We noticed that you're using an unsupported browser. The TripAdvisor website may not display properly.
We support the following browsers:
Windows: Internet Explorer, Mozilla Firefox, Google Chrome. Mac: Safari.
The latest reviews. The lowest prices. The perfect place to shop for hotels.

“Good Ethiopian food”
4 of 5 bubbles Review of Etete

Etete
Ranked #995 of 3,196 Restaurants in Washington DC
Price range: $9 - $16
Cuisines: African, Ethiopian
More restaurant details
Restaurant details
Dining options: Dinner, Lunch, Reservations, Seating, Serves Alcohol, Takeout, Waitstaff, Wheelchair Accessible
Neighborhood: U Street Corridor
Washington, District of Columbia, United States
Level Contributor
59 reviews
35 restaurant reviews
common_n_restaurant_reviews_1bd8 8 helpful votes
“Good Ethiopian food”
Reviewed June 30, 2014

Uniequely authentic italian food. If you want to taste the traditioinal "honey wine," this is the place.

Visited May 2014
Helpful?
1 Thank Wilson V
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Write a Review

113 reviews from our community

Visitor rating
    35
    54
    14
    5
    5
Rating summary
    Food
    Service
    Value
    Atmosphere
Date | Rating
  • English first
  • Portuguese first
  • Russian first
  • Spanish first
  • Any
English first
Level Contributor
75 reviews
39 restaurant reviews
common_n_restaurant_reviews_1bd8 34 helpful votes
“Best Ethiopian in DC”
Reviewed May 11, 2014

I have tried a lot of Ethiopian in Dc and this is by far the best. I've also been to Ethiopia and this is authentic and good. It is more pricey than other Ethiopian joints, but well worth it.

Visited June 2013
Helpful?
1 Thank Chad S
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Level Contributor
5 reviews
5 restaurant reviews
“Very special restaurant”
Reviewed April 26, 2014 via mobile

Very special ethiopian food, we were very satisfied with the dishes, the service and the atmosphere. The apecial injara bread and the unique aromas are a pleasure to the global eater's stomach...

Helpful?
Thank Timna S
This review is the subjective opinion of an individual traveler and not of TripAdvisor LLC nor of its partners.
Armidale, Australia
Level Contributor
63 reviews
35 restaurant reviews
common_n_restaurant_reviews_1bd8 28 helpful votes
“Delicious Ethiopian restaurant”
Reviewed April 18, 2014

I was in a party of three to visit this simple small restaurant in DC. Two of us ordered the vegetarian, while the third ordered meat. While the food was delicious, it was disappointing (as a vegetarian) to have the meat served on the same platter as the vegetarian option. My suggestion is that if you are ordering vegetarian because you are vegetarian to ask for this to be served separately. Otherwise, it was a very pleasant meal.

  • Visited April 2014
    • Value
    • Atmosphere
    • Service
    • Food
Helpful?
Thank Tallowood6
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Pawcatuck, Connecticut
Level Contributor
93 reviews
78 restaurant reviews
common_n_restaurant_reviews_1bd8 33 helpful votes
“Inexpensive, delicious Ethiopian food, friendly staff”
Reviewed February 15, 2014

When visiting colleges in DC, part of the draw was the opportunity to try a new Ethiopian restaurant, since it's one of my daughter's and my favorite cuisines. I was a bit concerned that the restaurant was small, and we would have trouble getting a table, but we went early on a weeknight and were treated to a nearly empty restaurant. We've eaten a lot of Ethiopian food in DC and elsewhere, and this restaurant did not disappoint. Be aware, if you are new to this cuisine, it seems like the portions are small (no jokes here, please) but the injera that is served with the meal (and this was some of the lightest, fluffiest I've had) fills you up quickly, so don't overindulge - save it to mop up the wonderful sauces. We tried the Doro Wat, the Derek Tibs (a specialty), and lentils, and they were all wonderfully flavorful. We would definitely make this a regular part of our Washington rotation over any other we've tried.

  • Visited March 2013
    • Value
    • Atmosphere
    • Service
    • Food
Helpful?
Thank Thom-Shap
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.

Travelers who viewed Etete also viewed

Washington DC, DC
 
Washington DC, DC
 

Been to Etete? Share your experiences!

Write a Review Add Photos & Videos

Owners: What's your side of the story?

Own or manage this property? Claim your listing for free to respond to reviews, update your profile and much more.

Claim Your Listing