We noticed that you're using an unsupported browser. The TripAdvisor website may not display properly.We support the following browsers:
Windows: Internet Explorer, Mozilla Firefox, Google Chrome. Mac: Safari.

“Don't miss, Reserve ahead of time”
Review of Rasika

Rasika
Reserve with OpenTable
Rasika is not available for your requested time. Choose another time, or search restaurants with availability.
The time you selected has already passed.
Ranked #7 of 3,237 Restaurants in Washington DC
Certificate of Excellence
Price range: $31 - $50
Cuisines: Indian
More restaurant details
Restaurant details
Good for: Special occasions, Romantic
Dining options: Lunch, Breakfast, Late Night, Dinner, Reservations
Dining style: Casual Elegant
Neighborhood: Downtown / Chinatown
Cross street: On D Street Between 6th and 7th Streets.
Transit: Two Block Walk From the China Town/Gallery Place Metro and One Block Walk From the Archives/Navy Memorial Metro.
Milpitas, California
Level 6 Contributor
101 reviews
17 restaurant reviews
common_n_restaurant_reviews_1bd8 64 helpful votes
“Don't miss, Reserve ahead of time”
Reviewed July 16, 2014

This is one the best ranked Indian restaurant in city. Prior reservation is must because it very busy that itself tells about the quality of food. Staff is very co-operative, we had to postphone the reservation and they have accommodated us on same day as per our convenience. Parking is as usual difficult but on street meter parking is available.

  • Visited June 2014
    • Value
    • Atmosphere
    • Service
    • Food
Helpful?
Thank Amit J
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Write a Review

2,271 reviews from our community

Visitor rating
    1,567
    475
    152
    45
    32
Rating summary
    Food
    Service
    Value
    Atmosphere
Date | Rating
  • Arabic first
  • Chinese (Traditional) first
  • Danish first
  • English first
  • French first
  • German first
  • Italian first
  • Japanese first
  • Korean first
  • Norwegian first
  • Portuguese first
  • Russian first
  • Spanish first
  • Swedish first
  • Any
English first
Berkshire, United Kingdom
Level 5 Contributor
88 reviews
56 restaurant reviews
common_n_restaurant_reviews_1bd8 25 helpful votes
“Great food”
Reviewed July 14, 2014 via mobile

Visited here whilst at the Microsoft conference with a friend who's vegan. Both of us loved the food. Pitty they were so busy that we ended up with a bar table. Next time we'll know to book !

Helpful?
Thank jbeton
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Gillingham, United Kingdom
Level 6 Contributor
109 reviews
76 restaurant reviews
common_n_restaurant_reviews_1bd8 94 helpful votes
“Sorry - Average”
Reviewed July 14, 2014

On holiday from UK so warned the waiter the "National dish of England" as it says on their menu, the Chicken Tikka Masala would be tested, it failed miserably, tasted nothing like any Tikka Masala I've ever had in the UK and we've been eating curries for last 25 years on a monthly basis. As a curry it's nice but please change the name - its not a Tikka masala.
The rest of the meal was ok. Had better, infact we had just flown down from NY and while there had a curry in the Brick Lane curry house which was better.
However ,the service was excellent and could not be faulted.
I will add this though, the accoustics in this place were terrible and the noise was unbelievable, it is the loudest restaraunt I have ever been in. We were on the right hand side of the door near the corner and could here the entire conversation of the people on the left hand side of the door as everyone seemd to shouting to be heard. Not good for a romantic meal, would have been easier just to text each other rather than trying to shout and listen.
Tip for the management - to make the accoustics better either put more stuff on the walls or carpet some of the floor area to kill the echo.

  • Visited June 2014
    • Value
    • Atmosphere
    • Service
    • Food
Helpful?
2 Thank Lawrence64
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Hattiesburg, Mississippi
Level 6 Contributor
130 reviews
80 restaurant reviews
common_n_restaurant_reviews_1bd8 31 helpful votes
“Great tasting menu and service”
Reviewed July 13, 2014 via mobile

This meal wasn't just the best Indian food we've had but one of our best meals, period. Our server Oksana was knowledgable and fun as well as super accommodating. I had the 4 course vegetarian tasting menu with wine pairings and the other two in our party had the 6 course regular tasting menu with wine pairings. Oksana pulled all this off without a hitch, and every course was superb. The spinach appetizer is out of this world. Great experience all around!

Helpful?
1 Thank daisygirl2013
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Douglaston, New York
Level 4 Contributor
31 reviews
17 restaurant reviews
common_n_restaurant_reviews_1bd8 7 helpful votes
“Go for the Spinach!”
Reviewed July 11, 2014

This is a very good Indian restaurant - all of the dishes I tasted were flavorful and interesting. But the SPINACH is Out Of This World. I do like spinach but even if you don't you have to try this. I think it may be one of the best dishes I have ever tasted - it is undoubtedly the best vegetable dish I have ever tasted. Just writing this makes me want to hop on the ACELA and go get some.

Visited July 2014
Helpful?
Thank Johngmart
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.

Travelers who viewed Rasika also viewed

 
Washington DC, DC
 

Been to Rasika? Share your experiences!

Write a Review Add Photos & Videos

Owners: What's your side of the story?

Own or manage this property? Claim your listing for free to respond to reviews, update your profile and much more.

Claim Your Listing