We noticed that you're using an unsupported browser. The TripAdvisor website may not display properly.We support the following browsers:
Windows: Internet Explorer, Mozilla Firefox, Google Chrome. Mac: Safari.

“charming hotel”
Review of The Georgetown Inn

Best prices for -
Check In mm/dd/yyyy Check Out mm/dd/yyyy
Prices are for 1 room, 2 adults
Show Prices
Compare best prices from top travel sites
and 10 more sites!
The Georgetown Inn
Ranked #96 of 142 Hotels in Washington DC
Certificate of Excellence
Reviewed January 10, 2013

very charming hotel in Georgetown Washingon DC. Its a historic hotel, so its verys olde worlde, but very nice. Room quite a good size, small bathroom. Lots of shops and restaurants within walking distance. Quaint area. Hop on Hop off bus stops right outside hotel. Downtown Washington doesnt seem to have many restaurants or shops. Sue, Carine Travel Bug, Perth, Australia.

  • Stayed: January 2013, traveled as a couple
    • Value
    • Location
    • Sleep Quality
    • Rooms
    • Cleanliness
    • Service
Thank sue h
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Write a Review
Reviews (551)
Traveler rating
Traveler type
Time of year
Language
  • More languages

456 - 462 of 552 reviews

Reviewed December 13, 2012

My husband and I recently stayed at the Georgtown Inn. As he was traveling for business and I needed to be in touch with my family back home, we found the very poor to non existent at times Internet connection a real issue. In this day and age, people travel with devices that require Internet connection to allow them to communicate. As we couldn't Skype, my phone bill was horrendous as I needed to communicate with an ill mother and a daughter in Australia and a son in Europe. We gave up trying to get our emails and a newspaper took 10 hours to download!
Although the Georgetown Inn is a charming hotel in a great location, I doubt that we would stay there again. Obviously management don't care, as complaints to front desk, an email and phone call to the manager were ignored.

Room Tip: Stay in the rooms with the older style furnishings
See more room tips
  • Stayed: December 2012, traveled on business
    • Value
    • Location
    • Sleep Quality
    • Rooms
    • Cleanliness
    • Service
3  Thank veronicamustang2016
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
CommentManager, Guest Relations Manager at The Georgetown Inn, responded to this reviewResponded December 14, 2012

We apologize for the experience you describd with the Internet connection, and we appreciate the time you took to let us know. It is through such feedback that we are able to make improvements. We are pleased you found the room enjoyable, we welcome an opportunity to earn back your business.

Report response as inappropriate
This response is the subjective opinion of the management representative and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Reviewed December 12, 2012

Wow! We really enjoyed ourselves and our stay at this hotel. It was on husband's work combined with a couple of days of RnR towards the end of his trip and so we were appointed a suite. Loved it! Fantastic living area, with a separate space for the sleeping room and the bed in of itself was so comfortable, I found myself sleeping in the first day, almost till 3pm! Very relaxing indeedy.
The bathroom and the toiletries were all exquisite, boutique products.
Service was very efficient.
Fantastic location, by the canal. Great for morning walks.
And close to several good restaurants and shopping.
I was there to visit the museums and found myself spending more time discovering Georgetown.
Best place to stay in town. Bit pricey though.

  • Stayed: May 2012, traveled as a couple
    • Value
    • Location
    • Sleep Quality
    • Rooms
    • Cleanliness
    • Service
Thank artyinusa
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Reviewed November 23, 2012

Everything about our recent one night stay at The Georgetown Inn was lovely. Service at the front desk was wonderful. The bed was as comfortable as any heavenly bed i've experienced at the luxury chains. The flatscreen TV was nicely tucked into a cabinet. (okay, the tv reception sucked, but we weren't there to watch tv). The traditional decor fit in with the neighborhood--tastefully done. Our bathroom was tiny yet had all the essentials, even the upscale soaps. I'd stay here again in a heartbeat.

Room Tip: search for the free parking package through AAA.
See more room tips
  • Stayed: November 2012, traveled as a couple
    • Value
    • Location
    • Sleep Quality
    • Rooms
    • Cleanliness
    • Service
Thank MBiblis
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
CommentManager, Guest Relations Manager at The Georgetown Inn, responded to this reviewResponded November 26, 2012

Thank you for sharing your experience at our hotel. We look forward to seeing you again.

Report response as inappropriate
This response is the subjective opinion of the management representative and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Reviewed November 22, 2012

My wife and I stayed at the hotel for 3 nights during September this year. We had a thoroughly enjoyable time made more so by the courteousness and helpful manner of the staff. We had a very comfortable room and the hotel is well situated for bars, restaurants and shops close by.

The internet was slow and we had to pay but understand that it is now free. Breakfast was good although in my view expensive. The staff in the restaurant were not as attentive as they should have been.

However all in all we had an excellent time and would highly recommend the hotel and the location.

  • Stayed: September 2012, traveled as a couple
    • Value
    • Location
    • Sleep Quality
    • Rooms
    • Cleanliness
    • Service
Thank Hickers50
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Reviewed November 20, 2012

Paid for a suite .. checked in none available (party had not check out and they couldn't find them)... only received an apology.. I said how bout buying dinner ... desk clerk said breakfast ... I said kick it up to your manager..she said she'd call them ...I had to come back down to inquire another clerk apologized said yes. .... Old historic hotel great location ....out dated fixture not sure if that is intentional or not... good food!

  • Stayed: November 2012, traveled on business
    • Value
    • Location
    • Sleep Quality
    • Rooms
    • Cleanliness
    • Service
Thank David C
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
CommentManager, Guest Relations Manager at The Georgetown Inn, responded to this reviewResponded November 21, 2012

Thank you for sharing your comments. It is through feedback such as yours that we are able to improve our product and services. We apologize for the situation you described. Please be assured measures are being taken to insure a similar occurance does not happen.

Report response as inappropriate
This response is the subjective opinion of the management representative and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Reviewed November 19, 2012

3 a.m. - Woke uncomfortably due to extreme heat in room. Front desk said nothing could be done - they said we should open window. Window (see photo) with no screen or security opened onto kitchen exhaust and view of alley over flat roof. This was very unsafe. No relief from heat until we opened the door to the hall. No sleep was possible under these conditions! Management not on site. Desk clerk gave manager's name and encouraged a call next business day, I left message but manager never called. Multiple phone calls were never returned. Extremely inferior room (see photos) very high price. Terrible service and the management just does not care.

  • Stayed: October 2012, traveled as a couple
    • Value
    • Location
    • Sleep Quality
    • Rooms
    • Cleanliness
    • Service
5  Thank ammckam
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
CommentManager, Guest Relations Manager at The Georgetown Inn, responded to this reviewResponded November 21, 2012

We apologize your stay was less than expected. Comments such as yours are not typical of our hotel and we are definately looking into the situation. We welcome a chance to earn back your business.

Report response as inappropriate
This response is the subjective opinion of the management representative and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Hotels you might also like...
Travelers also viewed these Washington DC hotels
Georgetown
The Graham Georgetown
The Graham Georgetown
#8 of 142 in Washington DC
568 reviews
Georgetown
Georgetown Suites
Georgetown Suites
#75 of 142 in Washington DC
973 reviews
Georgetown
The Avery Georgetown
The Avery Georgetown
#6 of 142 in Washington DC
243 reviews
Show Prices
Show Prices
Show Prices
Georgetown
Georgetown Suites Harbour
Georgetown Suites Harbour
#118 of 142 in Washington DC
57 reviews
Georgetown
Georgetown University Hotel and Conference Center
Georgetown University Hotel and ...
#121 of 142 in Washington DC
293 reviews
Georgetown
The Ritz-Carlton Georgetown, Washington, D.C.
Show Prices
Show Prices
Show Prices

Been to The Georgetown Inn? Share your experiences!

Write a Review Add Photos & Videos

Additional Information about The Georgetown Inn

Address: 1310 Wisconsin Ave NW, Washington DC, DC 20007-3396
Phone Number:
Location: United States > District of Columbia > Washington DC > Georgetown , Upper Northwest
Amenities:
Bar / Lounge Business Center with Internet Access Fitness Center with Gym / Workout Room Free High Speed Internet ( WiFi ) Restaurant Room Service Suites Wheelchair access
Hotel Style:
#71 Family Hotel in Washington DC
#83 Business Hotel in Washington DC
Price Range: $171 - $1,120 (Based on Average Rates for a Standard Room)
Hotel Class:3.5 star — The Georgetown Inn 3.5*
Number of rooms: 96
Official Description (provided by the hotel):
With its 50-year tradition of elegance and sophistication, The Georgetown Inn is a classic Washington, DC hotel that is full of history and nostalgic glamour. Located in historic Georgetown, steps from trendy shopping and dining, our hotel offers a boutique European style with charming decor and distinctive luxury in the nation's capital. ... more   less 
Reservation Options:
TripAdvisor is proud to partner with Travelocity, Expedia, Hotels.com, Orbitz, Booking.com, Cancelon, TripOnline SA, Priceline, Cheap Tickets, Hotwire, HotelQuickly and getaroom.com so you can book your The Georgetown Inn reservations with confidence. We help millions of travelers each month to find the perfect hotel for both vacation and business trips, always with the best discounts and special offers.
Also Known As:
Georgetown Hotel Washington Dc

Is This Your TripAdvisor Listing?

Own or manage this property? Claim your listing for free to respond to reviews, update your profile and much more.

Claim Your Listing