We noticed that you're using an unsupported browser. The TripAdvisor website may not display properly.
We support the following browsers:
Windows: Internet Explorer, Mozilla Firefox, Google Chrome. Mac: Safari.

“Why?” 1 of 5 stars
Review of Madame Tussauds Washington D.C.

Madame Tussauds Washington D.C.
Book In Advance
$19*
and up
Madame Tussauds Washington DC
Ranked #59 of 388 things to do in Washington DC
Certificate of Excellence
More attraction details
Attraction details
Owner description: More than just a wax museum! Madame Tussauds Washington D.C. is a fully interactive experience, where visitors are able to touch, see and hear historical icons and celebrities in a way unlike any other Washington D.C. attraction.
Maryland
Level Contributor
167 reviews
82 attraction reviews
common_n_attraction_reviews_1bd8 114 helpful votes
“Why?”
1 of 5 stars Reviewed December 24, 2011

Wouldn't it be more fun so see real things? Disappointed that this was built in the Nation's Capital.

Helpful?
Thank nursely
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Write a Review

664 reviews from our community

Visitor rating
    198
    252
    144
    51
    19
Date | Rating
  • Chinese (Traditional) first
  • Danish first
  • Dutch first
  • English first
  • French first
  • German first
  • Indonesian first
  • Italian first
  • Japanese first
  • Norwegian first
  • Portuguese first
  • Russian first
  • Spanish first
  • Thai first
  • Turkish first
  • Any
English first
Alexandria, Virginia
Level Contributor
62 reviews
20 attraction reviews
common_n_attraction_reviews_1bd8 48 helpful votes
“Not worth it!”
1 of 5 stars Reviewed December 22, 2011

Not impressive and very expensive. I received l/2 price tickets and still not worth it. It's merely a photo op place!

Helpful?
Thank Aquapat
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Pittsburgh
Level Contributor
16 reviews
9 attraction reviews
common_n_attraction_reviews_1bd8 4 helpful votes
“Funny”
4 of 5 stars Reviewed December 22, 2011

Just plain old fun, I thought they had to many presidents but this is Washington DC, and here you get to touch them, I overheard ppl saying at other wax museums touching is a no-no so we were lucky and got good pics to.

Visited December 2011
Helpful?
Thank Laina1219
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Strasburg, Virginia
Level Contributor
126 reviews
50 attraction reviews
common_n_attraction_reviews_1bd8 71 helpful votes
“That was fun but I am glad I didn't pay full price”
4 of 5 stars Reviewed December 15, 2011

We bought a Groupon to visit this attraction but there is always some sort of coupon available. Anyone who pays full price is getting ripped off. That said, we had a great time inside. There was a lot of interaction and we took pictures of each other hob knobbing with Brittany and Tom, playing the piano with the Duke and singing with MJ. Posing in creative ways made for the best and most hilarious time.

The worst part of this was we couldn't get our own pictures with the Obama's. The museum had their own camera set up and the only way you could get near the figures was to agree to have a pic taken. You didn't necessarily have to buy the picture you just had to have it taken. Rebel that I am, I declined.

Visited September 2011
Helpful?
1 Thank Dawn M
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Washington DC, District of Columbia
Level Contributor
7 reviews
7 attraction reviews
common_n_attraction_reviews_1bd8 3 helpful votes
“Standing face-to-face with the world’s most fascinating historical, political and iconic figures of our history.”
4 of 5 stars Reviewed December 5, 2011

Your trip to the nation’s capital is not complete without a stop at the world famous Madame Tussauds. Nothing compares to the experience of standing face-to-face with the world’s most fascinating historical, political and iconic figures of our history. Madame Tussauds Washington D.C. is a fully interactive, full-sensory experience, where visitors are able to touch, see and hear major historical events and celebrities. To perform a full tour of Madame Tussauds, it takes about two hours. Definitely not at the very top of the DC Attractions list, and look for a Groupon if possible. Great way to spend a rainy or cold day. Definitely best for Older Teens and Adults.

Visited June 2011
Helpful?
Thank dcrevealed
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.

Travelers who viewed Madame Tussauds Washington D.C. also viewed

 

Been to Madame Tussauds Washington D.C.? Share your experiences!

Write a Review Add Photos & Videos

Owners: What's your side of the story?

Own or manage this property? Claim your listing for free to respond to reviews, update your profile and much more.

Claim Your Listing