We noticed that you're using an unsupported browser. The TripAdvisor website may not display properly.
We support the following browsers:
Windows: Internet Explorer, Mozilla Firefox, Google Chrome. Mac: Safari.
The latest reviews. The lowest prices. The perfect place to shop for hotels.

“Expensive and not that big.” 3 of 5 bubbles
Review of Madame Tussauds DC

Madame Tussauds DC
Book In Advance
More Info
$18.98*
and up
Madame Tussauds Washington DC
Ranked #58 of 418 things to do in Washington DC
Certificate of Excellence
More attraction details
Attraction details
Owner description: More than just a wax museum! Madame Tussauds Washington D.C. is a fully interactive experience, where visitors are able to touch, see and hear historical icons and celebrities in a way unlike any other Washington D.C. attraction.
Chicago, Illinois
Level Contributor
67 reviews
35 attraction reviews
common_n_attraction_reviews_1bd8 33 helpful votes
“Expensive and not that big.”
3 of 5 bubbles Reviewed November 10, 2013 via mobile

This is a decent wax museum. It has all the presidents which is neat, but not many celebrities. It was kind of expensive for what it is.

Visited November 2013
Helpful?
Thank Karen9999999
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Madame T, Marketing, Promtions, & Social Media Specialist at Madame Tussauds DC, responded to this review, November 12, 2013
First, we would like to thank you for your feedback and for visiting Madame Tussauds Washington, D.C. Regarding price, we do try to keep it in line with that of other paid attractions in the area, however, your feedback has been noted.
Report response as inappropriate
This response is the subjective opinion of the management representative and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Write a Review

779 reviews from our community

Visitor rating
    237
    298
    166
    56
    22
Date | Rating
  • Chinese (Traditional) first
  • Danish first
  • Dutch first
  • English first
  • French first
  • German first
  • Indonesian first
  • Italian first
  • Japanese first
  • Norwegian first
  • Portuguese first
  • Russian first
  • Spanish first
  • Thai first
  • Turkish first
  • Any
English first
Pauline, SC
Level Contributor
137 reviews
34 attraction reviews
common_n_attraction_reviews_1bd8 51 helpful votes
“Surprise!”
5 of 5 bubbles Reviewed October 30, 2013 via mobile

We are not a touristy family. We avoid the usual touristy attractions like the plague, however, after a long week of my planned agenda our teenage daughters chose this as one last DC attraction. SO GLAD! Wow! I was really impressed, not just at the recreation of these historical figures in wax, but this place can really bring history to life. It is so much more than just wax figures.... ALL former US Presidents are on display, lots of information about each person and about the era of each figure plus it is very interesting to see the different sizes and heights of these historical figures. With a little fore-planning, this makes an excellent addition to any field trip or family trip to DC.

Visited April 2013
Helpful?
Thank glennacres
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Madame T, Marketing, Promotions, & Social Media Specialist at Madame Tussauds DC, responded to this review, November 1, 2013
This is wonderful to hear! We're so glad that you all gave it a try and had such an enjoyable time. We really do try to bring history to life in a unique and entertaining way, so we are thrilled to hear that you felt this was done. Thank you for your feedback and for visiting Madame Tussauds Washington, D.C.
Report response as inappropriate
This response is the subjective opinion of the management representative and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Manns Choice, Pennsylvania
Level Contributor
8 reviews
3 attraction reviews
common_n_attraction_reviews_1bd8 1 helpful vote
“Unique”
4 of 5 bubbles Reviewed October 27, 2013

Never visited a wax museum before. Since the monuments were closed on our mini vacation to DC for our anniversary, we walked around town and came across this little gem. Little expensive to get it, but very unique experience.

Visited October 2013
Helpful?
Thank Gordon B
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Madame T, Marketing, Promotions, & Social Media Specialist at Madame Tussauds DC, responded to this review, October 29, 2013
Thank you for the wonderful feedback! Madame Tussauds prides itself on being a unique option for visitors, so we are very pleased to know that you felt this was the case. Thank you for visiting Madame Tussauds Washington, D.C.
Report response as inappropriate
This response is the subjective opinion of the management representative and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Louisville, Kentucky, United States
Level Contributor
15 reviews
5 attraction reviews
common_n_attraction_reviews_1bd8 6 helpful votes
“Really enjoyed myself!”
4 of 5 bubbles Reviewed October 25, 2013

I was skeptical of this as were the other guest I brought with me. I was visiting my brother from Kentucky and him, being a DC resident wasn't crazy about the idea of going. We bought the after 4 pm tickets on line. They are a much cheaper price! Even my brother enjoyed hisself. The detail is amazing on these. Some look so life like. It really was a fun time for our first day in a new city. I wish there were more celebrities. I wanted to see Lady Gaga!!!

Visited May 2013
Helpful?
Thank Denise M
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Madame T, Marketing, Promotions, & Social Media Specialist at Madame Tussauds DC, responded to this review, October 29, 2013
We're so glad that you decided to visit and had such a fun time with your brother! Thank you for visiting and for your feedback! It's very appreaciated.
Report response as inappropriate
This response is the subjective opinion of the management representative and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
In the Area
Level Contributor
16 reviews
5 attraction reviews
common_n_attraction_reviews_1bd8 4 helpful votes
“A fun visit during the government shutdown”
4 of 5 bubbles Reviewed October 23, 2013

Before travelling to DC, I checked the Madam Tussauds’s (MT) website and purchased a two-attraction pass (the other attraction was the Crime Museum) for $30. Once in DC, I went to MTs and had a nice time. The building is about about two stories tall and narrow. If a large group comes in, a traffic jam will occur. I suggest calling ahead to see if big groups are scheduled to come in. Many of the figures we saw were uncanny likenesses of the real person (Malcolm X, Jackie O, Denzel, Kate and William...), others not so much. Here you can see all of the Presidents, Washington through Obama. It was a good diversion from all that was going on at the time. It took us a little over an hour. Of course bringing a camera makes it a lot of fun. Please note there are stairs. There may be elevators but I didn't see any nor did I ask. A fun visit.

Visited October 2013
Helpful?
Thank pj276
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Madame T, Marketing, Promotions, & Social Media Specialist at Madame Tussauds DC, responded to this review, October 24, 2013
It is great to hear that you had such a nice time and felt a lot of the figures were very lifelike, as Madame Tussauds prides itself on the quality of it's figures. Thank you for your feedback and for visiting Madame Tussauds Washington, D.C.
Report response as inappropriate
This response is the subjective opinion of the management representative and not of TripAdvisor LLC.

Travelers who viewed Madame Tussauds DC also viewed

 

Been to Madame Tussauds DC? Share your experiences!

Write a Review Add Photos & Videos

Owners: What's your side of the story?

Own or manage this property? Claim your listing for free to respond to reviews, update your profile and much more.

Claim Your Listing