We noticed that you're using an unsupported browser. The TripAdvisor website may not display properly.
We support the following browsers:
Windows: Internet Explorer, Mozilla Firefox, Google Chrome. Mac: Safari.
The latest reviews. The lowest prices. The perfect place to shop for hotels.

“AMAZING”
Review of Rasika

Rasika
Reserve with OpenTable
Rasika is not available for your requested time. Choose another time, or search restaurants with availability.
The time you selected has already passed.
Ranked #7 of 3,216 Restaurants in Washington DC
Certificate of Excellence
Price range: $31 - $50
Cuisines: Indian
More restaurant details
Restaurant details
Good for: Romantic, Large groups, Special occasions, Business meetings, Families with children
Dining options: Dinner, Lunch, Late Night, Full Bar, Private Dining, Reservations, Seating, Serves Alcohol, Takeout, Valet Parking, Waitstaff, Wheelchair Accessible
Dining style: Casual Elegant
Neighborhood: Downtown / Chinatown
Cross street: On D Street Between 6th and 7th Streets.
Transit: Two Block Walk From the China Town/Gallery Place Metro and One Block Walk From the Archives/Navy Memorial Metro.
NYC
Level Contributor
5 reviews
3 restaurant reviews
common_n_restaurant_reviews_1bd8 8 helpful votes
“AMAZING”
Reviewed November 15, 2012

I had never eaten Indian food before and the waiter could not have been more wonderful. Excellent wine list. Food was over the top delicious!

Visited November 2012
Helpful?
Thank GBJG
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Write a Review

2,221 reviews from our community

Visitor rating
    1,537
    466
    146
    44
    28
Rating summary
    Food
    Service
    Value
    Atmosphere
Date | Rating
  • Arabic first
  • Chinese (Traditional) first
  • Danish first
  • English first
  • French first
  • German first
  • Italian first
  • Japanese first
  • Korean first
  • Norwegian first
  • Portuguese first
  • Russian first
  • Spanish first
  • Swedish first
  • Any
English first
DC
Level Contributor
40 reviews
21 restaurant reviews
common_n_restaurant_reviews_1bd8 9 helpful votes
“Very good but overrated”
Reviewed November 14, 2012

I went during restaurant week so I can't say the usual care was given to our meals. The crispy spinach was good, but the other dishes were too salty for my taste. Service was good, but tables were crammed into all spaces possible. Neighbors were uncomfortably close.

  • Visited August 2012
    • Value
    • Atmosphere
    • Service
    • Food
Helpful?
Thank lbdc
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Washington DC, District of Columbia
Level Contributor
26 reviews
9 restaurant reviews
common_n_restaurant_reviews_1bd8 16 helpful votes
“Tasty modern indian, good service”
Reviewed November 14, 2012

Good modern indian dishes. I especially liked the crispy spinach.

Try to get a booth, as the main dining room can get noisy.

  • Visited September 2012
    • Value
    • Atmosphere
    • Service
    • Food
Helpful?
Thank MlleO_7
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Sunny Isles Beach, Florida
Level Contributor
84 reviews
47 restaurant reviews
common_n_restaurant_reviews_1bd8 48 helpful votes
“Modern Indian - Different and Delicious.”
Reviewed November 13, 2012

On a recent visit to Washington, D.C, we had lunch at Rasika in Penn Quarter location. As an appetizer we had the Palak Chaat (crispy baby spinach / sweet yogurt tamarind / date chutney). Outstanding. Black cod entree was silky smooth and perfectly cooked. Plain white rice accompanies meal otherwise, a la carte sides. A varied menu. You may need to call a at least a week in advance for Friday or Saturday evening dinner reservations, however. The restaurant is not very large and owner[s] seem to relish the 'it's not easy to get reservations' phase. Very good food and service. We would return without hesitation.

  • Visited November 2012
    • Value
    • Atmosphere
    • Service
    • Food
Helpful?
Thank ncc1701a
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Nashville, Tennessee
Level Contributor
139 reviews
83 restaurant reviews
common_n_restaurant_reviews_1bd8 88 helpful votes
“Excellent Meal and Service”
Reviewed November 11, 2012

One of the best meals ever! This place was very full, good to have reservation. Our server was very helpful, everything we ordered was excellent. This is a great place to eat.

  • Visited September 2012
    • Value
    • Atmosphere
    • Service
    • Food
Helpful?
Thank NewToChicago
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.

Travelers who viewed Rasika also viewed

 
Washington DC, DC
 

Been to Rasika? Share your experiences!

Write a Review Add Photos & Videos

Owners: What's your side of the story?

Own or manage this property? Claim your listing for free to respond to reviews, update your profile and much more.

Claim Your Listing