We noticed that you're using an unsupported browser. The TripAdvisor website may not display properly.We support the following browsers:
Windows: Internet Explorer, Mozilla Firefox, Google Chrome. Mac: Safari.

“Notch above usual hotel cuisine.”
Review of Urbana

Urbana
Reserve with OpenTable
Urbana is not available for your requested time. Choose another time, or search restaurants with availability.
The time you selected has already passed.
Ranked #242 of 3,229 Restaurants in Washington DC
Certificate of Excellence
Price range: $10 - $50
More restaurant details
Restaurant details
Dining options: Late Night, Breakfast, Reservations
Dining style: Casual Dining
Cross street: 21st St NW
Transit: Metro: Red Line, Dupont Circle
Description: Located in the heart of Dupont Circle, Urbana imports the flavors and culinary craftsmanship of Italy to DC's most cosmopolitan neighborhood. You're in the capable hands of our stellar team, as our neighborhood bartenders craft you a thoughtful happy-hour cocktail and Chef Ethan tempts your taste buds with his house-made artisan pastas, inspired vegetable dishes and local seafood delicacies.
Golden, Colorado
Level Contributor
32 reviews
15 restaurant reviews
common_n_restaurant_reviews_1bd8 9 helpful votes
“Notch above usual hotel cuisine.”
Reviewed November 5, 2012

Because of Hurricane Sandy we ate more than one meal at this restaurant as it is located in the same building as The Palomar Hotel (which is wonderful). We found the food to be a notch above average with a very good duck dish for dinner.

Visited November 2012
Helpful?
Thank PamHGolden_Colorado
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Write a Review

393 reviews from our community

Visitor rating
    149
    144
    72
    16
    12
Rating summary
    Food
    Service
    Value
    Atmosphere
Date | Rating
  • English first
  • French first
  • German first
  • Italian first
  • Korean first
  • Portuguese first
  • Russian first
  • Spanish first
  • Any
English first
Level Contributor
76 reviews
46 restaurant reviews
common_n_restaurant_reviews_1bd8 36 helpful votes
“Great ambiance, good food”
Reviewed October 8, 2012

The ambiance was very good, the place was packed when we got there. Service was great, the waitress was knowledgeable about the food AND the cheeses. I had a hot & spicy cocktail: excellent! Then I had the special, which was a white fish (forgot the name) on a bed of mixed vegetables. The fish was well-seasoned and well-prepared, the veggies were great, but the dish was not outstanding (and not enough for the really hungry). The person with me had the calzone with lamb meat balls, which was good (would've liked more cheese though) and also good portion-wise.

  • Visited October 2012
    • Value
    • Atmosphere
    • Service
    • Food
Helpful?
Thank MyriamMaas
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
New Delhi, India
Level Contributor
454 reviews
358 restaurant reviews
common_n_restaurant_reviews_1bd8 178 helpful votes
“Good Service to bad the food does not match it....”
Reviewed October 8, 2012

We had breakfast there two days over the weekend. We arrived at 8:30 in the morning and we were given brunch menus. I asked for the breakfast menu and was basically told that there is no breakfast menus, I explained that in the hotel elevator and on their website it stated that they served Breakfast every day until 10:30 and that i would prefer the items on the breakfast menu and not the items on the brunch menu. I was then told if i want something from that menu they could order it for me but they still would not bring me the breakfast menu so i had to go from memory.

Once we made it past the menu issue and the rules set down by management, the service was good but the food was boring, bland and tasted like packaged foods. The hollandaise sauce tasted as if it came from a package. On the (breakfast) menu I remembered that it stated that there was pancakes and the order would be 3 large pancakes but when they arrived at the table in actuality there was 3 small pancakes.

  • Visited September 2012
    • Value
    • Atmosphere
    • Service
    • Food
Helpful?
Thank Mindful_Travels
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Wales, UK
Level Contributor
11 reviews
5 restaurant reviews
common_n_restaurant_reviews_1bd8 12 helpful votes
“Great bar”
Reviewed October 3, 2012 via mobile

Joe the bartender is great....he's such a character, super friendly and hilariously funny....his champagne cocktails were very more ish !
The bar is trendy and cool.
Great place

Helpful?
Thank merched32
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Level Contributor
115 reviews
79 restaurant reviews
common_n_restaurant_reviews_1bd8 41 helpful votes
“Disappointing”
Reviewed September 30, 2012 via mobile

We really wanted our last meal in DC to be special so we held Urbana back for our last night. What a shame. The staff were quite miserable, the prices much higher than restaurants around and the food small portions with very rich flavours. We have eaten all over the world an appreciate quality, but it just didn't work. It didn't know if it wanted to be a Martini Bar that did food or be an exclusive restaurant that also had a loud bar. It's a shame as we stayed at the palomar hotel (sttached) and loved both the hotel AND eating breakfast in Urbana.

Helpful?
Thank CharfieldPTC
This review is the subjective opinion of an individual traveler and not of TripAdvisor LLC nor of its partners.

Travelers who viewed Urbana also viewed

 
Washington DC, DC
 

Been to Urbana? Share your experiences!

Write a Review Add Photos & Videos

Owners: What's your side of the story?

Own or manage this property? Claim your listing for free to respond to reviews, update your profile and much more.

Claim Your Listing