We noticed that you're using an unsupported browser. The TripAdvisor website may not display properly.
We support the following browsers:
Windows: Internet Explorer, Mozilla Firefox, Google Chrome. Mac: Safari.
The latest reviews. The lowest prices. The perfect place to shop for hotels.

“Authentic Peruvian food in DC”
5 of 5 bubbles Review of Las Canteras

Las Canteras
Ranked #392 of 3,196 Restaurants in Washington DC
Certificate of Excellence
Price range: $20 - $25
More restaurant details
Restaurant details
Good for: Families with children
Dining options: Lunch, Dinner, Full Bar, Reservations, Seating, Serves Alcohol, Waitstaff
Neighborhood: Adams Morgan
Lausanne
Level Contributor
113 reviews
37 restaurant reviews
common_n_restaurant_reviews_1bd8 95 helpful votes
“Authentic Peruvian food in DC”
Reviewed January 4, 2013

Being married to a peruvian, I know what tthe food is supposed to taste like, and this adress is definitely living up to the standards of peruvian cooking ! The ceviches are delicious, the main dishes are excellent as well (I had the "Anticuchos", they were terrific, and my wife's "Seco" was great too). For dessert, there is an interesting selection, I had a mousse of Lucuma, a Peruvian fruit, it was surprising and fresh !
The Chef is from Arequipa and his food has the real Peruvian flavor.
Service is very attentionate, the drinks (try a Pisco Sauer ! ) are very well prepared and taste great! The setting is interesting, the room is all painted in red decorated with local craftamanship. This place is much better than other Peruvian places I have been to in DC ! By far.

  • Visited January 2013
    • Value
    • Atmosphere
    • Service
    • Food
Helpful?
Thank simplicius
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Write a Review

90 reviews from our community

Visitor rating
    47
    35
    6
    2
    0
Rating summary
    Food
    Service
    Value
    Atmosphere
Date | Rating
  • English first
  • French first
  • German first
  • Italian first
  • Spanish first
  • Swedish first
  • Any
English first
Arlington, VA, USA
Level Contributor
182 reviews
123 restaurant reviews
common_n_restaurant_reviews_1bd8 81 helpful votes
“A taste of Lima”
Reviewed December 28, 2012

4.5 stars for Peruvian food so good I felt like I was right back in the Miraflores district of Lima (spent a few days there in September). The ceviche mixto (white fish, calamari, and shrimp) was absolutely on point. Exactly how ceviche should taste. Camarones a la limeoa (grilled shrimp with lime and other seasonings) were quite delicious as well. For the main entree I had the Aji de Gallina (chicken stew) and it was exceptionally seasoned and I found myself breaking a piece of bread to clean up every last drop from the bowl. The ensalada mixto was tasty, but nothing to write home about next to the other things we ate. Pisco sours were also reminiscent of Peru, although I noticed the sours they used sprinkled powder on the foam instead of a liquid sour; just the same, the Pisco Sour and the Pisco Sour Royale were quite delicious. Didn't do dessert. Service was quite courteous. The only bad part is parking - my goodness parking is horrible on 18th St NW. We ended up going to the closest lot and paid $18 for a little over 2 hours!!!! Aaarrgh!!! Thankfully the restaurant was reasonably priced ($55 for 2 appetizers and 2 entrees, plus $30 for 3 drinks) but the parking situation is just horrific. That street alone makes the metro worth it.

  • Visited December 2012
    • Value
    • Atmosphere
    • Service
    • Food
Helpful?
Thank Francisco M
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Washington DC, District of Columbia
Level Contributor
23 reviews
6 restaurant reviews
common_n_restaurant_reviews_1bd8 7 helpful votes
“Still my favorite DC restaurant”
Reviewed November 30, 2012

I have lived in DC for 11 years now and Las Canteras is still my favorite...probably because it is not a super well known place and it is not overpriced for the quality of food you get. There are plenty of good restaurants in DC but most of them are overpriced for what you get - Las Canteras is an exception. Its in Adams Morgan which most people just associate with bars and drinking but it is so much more before midnight :-) It is a fun area for a few drinks and some good food but not many tourist make it all the way to this area since there is no metro right there - it requires a 10 minute walk or figuring out the buses (bus 42 is super useful by the way). Service is not the fastest but very nice and if they are extra slow just ask for more bread, which also happens to be excellent. Dont go here if you are on a diet...would be a waste of excellent food.

  • Visited March 2012
    • Value
    • Atmosphere
    • Service
    • Food
Helpful?
Thank LisaLing81
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Preston, Minnesota
Level Contributor
61 reviews
38 restaurant reviews
common_n_restaurant_reviews_1bd8 12 helpful votes
“Happy hour stop.”
Reviewed November 6, 2012

We visited the lower level bar and it was very good. We had appetizers and drinks and the attention we received, was excellent.
If we had been hungrier we would have tried the restaurant upstairs. It really looked like a great place to try.
Very nice atmosphere.

Visited November 2012
Helpful?
Thank CandV79
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Level Contributor
117 reviews
81 restaurant reviews
common_n_restaurant_reviews_1bd8 42 helpful votes
“Nice find in Adams Morgan”
Reviewed August 8, 2012

Doesnt look like much from the outside, but the food inside is well above your average Peruvian restaurant. The menu is filled with terrific seafood, meat, and a few vegetarian dishes. Salads and vegetables tasted fresh. My sea bass was outstanding. The taste is rich with enough Latin heat to make it right. Add some spicy salsa verde to pump it up a little hotter.

    • Value
    • Atmosphere
    • Service
    • Food
Helpful?
1 Thank Rickf902
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.

Travelers who viewed Las Canteras also viewed

Washington DC, DC
 
Washington DC, DC
Washington DC, DC
 

Been to Las Canteras? Share your experiences!

Write a Review Add Photos & Videos

Owners: What's your side of the story?

Own or manage this property? Claim your listing for free to respond to reviews, update your profile and much more.

Claim Your Listing