We noticed that you're using an unsupported browser. The TripAdvisor website may not display properly.We support the following browsers:
Windows: Internet Explorer, Mozilla Firefox, Google Chrome. Mac: Safari.

“very quiet and peaceful”
Review of Adam's Inn

Best prices for -
Check In mm/dd/yyyy Check Out mm/dd/yyyy
Prices are for 1 room, 2 adults
Show Prices
Compare best prices from top travel sites
and 7 more sites!
Adam's Inn
Ranked #8 of 35 Washington DC B&B and Inns
Certificate of Excellence
Reviewed August 18, 2013

It was my first experience in Adam's Inn and I appreciated it. Hosts so friendly and helpful. Neighborhood and environment busy but the location of the Inn is so quiet and so safe. Not far from everything (metro, restaurants, attractions.....); Wonderful stay there.

  • Stayed: August 2013, traveled with family
    • Value
    • Location
    • Sleep Quality
    • Rooms
    • Cleanliness
    • Service
Thank jose l
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Write a Review
Reviews (677)
Traveler rating
Traveler type
Time of year
Language
  • More languages

348 - 354 of 677 reviews

Reviewed August 16, 2013

This B&B is about a 10 minute walk from the Metro Red Line and is close to many excellent restaurants (Adams Morgan). The breakfast is standard issue continental style - adequate but nothing to write home about. The folks are friendly and helpful. There is a nice outdoor garden area. It's in a pleasant residential area and feels very safe walking home from the Metro station late in the evening. Seems to be a favorite of European guests - there were Germans there when we stayed. Parking on the street is not an issue during the weekend - don't know about during the week. We parked Friday afternoon, left our car all weekend on the next street over and used the Metro. Our room was cooled by a window air conditioner that was somewhat noisy and the fan was too high. All in all, though, it was a pleasant place to stay.

Room Tip: Room 202, quiet but no view. It's very close to shared bath. Room air conditioner was not work...
See more room tips
  • Stayed: August 2013, traveled as a couple
    • Value
    • Location
    • Sleep Quality
    • Rooms
    • Cleanliness
    • Service
Thank TientsinMama
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Reviewed July 29, 2013

It was our first time in Adam's Inn. We came in April at time of the cherry blossoms and stayed for 4 nights.
The location is very convenient : very quiet street with wildlife in town (squirrels, birds, and various plants + close to the zoo) and safe neighborhood at walking distance of restaurants and bars, good base camp for visiting DC (bus or metro).
Hosts were available, nice and helpful.
Rooms are rather small and with shared bathrooms, nice for April (you may use the ceiling fan) but not appropriate for hot season (window not closing efficiently and poor air-conditioning equipment).
A lovely, friendly and convenient place but do not expect luxury.

J. Christopher L (from France)

  • Stayed: April 2013, traveled as a couple
    • Value
    • Location
    • Sleep Quality
    • Rooms
    • Cleanliness
    • Service
Thank Jean-Christophe L
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Reviewed June 1, 2013

Adam's Inn is located in a very nice neighbourhood (Adam's Morgan) with very good restaurants nearby (Mextec, Bardia's).
Hosts are kind and very helpful.
Room was confortable, the backyard is very neat, especially for breakfast and after a long day walking around the city.

This is an old house so your tranquillity depends on your neighbours ;)

We didn't try buses but Adam's Inn is a little bit far from the nearest metro station (Woodley Park), but still at a walking distance and in a safe area at night.

  • Stayed: May 2013, traveled as a couple
    • Value
    • Location
    • Sleep Quality
    • Rooms
    • Cleanliness
    • Service
1  Thank Daudier C
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Reviewed May 29, 2013

We absolutely loved staying here! We were there for 5 days and walked to the Red line metro every day (0.7 miles away). Walk was very safe and we were constantly surrounded by young business men and women going about their day. The room and shared bathroom were always very clean and well supplied. Breakfast was pretty basic, cereal and bagels, but it worked for us. Only downside was the stairs. We didn't mind it too much on the second floor, but there were a couple of older couples on the third floor who struggled with it a bit. Other than that, we loved it and we WILL be back!

Room Tip: Ask for a first floor room if stairs will be a problem for you.
See more room tips
  • Stayed: May 2013, traveled with family
    • Value
    • Location
    • Sleep Quality
    • Rooms
    • Cleanliness
    • Service
Thank Elizabeth M
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Reviewed May 29, 2013

We love Adam's Inn...I really love the location...it's in such a nice neighborhood. This time we got to enjoy the back garden, which was lovely, although it could have used some citronella candles. We also paid for parking this time, which made life easy. And we figured out you can walk to Ben's Chili Bowl from here! Adam's Inn is our go-to place in DC.

  • Stayed: May 2013, traveled with family
    • Value
    • Location
    • Sleep Quality
    • Rooms
    • Cleanliness
    • Service
Thank sciteach07
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Reviewed May 22, 2013

I stayed here for a few days over this past weekend for a quick trip away from home and to see a few things in D.C.

The Inn is located in a nice neighborhood in northwest D.C. but lacks the over the top features of a regular B&B. Breakfasts were simple continental fares made up of bagels and cereal fruit and yogurt. For those of you with gluten allergies, like me, they had some gluten free cereal.

The room was passable; I had one of the ones with a communal bathroom. The facilities were passable, the bed a bit old and uncomfortable. I actually ended up sleeping in one of the twins because the mattress was much more comfortable than the double bed.

The staff were very nice and easy to work with however.

All in all it was good for a short quick stay in a nice neighborhood.

  • Stayed: May 2013, traveled solo
    • Value
    • Location
    • Sleep Quality
    • Rooms
    • Cleanliness
    • Service
1  Thank spinal77
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Hotels you might also like...
Travelers also viewed these Washington DC hotels
Foggy Bottom - GWU - West End
Hotel Hive
Hotel Hive
#4 of 142 in Washington DC
519 reviews
The Normandy Hotel
#33 of 142 in Washington DC
1,050 reviews
Days Inn Washington DC / Connect...
#121 of 142 in Washington DC
1,889 reviews
Show Prices
Show Prices
Show Prices
Windsor Park Hotel
#126 of 142 in Washington DC
210 reviews
Dupont Circle
The Dupont Circle
The Dupont Circle
#26 of 142 in Washington DC
3,294 reviews
Malolo Bed and Breakfast
#1 of 35 in Washington DC
350 reviews
Show Prices
Show Prices
Show Prices

Been to Adam's Inn? Share your experiences!

Write a Review Add Photos & Videos

Additional Information about Adam's Inn

Address: 1746 Lanier Pl NW, Washington DC, DC 20009-2118
Phone Number:
Location: United States > District of Columbia > Washington DC > Adams Morgan , Upper Northwest
Amenities:
Business Center with Internet Access Free Breakfast Free High Speed Internet ( WiFi ) Kitchenette Pets Allowed ( Dog / Pet Friendly )
Hotel Style:
Ranked #8 of 35 B&Bs / Inns in Washington DC
Price Range: $65 - $341 (Based on Average Rates for a Standard Room)
Hotel Class:2.5 star — Adam's Inn 2.5*
Number of rooms: 27
Official Description (provided by the hotel):
Adam's Inn is located just a block away from the Adams Morgan neighborhood of the nation's capital city. It is conveniently located only minutes from the red line metro station (Woodley Park/ Adams Morgan) and one block from the circulator bus so you can get anywhere in the city quickly. Operating as a bed and breakfast for more than 30 years, guests can enjoy a full complimentary continental breakfast served each morning. Stay connected with modern amenities like free Wi-Fi access and a business center. With pet-friendly rooms available, you can plan the perfect getaway near the White House, National Zoo, Smithsonian Museums and other popular points of interest. Or, take a two-minute stroll to the DC Circulator bus station, where you can catch a ride downtown every 10 minutes. Adam's Inn is only 2.5 miles away from the Walter E. Convention Center providing affordable accommodation to business travelers and conference attendees. Limited on-site garage parking space is available. ... more   less 
Reservation Options:
TripAdvisor is proud to partner with Booking.com, Expedia, TravelClick, Priceline, Hotels.com, Hotwire, Travelocity, Orbitz and Cancelon so you can book your Adam's Inn reservations with confidence. We help millions of travelers each month to find the perfect hotel for both vacation and business trips, always with the best discounts and special offers.
Also Known As:
Adam`s Hotel Washington Dc

Is This Your TripAdvisor Listing?

Own or manage this property? Claim your listing for free to respond to reviews, update your profile and much more.

Claim Your Listing