We noticed that you're using an unsupported browser. The TripAdvisor website may not display properly.
We support the following browsers:
Windows: Internet Explorer, Mozilla Firefox, Google Chrome. Mac: Safari.

“Expensive, but good Happy Hour”
Review of BLT Steak

BLT Steak
Reserve with OpenTable
BLT Steak is not available for your requested time. Choose another time, or search restaurants with availability.
The time you selected has already passed.
Ranked #109 of 3,213 Restaurants in Washington DC
Certificate of Excellence
Price range: $50 - $50
Cuisines: American, Steakhouse
More restaurant details
Restaurant details
Good for: Bar scene, Business meetings, Large groups, Special occasions, Romantic
Dining options: Dinner, Late Night, Lunch, Full Bar, Private Dining, Reservations, Seating, Serves Alcohol, Television, Valet Parking, Waitstaff, Wheelchair Accessible
Dining style: Casual Dining
Neighborhood: Dupont Circle
Transit: Farragut West Metro Station for the Blue and Orange lines, Farragut North Metro Station for the Red line.
Description: BLT Steak's design integrates select traditional elements of the French "Bistro" and an American "Steakhouse". A lighter environment has been created that is enhanced by the richness of Macassar Ebony tables and matching suede. A 25-foot bar greets diners with an excellent array of libations for pre- or post- dining pleasure including an oyster and shellfish raw bar.
Jackson, New Jersey
Level Contributor
68 reviews
47 restaurant reviews
common_n_restaurant_reviews_1bd8 59 helpful votes
“Expensive, but good Happy Hour”
Reviewed June 2, 2014

We tried this place for Happy Hour since we were trying to vacation on a budget. We found this place to be very expensive, but Happy Hour was reasonable. The food offered was delicious and the house wines were good. Very good service at the bar.

  • Visited September 2013
    • Value
    • Atmosphere
    • Service
    • Food
Helpful?
Thank Meghan M
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Write a Review

381 reviews from our community

Visitor rating
    194
    113
    46
    19
    9
Rating summary
    Food
    Service
    Value
    Atmosphere
Date | Rating
  • Dutch first
  • English first
  • French first
  • German first
  • Italian first
  • Japanese first
  • Portuguese first
  • Russian first
  • Spanish first
  • Any
English first
New Canaan, Connecticut
Level Contributor
139 reviews
103 restaurant reviews
common_n_restaurant_reviews_1bd8 227 helpful votes
“Expensive and average”
Reviewed May 30, 2014

Tried the soft shell crab as an appetizer for the table it was tasteless. The tuna was cooked perfectly but was also just ok. The filet and NY Strip were done perfectly and saved the night for everyone I thought the meal for the price was only average as did several other diners at my table. Service was at times intrusive but polite. The salads and a few other appetizers did not significantly impress. Also this restaurant is incredibly loud so be prepared to have to lean in to hear anything if it is busy.

  • Visited May 2014
    • Value
    • Atmosphere
    • Service
    • Food
Helpful?
1 Thank PMM12
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Bethesda, Maryland
Level Contributor
78 reviews
27 restaurant reviews
common_n_restaurant_reviews_1bd8 30 helpful votes
“Excellent private party room”
Reviewed May 28, 2014

The lunch was excellent in its selections and preparation. Great salads. Great steak, chicken and shrimp. Desserts wonderful. Private room seats 20.

  • Visited May 2014
    • Value
    • Atmosphere
    • Service
    • Food
Helpful?
1 Thank Ken B
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Providenciales
Level Contributor
13 reviews
5 restaurant reviews
common_n_restaurant_reviews_1bd8 4 helpful votes
“Excellent dining in DC”
Reviewed May 28, 2014

Best steakhouse in DC. We tried everything on the menu, from appetizers to house steaks, fish and poultry.

Visited May 2014
Helpful?
Thank LizCapCana
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Hummelstown
Level Contributor
154 reviews
85 restaurant reviews
common_n_restaurant_reviews_1bd8 91 helpful votes
“Still Searching”
Reviewed May 22, 2014

While we love steak, Carol and I have not had many occasions that changed our life. We continue to search for the best steak in whatever city we find ourselves. Our concierge touted this as one of the top 3 in DC. If that is true, I hope the other two are a quantum leap above this one.

The atmosphere is nothing special: loud rather than "filled with energy" and flat out dark! They have a little flashlight and I have one on my phone, without which I wouldn't have had a clue about the menu.

The steaks are a bit skimpy, especially the ribeye, which I think should be thick and falling off your plate. Carol's NY strip was way more flavorful though it came a bit too done at least around the edges.

The side dishes are laughable! They are really tiny, not even enough for one, let alone to share as in most reputable steakhouses.

The popovers are a nice touch and they are properly steamy when you break them open.

The service was random as a variety of different staffers poured water, cleared plates and delivered food. I didn't like the fact that they just leave everything on the table for you to handle. How should one deliver a steak from a skillet to one's plate?

The wine list is pretty good and there are some wines that are actually affordable. the sommelier was attentive and knowledeable.

All in all, I'm still searching for that illusive steak in DC.

  • Visited May 2014
    • Value
    • Atmosphere
    • Service
    • Food
Helpful?
1 Thank HanoiIG
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.

Travelers who viewed BLT Steak also viewed

 

Been to BLT Steak? Share your experiences!

Write a Review Add Photos & Videos

Owners: What's your side of the story?

Own or manage this property? Claim your listing for free to respond to reviews, update your profile and much more.

Claim Your Listing