We noticed that you're using an unsupported browser. The TripAdvisor website may not display properly.
We support the following browsers:
Windows: Internet Explorer, Mozilla Firefox, Google Chrome. Mac: Safari.

“Good room - hotel not well-maintained”

Best prices for -
Check In mm/dd/yyyy Check Out mm/dd/yyyy
Prices are for 1 room, 2 adults
Show Prices
Compare best prices from top travel sites
and 10 more sites!
Georgetown Inn West End
Ranked #97 of 140 Hotels in Washington DC
Exeter, United States
1 review
“Good room - hotel not well-maintained”
3 of 5 bubbles Reviewed July 10, 2013

We had a very nice, spacious room. But the wifi was not working, nor was one of the two elevators. The staff gave us a very nice recommendation for a late breakfast. The supposedly "clean" TV remote had writing on it. The hotel is within walkable distance of two Metro stops on two different lines.

  • Stayed July 2013, traveled as a couple
    • Value
    • Location
    • Sleep Quality
    • Rooms
    • Cleanliness
    • Service
Review collected in partnership with Best Western

Helpful?
Thank David C
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Write a Review

817 reviews from our community

Traveler rating
    207
    360
    160
    60
    30
See reviews for
286
197
54
153
Rating summary
  • Location
    4.5 of 5 bubbles
  • Sleep Quality
    4 of 5 bubbles
  • Rooms
    4 of 5 bubbles
  • Service
    4 of 5 bubbles
  • Value
    4 of 5 bubbles
  • Cleanliness
    4 of 5 bubbles
Traveler tips help you choose the right room.   Room tips (66)
Date | Rating
  • Chinese (Simplified) first
  • Danish first
  • Dutch first
  • English first
  • French first
  • German first
  • Italian first
  • Japanese first
  • Norwegian first
  • Portuguese first
  • Russian first
  • Spanish first
  • Swedish first
  • Any
English first
Saginaw, Michigan
1 review
3 of 5 bubbles Reviewed July 9, 2013

I would rate this hotel higher except for the fact that we stayed 3 nights and there was no internet during our entire stay (Memorial Day weekend). We counted on having this to look up attractions and restaurants when we got here. Assuming we had internet, we didn't plan many specifics. Very disappointed. We were told management would call us about the issue, they never did. We tried contacting management and were unable to. If they don't have internet, they should simply not advertise that they do. Other than the internet, it was a nice hotel in a good location. The staff was helpful and I'm sure they were just as frustrated with the internet situation as everyone else. I would not stay here again because of the internet issue, which I see from more recent reviews is ongoing.

  • Stayed May 2013, traveled with family
    • Value
    • Location
    • Sleep Quality
    • Rooms
    • Cleanliness
    • Service
Helpful?
Thank Lauren R
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Melbourne, Australia
Level Contributor
93 reviews
77 hotel reviews
common_n_hotel_reviews_1bd8 127 helpful votes
4 of 5 bubbles Reviewed June 30, 2013

Stayed 4 nights on 6th floor.

Overall, room was great - divided by revolving TV wall unit into bedroom and living area.
Small fridge, sink and microwave, with basic cutlery, etc.
Pretty quiet at night. Stand-alone shower.

Location has plenty of nearby supermarkets and restaurants - very safe feel to the area.
Quite a way from the Mall, but I did walk it in around 30mins.

Breakfast is pretty basic (cereals/fruits/scrambled eggs), as there is no restaurant, but enough to get you going.

Did experience the WiFi problems others have mentioned - staff did their best to overcome them.

  • Stayed June 2013, traveled solo
    • Value
    • Location
    • Sleep Quality
    • Rooms
    • Cleanliness
    • Service
Helpful?
1 Thank Jaunt411
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
New York City, New York
1 review
3 of 5 bubbles Reviewed June 24, 2013

Stayed for 3 nights recently at this great located hotel. We have been travelling for 5 weeks around the States and the wifi service at this hotel was non-existent. There was in fact many other guests who experienced the same problem and unfortunately the reception staff had to deal with the problem which was difficult for them. The solution obviously requires the Hotel owners to invest in a more up to date wifi service for their guests.

  • Stayed June 2013, traveled with family
    • Value
    • Location
    • Sleep Quality
    • Rooms
    • Cleanliness
    • Service
Helpful?
Thank 174travel
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Level Contributor
6 reviews
common_n_hotel_reviews_1bd8 6 helpful votes
4 of 5 bubbles Reviewed June 9, 2013 via mobile

We enjoyed our stay in the hotel. The room was clean and comfortable and the service was good. The only gripe was that the free wifi did not work for the four days that we were there. I would recommend the hotel.

  • Stayed May 2013
    • Value
    • Location
    • Rooms
    • Cleanliness
    • Service
Helpful?
1 Thank Les G
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Hotels you might also like...
Travelers also viewed these Washington DC hotels
Foggy Bottom - GWU - West End
Hyatt Place Washington DC/Georgetown/West End
Hyatt Place Washington DC/George...
#10 of 140 in Washington DC
4.5 of 5 bubbles 431 reviews
One Washington Circle Hotel
#28 of 140 in Washington DC
4.5 of 5 bubbles 1,749 reviews
Foggy Bottom - GWU - West End
University Inn Washington DC
University Inn Washington DC
#49 of 140 in Washington DC
4.5 of 5 bubbles 1,279 reviews
Show Prices
Show Prices
Show Prices
Georgetown
Georgetown Suites
Georgetown Suites
#80 of 140 in Washington DC
4.0 of 5 bubbles 938 reviews
Foggy Bottom - GWU - West End
Renaissance Washington, DC Dupont Circle Hotel
Foggy Bottom - GWU - West End
Hilton Garden Inn Washington DC / Georgetown Area
Hilton Garden Inn Washington DC ...
#44 of 140 in Washington DC
4.5 of 5 bubbles 964 reviews
Show Prices
Show Prices
Show Prices

Been to Georgetown Inn West End? Share your experiences!

Write a Review Add Photos & Videos

Additional Information about Georgetown Inn West End

Property: Georgetown Inn West End
Address: 1121 New Hampshire Ave NW, Washington DC, DC 20037-1522 (Formerly Best Western Georgetown Hotel & Suites)
Location: United States > District of Columbia > Washington DC > Foggy Bottom - GWU - West End
Amenities:
Business Center with Internet Access Free Breakfast Free High Speed Internet ( WiFi ) Kitchenette Wheelchair access
Hotel Style:
#81 Romantic Hotel in Washington DC
#82 Family Hotel in Washington DC
Price Range (Based on Average Rates): $$
Hotel Class:2 star — Georgetown Inn West End 2*
Number of rooms: 76
Official Description (provided by the hotel):
Nestled in the secure, exclusive downtown Georgetown neighborhood, close to the White House, Dupont Circle, World Bank, George Washington University & more. Convenient walk to 3 METRO Stations & more than 50 restaurants within 3 blocks Easy access to museums, monuments & all sightseeing points of interest Walk to famous Embassy Row & numerous international embassies Shopping & entertainment right at your doorstep Just a short walk to numerous art galleries! SUPERB ACCOMMODATIONS & SERVICES All 76 elegant guestrooms are spacious suites with separate living room & bedroom areas Equipped with refrigerator, microwave, coffee-maker, iron/ironing board & hairdryer Recently renovated bathrooms with beautiful blue pearl vanities, tiles & foyers The new Business Center is well equipped for your on-the-road office needs 500 Square feet of flexible meeting space available for up to 30 people Free high-speed wireless internet access in all guestrooms Free day passes for LA Fitness Center nearby ... more   less 
Reservation Options:
TripAdvisor is proud to partner with Expedia, Booking.com, Hotwire, Orbitz, Hotels.com, Priceline, Cancelon, Cheap Tickets, Travelocity, TripOnline SA, getaroom.com and HotelQuickly so you can book your Georgetown Inn West End reservations with confidence. We help millions of travelers each month to find the perfect hotel for both vacation and business trips, always with the best discounts and special offers.
Also Known As:
Best Western Georgetown Hotel And Suites
Best Western Georgetown Hotel Washington Dc
Best Western Washington Dc
Washington Dc Best Western

Is This Your TripAdvisor Listing?

Own or manage this property? Claim your listing for free to respond to reviews, update your profile and much more.

Claim Your Listing