We noticed that you're using an unsupported browser. The TripAdvisor website may not display properly.
We support the following browsers:
Windows: Internet Explorer, Mozilla Firefox, Google Chrome. Mac: Safari.
The latest reviews. The lowest prices. The perfect place to shop for hotels.

“Washing D.C., Free Tours by Foot” 5 of 5 bubbles
Review of DC by Foot

DC by Foot
Book In Advance
More Info
$30.00*
and up
Ghosts of Georgetown Walking Tour
Ranked #1 of 139 Tours in Washington DC
Certificate of Excellence
More attraction details
Attraction details
Owner description: DC by Foot is proud to offer an extensive schedule of pay-what-you-like Washington, DC tours, including the National Mall, Arlington Cemetery, Capitol Hill, Georgetown and more. In addition to walking tours, we also offer food, bike, bus and photography tours. Our tours come with no upfront costs, allowing you to pay what you thought a tour was worth, or what you could afford, at the end of the tour.
Useful Information: Activities for older children
Toronto, Canada
Level Contributor
3 reviews
common_n_attraction_reviews_1bd8 3 helpful votes
“Washing D.C., Free Tours by Foot”
5 of 5 bubbles Reviewed September 24, 2012

The four hour National Mall and Tidal Basin tour was terrific. Our guide Canden was very personable and knowledgeable and had a plethora of great stories that made the whole experience very enjoyable. I would definitely use Free Tours by Foot again without a doubt.

I also heard from others in my group that the Lincoln Assination night Tour was well worth taking.

And depending on how active a person you are, if you anticipate taking an evening tour I would suggest doing it on a different day. After the 4 hour tour I was too tired to go out to the 2 hour evening walking tour.

Donna (Age 57)
Toronto, Ontario.

Visited September 2012
Helpful?
1 Thank Donna J
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Write a Review

2,386 reviews from our community

Visitor rating
    2,188
    169
    12
    9
    8
Date | Rating
  • Chinese (Simplified) first
  • Dutch first
  • English first
  • French first
  • German first
  • Italian first
  • Japanese first
  • Portuguese first
  • Russian first
  • Spanish first
  • Swedish first
  • Thai first
  • Any
English first
West Lothian, Scotland
Level Contributor
106 reviews
43 attraction reviews
common_n_attraction_reviews_1bd8 61 helpful votes
“Absolutely the best way to see Washington DC”
5 of 5 bubbles Reviewed September 24, 2012

We did three tours in two days (lots of walking!) - Arlington Cemetery, Capitol Hill, and Memorial (by night, which is awesome, so pretty in the dark!). I can't recommend these tours enough. Well organised (on time!), friendly and knowledgeable guides, great routes with plenty of historical information (but not too much!) and you can choose what to tip at the end. We saw so much in two days we really felt like we got a great feel for the place, and took on a little American history at the same time. Feet were pretty sore by the end though, bring comfy trainers and plenty of water! Highly recommended to all!

Visited September 2012
Helpful?
Thank tike1
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Elm City, North Carolina
1 review
“Best way to see it”
5 of 5 bubbles Reviewed September 24, 2012

Took the walking tour around Arlington National Cemetery. Chris was our guide and was excellent, answered all of our questions. If you can do the walking this is the way to see Arlington. Will take another tour with them when I visit Washington again.

Visited September 2012
Helpful?
Thank Joyce R
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
San Francisco, California
Level Contributor
19 reviews
9 attraction reviews
common_n_attraction_reviews_1bd8 1 helpful vote
“Great way to see DC”
5 of 5 bubbles Reviewed September 23, 2012 via mobile

We took the All in one tour on the 23rd of September which covered the National Mall and the Tidal basin which is a 4hr tour.

Our guide Eddie was very informative, funny and full of small tidbits about the sights in DC. It is DC by foot so make sure you wear comfy shoes. We did stop for refreshments around the halfway mark and there were a few restroom stops along the way. It is at a very casual pace and we managed to take lots of pictures of the sights during the tour. Overall, this is a great way to see the sights and learn about the history surrounding the monuments/ memorials around DC. I would highly recommend these guys.

P.S. Don't forget to tip your guide :)

Helpful?
Thank MrKazz
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Belfast, United Kingdom
1 review
common_n_attraction_reviews_1bd8 1 helpful vote
“Brings history to life...fantastic tours”
5 of 5 bubbles Reviewed September 23, 2012

We took two walking tours, one with Becky looking at the DC monuments. Becky was excellent, really knowledgable and the pace was just right. We loved her enthusiasm. The second tour, Lincoln Assasination brought history to life! Our guide Chris was so interesting, with loads of fascinating detail and intrigue along the way. The two hours flew past. We would definitely recommend the tours and can't wait to come back to Washington for more.
Kerry and Glenn, Northern Ireland.

Visited September 2012
Helpful?
1 Thank Kerry P
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.

Travelers who viewed DC by Foot also viewed

 

Been to DC by Foot? Share your experiences!

Write a Review Add Photos & Videos

Owners: What's your side of the story?

Own or manage this property? Claim your listing for free to respond to reviews, update your profile and much more.

Claim Your Listing