We noticed that you're using an unsupported browser. The TripAdvisor website may not display properly.We support the following browsers:
Windows: Internet Explorer, Mozilla Firefox, Google Chrome. Mac: Safari.

“Fun To Do Once”
Review of Madame Tussauds DC

Madame Tussauds DC
Book In Advance
More Info
$18.98*
and up
Madame Tussauds Washington DC
More Info
$169.00*
and up
Washington DC Day Trip from New York
More Info
$42.00*
and up
Washington DC Essential Hop-On Hop-Off plus Bonus Tour
Ranked #59 of 446 things to do in Washington DC
More attraction details
Attraction details
Owner description: More than just a wax museum! Madame Tussauds Washington D.C. is a fully interactive experience, where visitors are able to touch, see and hear historical icons and celebrities in a way unlike any other Washington D.C. attraction.
Warrenton
Level 5 Contributor
80 reviews
12 attraction reviews
common_n_attraction_reviews_1bd8 18 helpful votes
“Fun To Do Once”
Reviewed January 24, 2013

This place is fun for a quick excursion, but it's not particularly big. We bought our tickets on Groupon and I don't think I would have been particularly happy with paying full price for this place. Getting up close with the sculptures and interacting with the exhibits is entertaining though.

Visited February 2012
Helpful?
Thank jwalkerr
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Madame T, Marketing, Promotions, and Social Media Specialist at Madame Tussauds DC, responded to this review, February 1, 2013
We are pleased to hear that you enjoyed the exhibit. In regards to price, we do try to keep it in line with that of other paid attractions in the area and we strive to provide customers with excellence for their money. We greatly appreciate your feedback and thank you for visiting Madame Tussauds Washington DC.
Report response as inappropriate
This response is the subjective opinion of the management representative and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Write a Review

840 reviews from our community

Visitor rating
    253
    322
    182
    59
    24
Date | Rating
  • Chinese (Traditional) first
  • Danish first
  • Dutch first
  • English first
  • French first
  • German first
  • Indonesian first
  • Italian first
  • Japanese first
  • Norwegian first
  • Portuguese first
  • Russian first
  • Spanish first
  • Thai first
  • Turkish first
  • Any
English first
Lenoir City, Tennessee
Level 3 Contributor
13 reviews
6 attraction reviews
common_n_attraction_reviews_1bd8 5 helpful votes
“Fun quick experience”
Reviewed January 23, 2013

Loved the wax sculptures, and the variety of picture poses you can do. Sadly they were a little short staffed (day after Inauguration) and took a while to get through the photo lines. Aside from that, great experience.

Visited January 2013
Helpful?
Thank PsycoChihuahua
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Madame T, Marketing, Promotions, and Social Media Specialist at Madame Tussauds DC, responded to this review, January 29, 2013
We're incredibly pleased to hear that you enjoyed your time at Madame Tussauds DC. We apologize for any inconveince you may have experienced during that particularly busy time, but we greatly appreciate your patience. Once again, we're glad you enjoyed your time with us. Thank you.
Report response as inappropriate
This response is the subjective opinion of the management representative and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Indianapolis, IN
Level 5 Contributor
74 reviews
21 attraction reviews
common_n_attraction_reviews_1bd8 31 helpful votes
“Need to see 1 time!”
Reviewed January 18, 2013

We had not been to a wax museum before, so this was fun for our family. We had seen history all day & it was cold outside, so a late afternoon visit to Madame's was needed. Our teenagers loved getting their pictures taken with all the celebrities. Very pricey, but worth it see 1 time.

Visited December 2012
Helpful?
Thank Lv2Travel87
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Madame T, Marketing, Promotions, and Social Media Specialist at Madame Tussauds DC, responded to this review, January 29, 2013
We are so glad to hear that Madame Tussauds was a fun indoor activity for you and your family. We are also happy to hear that your teenagers enjoyed the celebrity figures. We try to keep our prices in line with that of other paid attractions in the area and we are confident we represent excellence for your money. We appreciate your feedback. Thank you for visiting Madame Tussauds Washington DC.
Report response as inappropriate
This response is the subjective opinion of the management representative and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Toronto, Canada
Level 4 Contributor
24 reviews
4 attraction reviews
common_n_attraction_reviews_1bd8 42 helpful votes
“not worth the money”
Reviewed January 14, 2013

you can see museums like that everywhere; Niagara Fall's is one of them and is much bigger - really nothing - same michael jacksons and presidents of US in all of them

Visited March 2012
Helpful?
Thank tafbird
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Madame T, Marketing, Promotions, and Social Media Specialist at Madame Tussauds DC, responded to this review, February 11, 2013
We would like to thank you for visiting Madame Tussauds. The Niagara Falls wax museum however, is not a part of the Madame Tussauds brand. Madame Tussauds is a global brand which prides itself on the unique quality of its wax figures, as well as its constantly updated line of figures. We appreciate your feedback. Once again, we thank you for visiting Madame Tussauds Washington D.C.
Report response as inappropriate
This response is the subjective opinion of the management representative and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Johanessburg, Gauteng
Level 4 Contributor
31 reviews
17 attraction reviews
common_n_attraction_reviews_1bd8 10 helpful votes
“Take the city bus”
Reviewed January 8, 2013

Use the red international city bus which stops along a route at madame tussauds. It is a one of a kind experience with a little bit of history of all the wax figures included next to the idividual wax figure. You can take home a wax figure of your own hand and have them colour it any way you like also you can take a picture at the 'oval office' and the with Mr and Mrs Obama along with many others including Rosa Parks and Tyra Banks

Visited December 2012
Helpful?
Thank tjackie_h
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Madame T, Marketing, Promotions, and Social Media Specialist at Madame Tussauds DC, responded to this review, January 29, 2013
We are thrilled to hear that you enjoyed the unique interactivity of our attraction, as well as the variety of wax figures on display. We strive to bring people the figures they want and it pleases us greatly when we can do just that. Thank you again.
Report response as inappropriate
This response is the subjective opinion of the management representative and not of TripAdvisor LLC.

Been to Madame Tussauds DC? Share your experiences!

Write a Review Add Photos & Videos

Owners: What's your side of the story?

Own or manage this property? Claim your listing for free to respond to reviews, update your profile and much more.

Claim Your Listing