We noticed that you're using an unsupported browser. The TripAdvisor website may not display properly.
We support the following browsers:
Windows: Internet Explorer, Mozilla Firefox, Google Chrome. Mac: Safari.
The latest reviews. The lowest prices. The perfect place to shop for hotels.

“Good hotel in a great location” 4 of 5 bubbles
Review of The Graham Georgetown

Best prices for -
Check In mm/dd/yyyy Check Out mm/dd/yyyy
Prices are for 1 room, 2 adults
Show Prices
Compare best prices from top travel sites
and 9 more sites!
The Graham Georgetown
Ranked #19 of 140 Hotels in Washington DC
Certificate of Excellence
Nottingham
Level Contributor
26 reviews
15 hotel reviews
common_n_hotel_reviews_1bd8 12 helpful votes
“Good hotel in a great location”
4 of 5 bubbles Reviewed November 6, 2013

The Graham is in a great location. At the DC-end of Georgetown you're only ever a few minutes walk away from shops, bars, the C&O canal and the bus stop with regular buses going into DC itself. The hotel itself is very welcoming - the lobby smells amazing! The rooms are a good size and are light and airy, our bedroom had three windows. The bathroom was large and again light and airy, however whilst they provided a lot of towels there was no rail or hook to hang them on. The staff were great with maybe the exception of one surly housekeeper. Would definitely recommend The Graham to anyone visiting Georgetown or DC.

  • Stayed October 2013, traveled as a couple
    • 4 of 5 bubbles
      Value
    • 5 of 5 bubbles
      Location
    • 4 of 5 bubbles
      Sleep Quality
    • 4 of 5 bubbles
      Rooms
    • 4 of 5 bubbles
      Cleanliness
    • 4 of 5 bubbles
      Service
Helpful?
Thank LittlePPod
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
david m, Manager at The Graham Georgetown, responded to this review, November 21, 2013
Thank you for sharing your feedback from your recent stay with us.

I am delighted that you enjoyed our hotel and its great location and spacious marble lined bathrooms.

We are all very proud of our new hotel and take great pride and ownership of the details here. Thank you for your compliments to the staff.

We all look forward to welcoming you back soon,

David McDermott
Report response as inappropriate
This response is the subjective opinion of the management representative and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Write a Review

482 reviews from our community

Traveler rating
    320
    103
    38
    11
    10
See reviews for
110
169
23
105
Rating summary
  • Location
    5 of 5 bubbles
  • Sleep Quality
    4.5 of 5 bubbles
  • Rooms
    4.5 of 5 bubbles
  • Service
    4.5 of 5 bubbles
  • Value
    4.5 of 5 bubbles
  • Cleanliness
    5 of 5 bubbles
Traveler tips help you choose the right room.   Room tips (104)
Date | Rating
  • Dutch first
  • English first
  • French first
  • German first
  • Italian first
  • Portuguese first
  • Spanish first
  • Any
English first
sao paulo, brazil
Level Contributor
71 reviews
51 hotel reviews
common_n_hotel_reviews_1bd8 72 helpful votes
4 of 5 bubbles Reviewed October 24, 2013

We stayed at The Graham Georgetown for 5 nights in October, in a Luxury 2 Queen beds room, and it was a good experience. The hotel is pretty new, with a lovely location, near good restaurants and shops in M and Wisconsin streets. The staff was nice and did their best to accomodate our needs. We didn't have any meals at the hotel, my husband had a drink at the rooftop bar, but apart from the nice view it was nothing special. If you are looking for a nice boutique hotel in Georgetown, this is a good choice.

  • Stayed October 2013, traveled with family
    • 4 of 5 bubbles
      Value
    • 4 of 5 bubbles
      Location
    • 4 of 5 bubbles
      Sleep Quality
    • 4 of 5 bubbles
      Rooms
    • 4 of 5 bubbles
      Cleanliness
    • 3 of 5 bubbles
      Service
Helpful?
Thank claudiaspiandorim
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Robert C, General Manager at The Graham Georgetown, responded to this review, November 21, 2013
Thank you for your time and feedback concerning your recent visit to the Graham. We would agree that our historic location is incredible with many options to sightsee, shop and enjoy a variety of culinary delights. We are glad that you were able to experience our spectacular Observatory Rooftop with its panoramic views of Washington DC. It has the best views and a fantastic team to staff this truly special amenity within the hotel. We do hope that you come back and stay with us again the next time you are in the Nation's Capitol. We wish you a wonderful Holiday Season.

Warm Regards,
Robert Clark
Report response as inappropriate
This response is the subjective opinion of the management representative and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
New York City, New York, USA
Level Contributor
15 reviews
common_n_hotel_reviews_1bd8 2 helpful votes
5 of 5 bubbles Reviewed October 22, 2013

The former somewhat seedy Monticello Hotel has new life and a welcoming change.
Choice location in Georgetown not a Four Seasons but a very comfortable hotel.
The staff was accommodating ,rooms large and well appointed and most
luxurious bed.The spacious Italian glass shower stall encourages intimacy.
Delighted with this new venue for my occasional DC visit--rear facing room has long vista
very sunny and quiet.

Room Tip: 6th floor room 608 was a wise choice
See more room tips
  • Stayed October 2013, traveled as a couple
    • 5 of 5 bubbles
      Value
    • 5 of 5 bubbles
      Location
    • 5 of 5 bubbles
      Sleep Quality
    • 5 of 5 bubbles
      Rooms
    • 5 of 5 bubbles
      Cleanliness
    • 5 of 5 bubbles
      Service
Helpful?
Thank Norman R
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Edina, Minnesota
Level Contributor
67 reviews
15 hotel reviews
common_n_hotel_reviews_1bd8 27 helpful votes
3 of 5 bubbles Reviewed October 17, 2013 via mobile

Great location! Beautiful remodel. But why is there no door between the bedroom and the living area?! We chose to spend three nights here with two kids because of the expectation of privacy. If which there is none. I even CALLED right after booking it online to confirm that there was a separate bedroom with a door! Did they think I meant the door to the hallway? I regret not having stayed in adjoining rooms elsewhere. This changes the whole dynamic of our stay.

Other than this, the hotel is lovely. Too bad the suites are merely large rooms with a partial wall.

  • Stayed October 2013
    • 3 of 5 bubbles
      Value
    • 5 of 5 bubbles
      Location
    • 2 of 5 bubbles
      Rooms
    • 5 of 5 bubbles
      Cleanliness
    • 3 of 5 bubbles
      Service
Helpful?
Thank 1965Lana
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
david m, Manager at The Graham Georgetown, responded to this review, November 21, 2013
Thank you for sharing your feedback from your recent stay with us.

I am happy to hear that you love the remodel and location of our beautiful hotel. I am however saddened to hear that we failed to properly communicate the detailed description of the suite you stayed in.

We pride ourselves in the personalized and intuitive service provided by our team, I apologize that we did not meet your expectation with the room description.

I look forward to seeing you again very soon,

David McDermott
Report response as inappropriate
This response is the subjective opinion of the management representative and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
New York City, New York
Level Contributor
93 reviews
80 hotel reviews
common_n_hotel_reviews_1bd8 97 helpful votes
4 of 5 bubbles Reviewed October 16, 2013 via mobile

We spent one night (two adults, two kids) for our DC visit
Very well located
Suite Room very comfortable, nicely decorated and big enough for a family (excep not seperation between the kid and parents sleeping area)
Staff pleasant and helpul
Have just in mind the hotel is on M street so it is noisy (reminds us NYC noise !)

Stayed October 2013, traveled with family
Helpful?
Thank deny67
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Dubai
Level Contributor
42 reviews
19 hotel reviews
common_n_hotel_reviews_1bd8 26 helpful votes
5 of 5 bubbles Reviewed October 11, 2013

If you ever immagined what sleeping on a cloud would feel like, you just need one night at the Graham to have such an experience. It is the most comfortable, soft, warm, luxurious bed I have ever slept in....it is simply perfect...if only for this I would always stay here....the hotel is a good boutique hotel with all that you need. The bathroom is very nice and the room (I stayed in a king suite) is very spacious. Two suggestions for improvement: 1) the room needs some art because without it it is just an anonymous room; 2) the bathroom needs a towel rack near the sink. The location is fantastic in the middle of Georgetown. You step outside and it is full of good restaurants. The breakfast in the hotel is good. All in all an excellent stay and would definitely recommend it to anyone staying in Washington who prefers a personal touch to the big and impersonal hotels.

  • Stayed October 2013
    • 4 of 5 bubbles
      Value
    • 5 of 5 bubbles
      Location
    • 4 of 5 bubbles
      Rooms
    • 5 of 5 bubbles
      Cleanliness
    • 4 of 5 bubbles
      Service
Helpful?
1 Thank calarr
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Stevenage, United Kingdom
2 reviews
common_n_hotel_reviews_1bd8 1 helpful vote
4 of 5 bubbles Reviewed October 11, 2013

Had a wonderful week in Georgetown in the Hotel Graham. Well placed in the centre of Georgetown and easy access to the shops ,bars and riverside haunts. Staff were very friendly and the beds were probably the best ever ! Rooftop bar provided a huge vista overlooking the whole area and the sunsets were brilliant!

  • Stayed October 2013, traveled as a couple
    • 3 of 5 bubbles
      Value
    • 5 of 5 bubbles
      Location
    • 5 of 5 bubbles
      Sleep Quality
    • 4 of 5 bubbles
      Rooms
    • 5 of 5 bubbles
      Cleanliness
    • 4 of 5 bubbles
      Service
Helpful?
1 Thank Papamench2013
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Hotels you might also like...
Travelers also viewed these Washington DC hotels
Foggy Bottom - GWU - West End
Fairmont Washington, D.C. Georgetown
Georgetown
Four Seasons Hotel Washington, DC
Georgetown
The Ritz-Carlton Georgetown, Washington, D.C.
The Ritz-Carlton Georgetown, Was...
#10 of 140 in Washington DC
4.5 of 5 bubbles 403 reviews
Show Prices
Show Prices
Show Prices
Foggy Bottom - GWU - West End
The Watergate Hotel
The Watergate Hotel
#8 of 140 in Washington DC
4.5 of 5 bubbles 219 reviews
Avenue Suites Georgetown
#9 of 140 in Washington DC
4.5 of 5 bubbles 1,385 reviews
Dupont Circle
Kimpton Hotel Palomar Washington DC
Show Prices
Show Prices
Show Prices

Been to The Graham Georgetown? Share your experiences!

Write a Review Add Photos & Videos

Additional Information about The Graham Georgetown

Property: The Graham Georgetown
Address: 1075 Thomas Jefferson Street NW, Washington DC, DC 20007 (Formerly Hotel Monticello)
Location: United States > District of Columbia > Washington DC > Georgetown
Amenities:
Bar / Lounge Business Center with Internet Access Fitness Center with Gym / Workout Room Free High Speed Internet ( WiFi ) Restaurant Room Service Suites Wheelchair access
Hotel Style:
#13 Luxury Hotel in Washington DC
#22 Romantic Hotel in Washington DC
#42 Business Hotel in Washington DC
#43 Family Hotel in Washington DC
Price Range (Based on Average Rates): $$$$
Hotel Class:4 star — The Graham Georgetown 4*
Number of rooms: 57
Official Description (provided by the hotel):
Welcome to The Graham, where cultured sophistication meets modern luxury in one of the most refined residential hotels in Georgetown DC. Named after famous Georgetown resident Alexander Graham Bell, inventor of the telephone, our Georgetown hotel draws inspiration from Bell's inventiveness and consummate poise, offering a mix of innovative style and gracious service that fit naturally with the spirit of the neighborhood. Nestled along the banks of the Potomac River, The Graham sits in the heart of DC's most affluent and historic area. Our central Georgetown location makes it easy to walk around this intimate neighborhood, home to important landmarks and historic estates, prestigious universities, and numerous independent shops and restaurants. Georgetown University, George Washington University, Washington Harbour, the Kennedy Center, and the National Cathedral are all located nearby, and the area itself is within close proximity to downtown Washington D.C. When the day is over, retreat to one of our Georgetown hotel's 57 guestroom and suites, stylish and spacious with luxurious residential comforts and amenities designed for the discerning guest, including complimentary Wi-fi and a 24-hour fitness center. Experience our new craft cocktail cellar and small-plate dining concept The Alex, and afterwards head up to The Observatory, The Graham's open air rooftop bar and lounge, to take in one of the most stunning views of our nation's capital-martini and cigar in hand, of course. ... more   less 
Reservation Options:
TripAdvisor is proud to partner with Booking.com, Orbitz, Hotels.com, Hotwire, Expedia, Priceline, Cheap Tickets, Travelocity, HotelQuickly, getaroom.com and Jetsetter so you can book your The Graham Georgetown reservations with confidence. We help millions of travelers each month to find the perfect hotel for both vacation and business trips, always with the best discounts and special offers.
Also Known As:
Monticello Hotel Washington Dc
Monticello Washington Dc

Is This Your TripAdvisor Listing?

Own or manage this property? Claim your listing for free to respond to reviews, update your profile and much more.

Claim Your Listing