We noticed that you're using an unsupported browser. The TripAdvisor website may not display properly.
We support the following browsers:
Windows: Internet Explorer, Mozilla Firefox, Google Chrome. Mac: Safari.

“keep looking” 2 of 5 bubbles
Review of BEST WESTERN Georgetown Hotel & Suites

Best prices for -
Check In mm/dd/yyyy Check Out mm/dd/yyyy
Prices are for 1 room, 2 adults
Show Prices
Compare best prices from top travel sites
and 6 more sites!
BEST WESTERN Georgetown Hotel & Suites
Ranked #94 of 140 Hotels in Washington DC
ny
Level Contributor
4 reviews
common_n_hotel_reviews_1bd8 1 helpful vote
“keep looking”
2 of 5 bubbles Reviewed April 13, 2008

We needed to stay in the area by GWU for one night. The only saving grace was that it was only one night. We had booked a room with 2 queen beds. Upon arrival (at 5 pm), they gave us a room with one queen ann a sofa bed. I informed them that is not what was booked. They said that the other room has not been cleaned yet. They would put us in another room until that room is ready. Well, first we got a key to another room that was not cleaned. Then two other times they gave us keycards which did not open the room. All of this took over an hour. We finally got into a temporary room. The bathtub was dripping and not draining; the sofa and chair were very worn out. Our permanent room was medocre at best. Dust all around the TV. Stained bath towels. Wall paper peeling. Definate language issues. You kind of felt that you were checking into a hotel in another country. There were many families at the hotel. All in all look elsewhere. If you are only st/aying one night it might be ok

  • Stayed April 2008, traveled with family
    • 1 of 5 bubbles
      Value
    • 3 of 5 bubbles
      Location
    • 1 of 5 bubbles
      Check in / front desk
    • 1 of 5 bubbles
      Rooms
    • 2 of 5 bubbles
      Cleanliness
    • 1 of 5 bubbles
      Service
Helpful?
Thank 1critic
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Write a Review

813 reviews from our community

Traveler rating
    205
    359
    160
    59
    30
See reviews for
285
195
54
152
Rating summary
  • Location
    4.5 of 5 bubbles
  • Sleep Quality
    4 of 5 bubbles
  • Rooms
    4 of 5 bubbles
  • Service
    4 of 5 bubbles
  • Value
    4 of 5 bubbles
  • Cleanliness
    4 of 5 bubbles
Traveler tips help you choose the right room.   Room tips (65)
Date | Rating
  • Chinese (Simplified) first
  • Danish first
  • Dutch first
  • English first
  • French first
  • German first
  • Italian first
  • Japanese first
  • Norwegian first
  • Portuguese first
  • Russian first
  • Spanish first
  • Swedish first
  • Any
English first
Montreal, Canada
Level Contributor
121 reviews
83 hotel reviews
common_n_hotel_reviews_1bd8 318 helpful votes
4 of 5 bubbles Reviewed April 13, 2008

We spent two nights here the weekend after Easter, and were pleased with our experience.

The hotel is two blocks' walk from Foggy Bottom/GWU subway stop, and within 1/2 hour walk of the White House or the Mall.

Our room was generously sized, with a separate living and sleeping area, along with wet bar and fridge / microwave. The bathroom, while small, was clean and newly renovated. The beds were comfortable and it was quiet at night.

Breakfast consisted of a buffet with the usual amenities one would expect at BW, including some fresh fruit.

We booked 6 months in advance, and got a nightly rate of $145, which seems to be cheap compared to most Washington hotels.

Negatives: large group ahead of us at check in meant we had to wait 15 minutes. Milk at breakfast was sour and nobody had noticed. Amenities in bathroom were not restocked before our check in.

  • Liked — Location, room size, good rate when booked far in advance.
  • Disliked — Slow check in, spoiled food at breakfast.
  • Stayed March 2008, traveled with friends
    • 4 of 5 bubbles
      Value
    • 4 of 5 bubbles
      Location
    • 2 of 5 bubbles
      Check in / front desk
    • 4 of 5 bubbles
      Rooms
    • 4 of 5 bubbles
      Cleanliness
    • 3 of 5 bubbles
      Service
    • 3 of 5 bubbles
      Business service (e.g., internet access)
Helpful?
1 Thank okazon69
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Midwest
Level Contributor
3 reviews
3 hotel reviews
common_n_hotel_reviews_1bd8 3 helpful votes
4 of 5 bubbles Reviewed February 10, 2008

Stayed here while attending a conference downtown. Downtown hotels were out of my price range, so I started looking in neighborhoods along the subway line and found the Omni.

Booked a suite with a kitchenette and sitting room. Suite was HUGE and the price was very affordable.

Saved money by taking left overs home from restaurants and eating them later. Free continental breakfast also provided at the hotel.

Location was great - mere blocks from the subway and situated among cute historic neighborhoods.

Staff was very friendly and helpful. Rooms were clean and quiet.

I would definitely stay here again for business or pleasure.

  • Liked — location, price, friendly staff
  • Disliked — wireless access not compatible with Mac
  • Stayed July 2007, traveled on business
    • 5 of 5 bubbles
      Value
    • 5 of 5 bubbles
      Location
    • 4 of 5 bubbles
      Check in / front desk
    • 4 of 5 bubbles
      Rooms
    • 4 of 5 bubbles
      Cleanliness
    • 4 of 5 bubbles
      Service
    • 4 of 5 bubbles
      Business service (e.g., internet access)
Helpful?
Thank speacock
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
England
Level Contributor
22 reviews
22 hotel reviews
common_n_hotel_reviews_1bd8 55 helpful votes
3 of 5 bubbles Reviewed November 10, 2007

As far as Best Western hotels go this one was not bad.

Got off to a bad start though, we booked and paid for our room through Priceline and on arrival the receptionist tried to charge us again.

The room which was clean and comfortable was on the corner of the building and was an unusual shape. It offered a small fridge and coffee making facilities. DC was unusually hot at the time of our visit so it was a nuisance that the AC did not function properly in the room.

There is self car parking and this is situated within the Ritz Carlton hotel which is about a quarter of a mile away. There is a charge for this facility. A complimentary breakfast is also offered.

The entrance to the hotel has a few steps to climb so if like us you have lots of luggage then this could be seen as a nuisance. The staff did tell us of a way to bring the luggage through the basement but unfortunately this information was forthcoming at the time we left.

The location of the hotel is about a 30 minute walk from the White House. I would recommend that you try and walk around Washington as opposed to driving around the City. For some reason we found that the road markings are different from other US cities in that they did not appear to flow properly and you continually got in the wrong lane. It made driving around London look easy. There are plenty of bars and restaurants in the area but they did appear to close at around 9 o'clock. We also took a short walk to the Watergate building through Washington Square, this area was nice and quaint compared to the rest of the capital.

In general we would recommend this hotel if like us you are on a budget.

  • Liked — The location
  • Disliked — AC not working properly. Steps leading up to reception unhelpful for carrying luggage.
  • Stayed October 2007, traveled as a couple
    • 4 of 5 bubbles
      Value
    • 4 of 5 bubbles
      Location
    • 2 of 5 bubbles
      Check in / front desk
    • 3 of 5 bubbles
      Rooms
    • 4 of 5 bubbles
      Cleanliness
    • 3 of 5 bubbles
      Service
    • 4 of 5 bubbles
      Business service (e.g., internet access)
Helpful?
Thank WakeyEngland
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Minneapolis, Minnesota
Level Contributor
9 reviews
7 hotel reviews
common_n_hotel_reviews_1bd8 11 helpful votes
4 of 5 bubbles Reviewed October 25, 2007

My husband and I went to Washington as tourists in October 2007 and spent four nights at the Georgetown Hotel and Suites. The hotel is very well located, close to the Metro, Georgetown, Dupont Circle, and George Washington University. The National Mall is a pleasant 1 mile walk. The area felt very safe and there was enough activity on the streets to feel safe late into the evening. The hotel has no restaurant or bar, but there are dozens of them nearby. I found it to be an ideal location.

We checked in our room mid-afternoon but did not try to use the air conditioner until about 10:30pm. We found the air conditioner didn't work, and it actually had duct tape on it. The room was quite warm and stuffy. We called the front desk, and were immediately moved to a room with two well-functioning air conditioners. We found hotel staff to be very accomodating and courteous. The air conditioner was my only complaint about this hotel - so if you go test out the amenities right away.

The rooms are larger than a typical hotel room and were pleasantly decorated. Everything was clean and fresh, with nice bed linens and thick, plush towels. The beds were quite comfortable. Our first room had one queen bed and a sofabed, along with several chairs; our second room had two queen beds and three chairs around a table. Both rooms had a small fridge, sink, and microwave, along with a few dishes and silverware, plus a 1-2 cup coffeemaker and coffee. A hair dryer, iron and ironing board were provided. The bathroom was clean and had everything we needed.

The continental breakfast is just average, but the breakfast room was pleasant and well-kept. There was cold cereal, instant oatmeal, toast/english muffins/bagels, hard-boiled eggs, pastries and donuts that were nothing special, and juice, coffee, and milk.

Next to its location, the best thing about this hotel was it's price. We paid $158.00 per night, when most hotels in that area were charging $250-$400 per night.

  • Liked — location, large room size, helpful staff
  • Disliked — non-functioning air conditioner until we changed rooms
  • Stayed October 2007, traveled as a couple
    • 5 of 5 bubbles
      Value
    • 5 of 5 bubbles
      Location
    • 5 of 5 bubbles
      Check in / front desk
    • 3 of 5 bubbles
      Rooms
    • 5 of 5 bubbles
      Cleanliness
    • 5 of 5 bubbles
      Service
Helpful?
2 Thank MinneapolisSammie
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Geneva, Switzerland
Level Contributor
56 reviews
36 hotel reviews
common_n_hotel_reviews_1bd8 59 helpful votes
2 of 5 bubbles Reviewed September 19, 2007

When I arrived for two-day mid-week stay they had over booked and it took them two hours to find me another much cheaper Best Western hotel miles from Washington D.C. near a highway north of the Pentagon with no restaurant. This was a bad start.

The staff seemed to be completely lost and the manager even worse. While waiting the two hours to get moved to the other hotel I overheard several people coming to complain about complaints they had already made at least once but which had not been dealt with.

When I emailed a letter to Best Western to complain about the treatment I received and requested a free night as I was forced to stay in DC two more days to reschedule meetings I had missed transferring to the hotel in Virginia, they never replied.

The room was fine. It was quite large, had a separate seating area, an average sized bathroom, and a small counter with a sink and microwave. The decoration is tasteful. It had a desk, a telephone and a fairly large TV.

The continental breakfast is okay. Most of the items (donuts and pastries) were cold as if they had been frozen and thawed early morning. The cereals (corn checks, raisin bran, and cherrios) were stale (yes...I tried them all looking for one that was eatable).

I would not recommend this place because of it poor management, unless you are willing to put up with hassels to stay close to George Washington University or Dupont Circle. But I would recommend you look around as there are better choices available.

  • Liked — location
  • Disliked — service
  • Stayed September 2007, traveled on business
    • 2 of 5 bubbles
      Value
    • 4 of 5 bubbles
      Location
    • 1 of 5 bubbles
      Check in / front desk
    • 3 of 5 bubbles
      Rooms
    • 3 of 5 bubbles
      Cleanliness
    • 1 of 5 bubbles
      Service
    • 4 of 5 bubbles
      Business service (e.g., internet access)
Helpful?
Thank cfjd
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Philadelphia
1 review
2 of 5 bubbles Reviewed September 10, 2007

The hotel is in a great location, easy to get to George Washington University, the metro and Georgetown. We took our son to Washington to visit the local colleges. The room was way too small for 3 people. The staff was not very helpful. Lots of language problems. As for the free breakfast, well it was free and lets leave it at that. And as far as parking, the hotel has an arrangement with the Ritz Carlton Hotel 3 blocks away. $18.00 for the day, and you can come and go as you please. Next time I will stay at the Ritz, closer to my car and I can park for free.

  • Disliked — Room was to small
  • Stayed September 2007, traveled with family
    • 2 of 5 bubbles
      Value
    • 4 of 5 bubbles
      Location
    • 2 of 5 bubbles
      Check in / front desk
    • 2 of 5 bubbles
      Rooms
    • 3 of 5 bubbles
      Cleanliness
    • 2 of 5 bubbles
      Service
    • 1 of 5 bubbles
      Business service (e.g., internet access)
Helpful?
Thank Meoesq
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Hotels you might also like...
Travelers also viewed these Washington DC hotels
Foggy Bottom - GWU - West End
Hyatt Place Washington DC/Georgetown/West End
Foggy Bottom - GWU - West End
University Inn Washington DC
University Inn Washington DC
#47 of 140 in Washington DC
4.5 of 5 bubbles 1,237 reviews
Georgetown
Georgetown Suites
Georgetown Suites
#82 of 140 in Washington DC
4.0 of 5 bubbles 929 reviews
Show Prices
Show Prices
Show Prices
One Washington Circle Hotel
#29 of 140 in Washington DC
4.5 of 5 bubbles 1,725 reviews
Foggy Bottom - GWU - West End
Residence Inn Washington, DC/Foggy Bottom
Residence Inn Washington, DC/Fog...
#79 of 140 in Washington DC
4.0 of 5 bubbles 650 reviews
Foggy Bottom - GWU - West End
Renaissance Washington, DC Dupont Circle Hotel
Show Prices
Show Prices
Show Prices

Been to BEST WESTERN Georgetown Hotel & Suites? Share your experiences!

Write a Review Add Photos & Videos

Additional Information about BEST WESTERN Georgetown Hotel & Suites

Property: BEST WESTERN Georgetown Hotel & Suites
Address: 1121 New Hampshire Ave NW, Washington DC, DC 20037-1522
Phone Number:
Location: United States > District of Columbia > Washington DC > Connecticut Ave/ K Street
Amenities:
Business Center with Internet Access Free Breakfast Free High Speed Internet ( WiFi ) Kitchenette Wheelchair access
Hotel Style:
#81 Romantic Hotel in Washington DC
#82 Family Hotel in Washington DC
Price Range (Based on Average Rates): $$
Hotel Class:2.5 star — BEST WESTERN Georgetown Hotel & Suites 2.5*
Number of rooms: 76
Official Description (provided by the hotel):
Step up to all-suite amenities when looking for a hotel in the Washington, DC, Georgetown area. ... more   less 
Reservation Options:
TripAdvisor is proud to partner with Expedia, Booking.com, Orbitz, Travelocity, Best Western, Hotels.com, Cheap Tickets and Priceline so you can book your BEST WESTERN Georgetown Hotel & Suites reservations with confidence. We help millions of travelers each month to find the perfect hotel for both vacation and business trips, always with the best discounts and special offers.
Also Known As:
Best Western Georgetown Hotel And Suites
Best Western Georgetown Hotel Washington Dc
Best Western Washington Dc
Washington Dc Best Western

Is This Your TripAdvisor Listing?

Own or manage this property? Claim your listing for free to respond to reviews, update your profile and much more.

Claim Your Listing