We noticed that you're using an unsupported browser. The TripAdvisor website may not display properly.We support the following browsers:
Windows: Internet Explorer, Mozilla Firefox, Google Chrome. Mac: Safari.

“Excellent Food and Beer”
Review of Brasserie Beck

Brasserie Beck
Reserve with OpenTable
Brasserie Beck is not available for your requested time. Choose another time, or search restaurants with availability.
The time you selected has already passed.
Ranked #120 of 3,257 Restaurants in Washington DC
Certificate of Excellence
Price range: $25 - $100
Cuisines: Belgian, French
More restaurant details
Restaurant details
Good for: Business meetings, Bar scene, Special occasions, Large groups, Romantic
Dining options: Breakfast, Lunch, Late Night, Dinner, Reservations
Dining style: Casual Dining
Neighborhood: Downtown / Chinatown
Transit: McPherson Square or Metro Center
Patchogue, New York
Level 6 Contributor
162 reviews
94 restaurant reviews
common_n_restaurant_reviews_1bd8 79 helpful votes
“Excellent Food and Beer”
Reviewed February 18, 2013

I make it a point to get to this restaurant each time I am in DC. On this particular trip, I found myself here twice in my week-long stay! They have the best mussels I've ever had in both classic and unique preparations. The frites are fried in duck fat, and are served with excellent aioli dipping sauces. The beer selection is also amazing; great craft, Belgian beers that are hard to find elsewhere. My only gripe was that on the second night I went there I ordered a risotto special, which came to me overcooked. It was disappointing, but definitely won't prevent me from returning! I highly recommend this place!

  • Visited January 2013
    • Value
    • Atmosphere
    • Service
    • Food
Helpful?
Thank Kristina K
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Write a Review

682 reviews from our community

Visitor rating
    314
    250
    77
    21
    20
Rating summary
    Food
    Service
    Value
    Atmosphere
Date | Rating
  • Dutch first
  • English first
  • French first
  • German first
  • Italian first
  • Japanese first
  • Portuguese first
  • Russian first
  • Spanish first
  • Swedish first
  • Any
English first
Shaker Heights, Ohio, United States
Level 5 Contributor
50 reviews
35 restaurant reviews
common_n_restaurant_reviews_1bd8 31 helpful votes
“Very good but short of exceptional”
Reviewed February 17, 2013

The wait staff is very competent and knowledgable, if also very busy. The menu is creative and the dishes are tasty and large. The atmosphere is informal and a bit noisy. Good wine and beer selections. I'd avoid ordering from the bar because the bartenders seem very busy with after-work crowds (my martini was watery, warm, half-full). Overall, very good place but not much to make it really stand out as exceptional.

  • Visited February 2013
    • Value
    • Atmosphere
    • Service
    • Food
Helpful?
Thank TimothyBeal
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
St. Augustine, Florida
Level 6 Contributor
157 reviews
109 restaurant reviews
common_n_restaurant_reviews_1bd8 209 helpful votes
“Fabulous Food and Beer!”
Reviewed February 7, 2013

This Belgian restaurant is one of my very favorites in DC. The beer selection both draft and bottled, while expensive, is most impresssive and well worth it. Every time I have eaten here, whether it be for brunch, dinner or happy hour, the food has been marvelous. They always have excellent oysters and other seafood. Seating at the bar is a little tight, but it is lively and the bartenders are attentive and knowledgeable. It is a modest walk from the McPherson Square Metro station and valet parking is available. This is a perfect spot if you are attending anything at the Washington Convention Center which is within easy walking distance.

  • Visited February 2013
    • Value
    • Atmosphere
    • Service
    • Food
Helpful?
4 Thank Ninjaneer1
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Washington DC, District of Columbia
Level 3 Contributor
10 reviews
8 restaurant reviews
common_n_restaurant_reviews_1bd8 3 helpful votes
“Engagement Dinner”
Reviewed February 2, 2013

The place was lively and had a great buzz plus the service was outstanding. We had a set, coursed menu, with fresh oysters to start, and they handled our large group seamlessly.

Visited August 2012
Helpful?
Thank jamison881
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
San Diego
Level 6 Contributor
322 reviews
192 restaurant reviews
common_n_restaurant_reviews_1bd8 127 helpful votes
“it costs so much to be trendy”
Reviewed January 24, 2013

$24 for moules & frites, huh? $40 for pasta with a few chunks of lobster? This place is extremely trendy, or so I'm told, and the space was very pleasant if a bit noisy. The service was inattentive - spilled sauce stayed on the table for the entire night, and we had to flag the waiter down to order more drinks. The food was good, but not extraordinary. We had four mains (three mussels and the plate of pasta), one salad, one octopus appetizer (delicious, but very small portion), one dessert, five beers and two glasses of wine. The tab before tip was $240. I dunno, just seemed steep to me, for good but not stellar food and mediocre service.

Visited January 2013
Helpful?
Thank Basiluzzo
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.

Travelers who viewed Brasserie Beck also viewed

Washington DC, DC
Washington DC, DC
 
Washington DC, DC
 

Been to Brasserie Beck? Share your experiences!

Write a Review Add Photos & Videos

Owners: What's your side of the story?

Own or manage this property? Claim your listing for free to respond to reviews, update your profile and much more.

Claim Your Listing