We noticed that you're using an unsupported browser. The TripAdvisor website may not display properly.We support the following browsers:
Windows: Internet Explorer, Mozilla Firefox, Google Chrome. Mac: Safari.

“Great neighbourhood, great restaurants, great hospitality”
Review of Adam's Inn

Best prices for -
Check In mm/dd/yyyy Check Out mm/dd/yyyy
Prices are for 1 room, 2 adults
Show Prices
Compare best prices from top travel sites
and 7 more sites!
Adam's Inn
Ranked #8 of 36 Washington DC B&B and Inns
Certificate of Excellence
Reviewed June 5, 2014

Travelling with my 2 daughters I wanted a place that could accommodate us all in one room each with our own beds and no pull outs. We were not disappointed. We had a private bath and excellent water pressure on the top floor and although I thought the street side might be loud, it was quite peaceful. The beds were comfortable. The breakfast was basic, but I am just a coffee gal first thing and the coffee was really good! The accommodations certainly beat any chain motel and I had no complaints. I actually loved chatting at breakfast with the other guests, sitting on the porch and enjoying many of the amazing restaurants in the area. We had a great stay and I would recommend and go back. It was clean, and the staff was exceptionally helpful, warm, and friendly. I had a reserved parking spot in the back and never once used the car as transit was close by.

Stayed: April 2014, traveled with family
Thank N P
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Write a Review
Reviews (653)
There are newer reviews for Adam's Inn
See the most recent reviews
Traveler rating
Traveler type
Time of year
Language
  • More languages

297 - 303 of 653 reviews

Reviewed May 18, 2014

We have always stayed in hotels, and didn't know what to expect for our first stay at a B&B. We were pleasantly surprised! Adam's Inn is a well kept, older bed & breakfast in the Adams-Morgan neighborhood that made us feel as though we had gone back in time. We enjoyed sitting on the front porch watching locals go about their daily routines. There's also a porch and private garden area behind the buildings. Our guest room with a private bath, as well as all of the common areas, were very clean, quiet and comfortable. The continental breakfast was well stocked with a variety of cereals, breads, juices, etc. The entire staff was always helpful and friendly. The B&B is located close to a variety of popular dining and drinking establishments along 18th Street and Columbia, and within walking distance to Cleveland Park and the National Zoo. As with all of DC, parking can be a problem if you're driving, but with patience and luck you will succeed (the Inn also has limited garage parking available for an additional charge). Overall a great stay that opened our eyes to an alternative to hotels.

  • Stayed: May 2014, traveled with family
    • Value
    • Location
    • Sleep Quality
    • Rooms
    • Cleanliness
    • Service
Thank BCC3
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Reviewed May 16, 2014

My main reason to stay here was location. It's very close to a family member who didn't have room for us to stay with them. We were there 4 nights we really enjoyed having a front porch to sit on. Or a patio to relax on. We were in the building that didn't have the office in it.
One of the things that bothered me was that there wasn't coffee available to us in the mornings until later. In our building there was a station with INSTANT coffee. Ugh. No other options. In the main building it's not made available until 7am weekdays, and 8am weekends. When you have tours to get to, it makes it impossible to have coffee before you leave. And breakfast is very continental. Cereal and bagels basically. Breakfast has the same hours as coffee does. There are several restaurants close by. If you want a grocery store for anything there is a Safeway pretty much right behind the Inn.

Room Tip: Room 15 in on the first floor (no stairs), except front porch. And has a wall between the beds. I wa...
  • Stayed: May 2014, traveled with family
    • Value
    • Location
    • Sleep Quality
    • Rooms
    • Cleanliness
    • Service
Thank KansasTravelgrl
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Reviewed April 28, 2014

This B&B is actually three row houses in the Adams-Morgan Section of DC. It is modest in character with a continental breakfast, available in both the dining room and the kitchen of one of the houses. It is not fancy but always clean and well cared for. Most rooms have a private bath. We like the congeniality of the other guests, many times small groups of young adults from other countries. We've also met some retired "university types". The conversation at breakfast is always about more than just the weather. The only drawback to staying here is that there is no elevator. However the staff is more than willing to schlep luggage.
Our favorite part of the Inn is the great staff, always going beyond the norm to provide wonderful, friendly service. We've stayed here half a dozen times and definitely will be back. We consider Adam's Inn to be our home away from home when visiting family in the DC area.

  • Stayed: April 2014, traveled with family
    • Value
    • Location
    • Sleep Quality
    • Rooms
    • Cleanliness
    • Service
Thank Womanofthecloth
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Reviewed April 19, 2014

When we arrived, the was a nice young girl waiting at the front desk and told us everything in a very polite way. Our room was in the second building, which was okay since it really just right next to the first one. There is a cute little area with sofas and a TV and also a little kitchen, where you can place things in the fridge. There is always coffee and tea available and oatmeal.
I was travelling with my mom and we had a really small room with a quite weird window (broken blinds, but curtains were fine) and a queen bed. For my taste, the bed was too small, but the room was clean and looked nice. I never had to wait "in line" for the shared bathroom and it was always very clean and there were fresh towels.
Breakfast is from 7:30 -10:00, i think it starts a bit late but it really good, they offer toast, bagels, peanut butter, jam, cream cheese, fruit, juices, tea, coffee, oatmeal and sweet bread. You would always meet nice other travellers in the breakfast room and have a nice chat (at least we met only nice people).
Staff was always friendly.
I would recommend this Inn for parties of two or three and vintage lovers haha :-)

  • Stayed: April 2014
    • Value
    • Location
    • Rooms
    • Cleanliness
    • Service
Thank Melanie R
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Reviewed April 16, 2014

Steven, I believe his name was, greeted me and was friendly and very helpful, particularly in navigating the neighborhood so I could find a restaurant and locate transportation the next day. The room I was in was simple and clean. My stay was short so I can't comment in any more depth than that, but was pleased with the Inn and would certainly recommend it to anyone who wants to stay in the lively Adams Morgan area.

  • Stayed: April 2014, traveled on business
    • Value
    • Location
    • Sleep Quality
    • Rooms
    • Cleanliness
    • Service
Thank budparr
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Reviewed April 4, 2014

This hotel is located in a nice neighbourhood, has very courteous staff and had some fantastic communal areas (e.g. lounge, computer room, laundry room, kitchen, etc). Unfortunately despite these good points the hotel disappointed in other far more important and fundamental areas - the beds were awful (getting a good nights sleep was impossible), there was little or no control of the room temperature, the breakfasts were disappointing and there was no TV in the bedroom which meant many people had to share the one TV. Given the most important aim of any hotel should be to provide their customers with the means to enjoy a good nights sleep both my partner, Hannah, and I felt this hotel was a significant disappointment. We will certainly not be returning here.

  • Stayed: March 2014, traveled as a couple
    • Value
    • Location
    • Sleep Quality
    • Rooms
    • Cleanliness
    • Service
2  Thank Brian A
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Hotels you might also like...
Travelers also viewed these Washington DC hotels
The Normandy Hotel
#29 of 141 in Washington DC
999 reviews
Upper Northwest
Omni Shoreham Hotel
Omni Shoreham Hotel
#69 of 141 in Washington DC
6,967 reviews
Foggy Bottom - GWU - West End
Hotel Hive
Hotel Hive
#3 of 141 in Washington DC
434 reviews
Show Prices
Show Prices
Show Prices
Capitol Hill Hotel
#11 of 141 in Washington DC
1,527 reviews
Windsor Park Hotel
#125 of 141 in Washington DC
204 reviews
Upper Northwest
Kalorama Guest House
Kalorama Guest House
#9 of 36 in Washington DC
76 reviews
Show Prices
Show Prices
Show Prices

Been to Adam's Inn? Share your experiences!

Write a Review Add Photos & Videos

Additional Information about Adam's Inn

Address: 1746 Lanier Pl NW, Washington DC, DC 20009-2118
Phone Number:
Location: United States > District of Columbia > Washington DC > Adams Morgan , Upper Northwest
Amenities:
Business Center with Internet Access Free Breakfast Free High Speed Internet ( WiFi ) Kitchenette Pets Allowed ( Dog / Pet Friendly )
Hotel Style:
Ranked #8 of 36 B&Bs / Inns in Washington DC
Price Range: $87 - $270 (Based on Average Rates for a Standard Room)
Hotel Class:2.5 star — Adam's Inn 2.5*
Number of rooms: 27
Official Description (provided by the hotel):
Adam's Inn is located just a block away from the Adams Morgan neighborhood of the nation's capital city. It is conveniently located only minutes from the red line metro station (Woodley Park/ Adams Morgan) and one block from the circulator bus so you can get anywhere in the city quickly. Operating as a bed and breakfast for more than 30 years, guests can enjoy a full complimentary continental breakfast served each morning. Stay connected with modern amenities like free Wi-Fi access and a business center. With pet-friendly rooms available, you can plan the perfect getaway near the White House, National Zoo, Smithsonian Museums and other popular points of interest. Or, take a two-minute stroll to the DC Circulator bus station, where you can catch a ride downtown every 10 minutes. Adam's Inn is only 2.5 miles away from the Walter E. Convention Center providing affordable accommodation to business travelers and conference attendees. Limited on-site garage parking space is available. ... more   less 
Reservation Options:
TripAdvisor is proud to partner with Booking.com, TravelClick, Expedia, Hotels.com, Travelocity, Priceline, Orbitz, Cancelon and Hotwire so you can book your Adam's Inn reservations with confidence. We help millions of travelers each month to find the perfect hotel for both vacation and business trips, always with the best discounts and special offers.
Also Known As:
Adam`s Hotel Washington Dc

Is This Your TripAdvisor Listing?

Own or manage this property? Claim your listing for free to respond to reviews, update your profile and much more.

Claim Your Listing