We noticed that you're using an unsupported browser. The TripAdvisor website may not display properly.We support the following browsers:
Windows: Internet Explorer, Mozilla Firefox, Google Chrome. Mac: Safari.

“A Place You Easily Can Miss”
Review of Madame Tussauds DC

Madame Tussauds DC
Book In Advance
Buy Tickets Online
More Info
$19.99*
and up
Madame Tussauds Washington DC
More Info
$169.00*
and up
Washington DC Day Trip from New York
More Info
$42.00*
and up
Washington DC Essential Hop-On Hop-Off plus Bonus Tour
Ranked #61 of 458 things to do in Washington DC
More attraction details
Attraction details
Owner description: More than just a wax museum! Madame Tussauds Washington D.C. is a fully interactive experience, where visitors are able to touch, see and hear historical icons and celebrities in a way unlike any other Washington D.C. attraction.
Reviewed February 9, 2013 via mobile

I have seen much better Madame Tussauds! You pay 25.- for the entry and if you wanna have a picture with the president you pay again! Furthermore they need some improvements on all other dolls.

1  Thank eathealthy
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Madame T, Marketing, Promotions, and Social Media Specialist at Madame Tussauds DC, responded to this reviewResponded February 11, 2013

We appreciate your feedback. In regards to price, we do try to keep it in line with that of other local attractions. Additionally, we do strive to provide visitors with the best experience for their money. Once again, we appreciate your feedback on our attraction and thank you for visiting Madame Tussauds Washington D.C.

Report response as inappropriate
This response is the subjective opinion of the management representative and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Write a ReviewReviews (872)
Traveler rating
Traveler type
Time of year
Language
  • More languages

560 - 564 of 872 reviews

Reviewed February 8, 2013

Friends and I went to Madame Tussauds for an afternoon adventure. Luckily, we had buy one get one half off coupons--which made the experience even better since the normal admission price is $21.50 per person, which I think is a little expensive for the attraction. We thought this would be a nice experience since it was February and it's entirely indoors. The attraction is really excellent and the figurines are fun to take pictures with, including that some have items you can wear to dress up for pictures. We really enjoyed all the Presidents, though the current President can only be photographed by the professional photographer which we thought was a bit of a let down. The attraction also showcases lots of celebrities. The entire attraction itself is fairly small in comparison to other Madame Tussauds, but it was a nice experience. We really enjoyed the visit and it is also located very close to Ford's theater and other attractions which would be worth visiting in a combined trip downtown.

Thank ResortMeg
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Madame T, Marketing, Promotions, and Social Media Specialist at Madame Tussauds DC, responded to this reviewResponded February 11, 2013

We are pleased to hear that you enjoyed the attraction and would recommend it to others. We are especially pleased to hear that you enjoyed the interactivity of the figures. As for the price, we do try to keep it in line with that of other attractions in the area. We appreciate your feedback. Thank you for visiting Madame Tussauds Washington D.C.

Report response as inappropriate
This response is the subjective opinion of the management representative and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Reviewed February 3, 2013

I went to Madame Tussauds with my wife and a friend not because it was a place we were really interested in, but instead because it was extremely cold outside and it was the only place within easy walking distance of where we were. Needless to say, my expectations were fairly low. When we walked in, we had to wait in a relatively long line because they had only one person working the front desk when there should have been more. In fact, the people in front of us even walked out. However, we waited it out, and got into the museum. The museum itself was far more impressive than I was expecting. The wax figures are so good that it is sometimes hard to tell if you're looking at a real person or a wax figure. For example, near the end there is a wax figure of a lady with a camera. We thought it was a real person taking a picture, and so we waited for a moment so as not to get in front of her picture. Only after a moment did we realize that she was not a real person. The skin detail on the wax figures is one of the more impressive parts. They don't merely have smooth skin like I thought they would. Instead, the skin really looks like human skin. The most fun part is getting to take your picture with presidents and celebrities. I got a picture with Lincoln, Grant, Clinton, Elton John, and others. My wife got pictures with Brad Pitt and Johnny Depp. The price is a little high, at $22 or so per person, but we did have a good time, and I know we will be visiting other Madame Tussauds galleries when we go to other cities. Consider me a convert!

Thank virginiagamer
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Madame T, Marketing, Promotions, and Social Media Specialist at Madame Tussauds DC, responded to this reviewResponded February 4, 2013

We are incredibly happy to hear that you enjoyed our attraction, as well as the quality of the wax figures. This is something that Madame Tussauds prides itself on, so the feedback is greatly appreciated. Additionally, we apologize profusely for the long wait you incurred upon attempting to enter the attraction. Your feedback has been duly noted. Thank you for visiting Madame Tussauds Washington DC.

Report response as inappropriate
This response is the subjective opinion of the management representative and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Reviewed January 24, 2013

This place is fun for a quick excursion, but it's not particularly big. We bought our tickets on Groupon and I don't think I would have been particularly happy with paying full price for this place. Getting up close with the sculptures and interacting with the exhibits is entertaining though.

Thank jwalkerr
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Madame T, Marketing, Promotions, and Social Media Specialist at Madame Tussauds DC, responded to this reviewResponded February 1, 2013

We are pleased to hear that you enjoyed the exhibit. In regards to price, we do try to keep it in line with that of other paid attractions in the area and we strive to provide customers with excellence for their money. We greatly appreciate your feedback and thank you for visiting Madame Tussauds Washington DC.

Report response as inappropriate
This response is the subjective opinion of the management representative and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Reviewed January 23, 2013

Loved the wax sculptures, and the variety of picture poses you can do. Sadly they were a little short staffed (day after Inauguration) and took a while to get through the photo lines. Aside from that, great experience.

Thank PsycoChihuahua
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Madame T, Marketing, Promotions, and Social Media Specialist at Madame Tussauds DC, responded to this reviewResponded January 29, 2013

We're incredibly pleased to hear that you enjoyed your time at Madame Tussauds DC. We apologize for any inconveince you may have experienced during that particularly busy time, but we greatly appreciate your patience. Once again, we're glad you enjoyed your time with us. Thank you.

Report response as inappropriate
This response is the subjective opinion of the management representative and not of TripAdvisor LLC.

Travelers who viewed Madame Tussauds DC also viewed

 

Been to Madame Tussauds DC? Share your experiences!

Write a Review Add Photos & Videos

Owners: What's your side of the story?

Own or manage this property? Claim your listing for free to respond to reviews, update your profile and much more.

Claim Your Listing