We noticed that you're using an unsupported browser. The TripAdvisor website may not display properly.
We support the following browsers:
Windows: Internet Explorer, Mozilla Firefox, Google Chrome. Mac: Safari.
The latest reviews. The lowest prices. The perfect place to shop for hotels.

“Heartland Girls try Ethiopian” 4 of 5 bubbles
Review of Etete

Etete
Ranked #954 of 3,189 Restaurants in Washington DC
Price range: $9 - $16
Cuisines: African, Ethiopian
More restaurant details
Restaurant details
Dining options: Dinner, Lunch, Reservations, Seating, Serves Alcohol, Takeout, Waitstaff, Wheelchair Accessible
Neighborhood: U Street Corridor
Level Contributor
10 reviews
3 restaurant reviews
common_n_restaurant_reviews_1bd8 1 helpful vote
“Heartland Girls try Ethiopian”
4 of 5 bubbles Reviewed April 10, 2013

We enjoyed the new flavors of Ethiopian cuisine. Liked eating with our fingers and the lamb was excellent.

Visited April 2013
Helpful?
Thank Dawngirl1
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Write a Review

113 reviews from our community

Visitor rating
    35
    54
    14
    5
    5
Rating summary
    Food
    Service
    Value
    Atmosphere
Date | Rating
  • English first
  • Portuguese first
  • Russian first
  • Spanish first
  • Any
English first
Chicago, Illinois
Level Contributor
114 reviews
51 restaurant reviews
common_n_restaurant_reviews_1bd8 38 helpful votes
“Go-to Ethiopian”
4 of 5 bubbles Reviewed March 26, 2013

This is one of my favorite Ethiopian places in DC (the favorite until Ethiopic opened). I always get a combo platter - meat or veg, w or w/o fish - and it never disappoints. They had a special fasting menu there on Thursday (not sure if this is a regular thing or not) -- basically more and more different vegan food. It was spectacular -- 2 orders for 3 people was more than enough. Throw in a St George or Harrar and you've got a great night. If you have never had Ethiopian before, it can be intimidating but this is a great first experience to have.

Visited March 2013
Helpful?
Thank margaretelise
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
São Paulo, São Paulo, Brazil
Level Contributor
24 reviews
6 restaurant reviews
common_n_restaurant_reviews_1bd8 25 helpful votes
“Nice experience”
5 of 5 bubbles Reviewed March 3, 2013

To have a dinner in an ethiopian restaurant is an amazing experience! If you have the chance, you should try Etete.
It's a simple but fiendly place with an delicious food in good DC location.

Visited February 2013
Helpful?
Thank Fri_R
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Ellicott City, Maryland
Level Contributor
30 reviews
17 restaurant reviews
common_n_restaurant_reviews_1bd8 9 helpful votes
“Great Food - Ok Service”
4 of 5 bubbles Reviewed March 3, 2013

Four of us ate here in early March. I agree with other reviews: the tables are close, the setting is loud, the service is mediocre....that said....the food was great and it's worth a trip. We ordered the special kitfo (medium) and one of the vegetarian platters. That was a great combo, as the kitfo was delicious but lacked enough variety on its own.

Yes the waitstaff will politely push an appetizer on you, but it was really good, so I'm happy about that. (And you can say "no" if you don't want it.)

Overall, I'm very happy with the flavors, quality, price, and experience.

  • Visited March 2013
    • 5 of 5 bubbles
      Value
    • 3 of 5 bubbles
      Atmosphere
    • 2 of 5 bubbles
      Service
    • 5 of 5 bubbles
      Food
Helpful?
Thank womprat
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Madison, Virginia
Level Contributor
112 reviews
54 restaurant reviews
common_n_restaurant_reviews_1bd8 50 helpful votes
“Great food, super service. A great find!”
5 of 5 bubbles Reviewed February 5, 2013 via mobile

My husband abs I were celebrating our 25 anniversary and he wanted to have Ethiopian food. We hadn't been to DC in a while, and the Red Sea, which we had gone to years ago, is no more. After reading various reviews, I opted for Etete, and I was glad that we did.

Food was superb! Flavorful. The injera was tasty. My chicken dish (chicken wat) was moist, wall seasoned. My husband's lamb dish was outstanding! The sides were good...an snatch veg melange and a chick peas dish. We also ordered pakora appetizers, crisp and nicely seasoned.

The decor is very nice...artwork on the walls. I'd go back. It's a real winner!

    • 5 of 5 bubbles
      Value
    • 5 of 5 bubbles
      Atmosphere
    • 5 of 5 bubbles
      Service
    • 5 of 5 bubbles
      Food
Helpful?
Thank Suziewrite
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.

Travelers who viewed Etete also viewed

 
Washington DC, DC
 

Been to Etete? Share your experiences!

Write a Review Add Photos & Videos

Owners: What's your side of the story?

Own or manage this property? Claim your listing for free to respond to reviews, update your profile and much more.

Claim Your Listing