alex, and afterwards head up to The Observatory, The Graham's open air rooftop bar and lounge, to take in one of the most stunning views of our nation's capital-martini and cigar in hand, of course. ... more   less 
Reservation Options:
TripAdvisor is proud to partner with Expedia, Travelocity, Hotels.com, Orbitz, Hotwire, Priceline and getaroom.com so you can book your The Graham Georgetown reservations with confidence. We help millions of travelers each month to find the perfect hotel for both vacation and business trips, always with the best discounts and special offers.
Also Known As:
Monticello Hotel Washington Dc
Monticello Washington Dc

Is This Your TripAdvisor Listing?

Own or manage this property? Claim your listing for free to respond to reviews, update your profile and much more.

Claim Your Listing