We noticed that you're using an unsupported browser. The TripAdvisor website may not display properly.
We support the following browsers:
Windows: Internet Explorer, Mozilla Firefox, Google Chrome. Mac: Safari.
Book On TripAdvisor Bonus Book your hotel on TripAdvisor — then save 20% on things to do for your trip. Use code BOOKTOSAVE.

“Shouldn't be listed as a B&B” 4 of 5 stars
Review of The Brookland Inn

We can't find prices for this accommodation
Our online travel partners don't provide prices for this accommodation, but we can search other options in Washington DC
Check In mm/dd/yyyy Check Out mm/dd/yyyy
The Brookland Inn
Save
You added The Brookland Inn to your Saves list
Ranked #36 of 37 Washington DC B&B and Inns
Red Bank, New Jersey
Level Contributor
12 reviews
12 hotel reviews
common_n_hotel_reviews_1bd8 3 helpful votes
“Shouldn't be listed as a B&B”
4 of 5 stars Reviewed April 22, 2013

This is not a B&B. When I think of a B&B I think of a house with many bedrooms with a delicious home cooked breakfast... This place is more like a hotel suite (apartment really...) kitchenette, living room, bedroom, and bathroom. When arriving I was about to kill my husband for booking such a ******* place to stay (the outside and the lobby are not impressive, even kind of depressing) but once the receptionist took us to our "apartment", I calmed down. It was very clean and had nice furniture. I must warn, I would not feel safe staying here alone and I am no small town girl (I travel alone in NYC at night weekly). The neighborhood isn't bad, it's just not great... you can tell the community is trying to improve. I would not walk alone at night even though the street appears empty. This is not within walking distance to the attractions of DC, but public transportation is close. Also, the wireless internet is hit or miss too depending on where you are sitting.

With all that said, I would stay here again as it was clean and a good value.

  • Stayed April 2013, traveled as a couple
    • 4 of 5 stars
      Value
    • 3 of 5 stars
      Location
    • 4 of 5 stars
      Sleep Quality
    • 5 of 5 stars
      Rooms
    • 5 of 5 stars
      Cleanliness
    • 3 of 5 stars
      Service
Helpful?
1 Thank bexroadtripper
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Write a Review

48 reviews from our community

Traveler rating
    24
    12
    6
    3
    3
See reviews for
16
13
7
16
Rating summary
  • Sleep Quality
  • Location
  • Rooms
  • Service
  • Value
  • Cleanliness
Traveler tips help you choose the right room.   Room tips (5)
Date | Rating
  • English first
  • French first
  • Any
English first
Charlotte, North Carolina
Level Contributor
15 reviews
7 hotel reviews
common_n_hotel_reviews_1bd8 15 helpful votes
4 of 5 stars Reviewed October 13, 2012

This is a great B&B with very spacious rooms. each suite has a living room, kitchen and separate bedroom(s). We stay here every time we go to DC to see my son at CUA. You won't find a better value anywhere. I hear people say the neighborhood can be questionable but we've never seen anything bad. It's like alot of areas in DC, don't go walking around at night alone. We're staying here again next month

Room Tip: there's no elevator but its only 3 stories
See more room tips
  • Stayed October 2012, traveled with family
    • 4 of 5 stars
      Value
    • 3 of 5 stars
      Location
    • 4 of 5 stars
      Sleep Quality
    • 4 of 5 stars
      Rooms
    • 4 of 5 stars
      Cleanliness
    • 3 of 5 stars
      Service
Helpful?
1 Thank margaret T
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Wisconsin, United States
1 review
common_n_hotel_reviews_1bd8 2 helpful votes
3 of 5 stars Reviewed August 15, 2012

The rooms were nice but the locks were not very sturdy. There was a bathroom, bedroom, living room and kitchen. The lobby had a combination push-pad lock that had the relevant numbers worn off by repeated punch-ins. They provided in-suite food in the refrigerator but the inn is located in a questionable neighborhood and there were police sirens every five minutes that evening as I tried to sleep. Online service was great but it was hard to find the "innkeeper" to check out the next morning to head out for my interview. For a college-age, smalltown Midwestern girl, it was a nerve-wracking experience. Probably less so for those with more experience in big cities and more travels under their belt.

  • Stayed March 2012, traveled on business
    • 3 of 5 stars
      Value
    • 2 of 5 stars
      Location
    • 2 of 5 stars
      Sleep Quality
    • 4 of 5 stars
      Rooms
    • 4 of 5 stars
      Cleanliness
    • 3 of 5 stars
      Service
Helpful?
2 Thank Erin D
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Los Angeles, California
Level Contributor
3 reviews
3 hotel reviews
common_n_hotel_reviews_1bd8 1 helpful vote
4 of 5 stars Reviewed May 30, 2012

Just got back from my first visit to DC and had a wonderful stay! The Brookland Inn is a cute B&B just outside of the main city area. The metro stop is only about a block away, which was great for our purposes. My friend and I stayed in a one bedroom suite and were very pleasantly surprised with the room - or apartment as it seemed. The kitchen was well stocked with muffins (chocolate chip were delicious!), yogurt, oatmeal, cereal etc. This was great for the mornings! It was very nice to have a living room area separate from the bedroom. Bathroom has some water marks on the ceiling, but didn't really effect our stay. We were there for 3 nights and it felt more like home than a hotel. We came in later at night and there was a key waiting for us on our arrival. Check out was very simple as well, just signed some paperwork and left the key in the room. Neighborhood looked ok. As a girl alone, might be questionable, but I was staying with a friend so turned out fine. Overall, great experience and I would stay here again!

  • Stayed May 2012, traveled with friends
    • 5 of 5 stars
      Value
    • 4 of 5 stars
      Location
    • 4 of 5 stars
      Sleep Quality
    • 4 of 5 stars
      Rooms
    • 4 of 5 stars
      Cleanliness
    • 4 of 5 stars
      Service
Helpful?
1 Thank KristinS13
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Washington DC, District of Columbia
1 review
5 of 5 stars Reviewed May 27, 2012

I would recommend the Brookland Inn to anyone that is new to the area. Very comfortable place to stay.

  • Stayed May 2012, traveled on business
    • 4 of 5 stars
      Value
    • 4 of 5 stars
      Location
    • 4 of 5 stars
      Sleep Quality
    • 4 of 5 stars
      Rooms
    • 5 of 5 stars
      Cleanliness
    • 5 of 5 stars
      Service
Helpful?
Thank terry p
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Southbury, CT
Level Contributor
6 reviews
4 hotel reviews
common_n_hotel_reviews_1bd8 3 helpful votes
4 of 5 stars Reviewed May 14, 2012

begins our review of the Brookland Inn. We stay here while visiting our niece who lives in the leafy Brookland neighborhood of DC. If you need a big lobby welcome, constant staff attention, a big view of the White House from the window, and an elevator and/or porter for your luggage, go somewhere else. If you want a clean, spacious place to spread out, precious privacy as you come and go, a VERY comfortable bed (in the 3rd floor 2 bedroom unit), adequate air conditioning, ample toiletries and towels, and the biggest little continental breakfast -- then come to the Brookland. The reservation is a breeze, the check-in is a little quirky, and wireless internet service is not a problem. Breakfast is apple/orange juice, coffee, teas, hot chocolate, sodas, oatmeals, cereal, milk, fruits, and reliable jumbo Costco muffins for all in your party. Your car is safe in the lot on the side of the building or if you are lucky enough to find a spot on the street out front. The Metro is nearby as is the National Shrine of Immaculate Conception. We walked to the church on 12th Street for a baptism on Sunday morning by the Yes Market, CVS, and the BCafe downstairs, which we hear has good food. This is an older apartment type building turned into a B and B with no sign out front. If you want a reasonable, roomy hideaway removed the bustle of downtown, where you can come and go like a native, and are a reasonably self-sufficient traveler/guest, then the Brookland is definitely for you.

  • Stayed May 2012, traveled with family
    • 4 of 5 stars
      Value
    • 3 of 5 stars
      Location
    • 4 of 5 stars
      Sleep Quality
    • 4 of 5 stars
      Rooms
    • 4 of 5 stars
      Cleanliness
    • 3 of 5 stars
      Service
Helpful?
2 Thank CC D
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Tulsa, Oklahoma, United States
1 review
common_n_hotel_reviews_1bd8 1 helpful vote
5 of 5 stars Reviewed April 5, 2012

My stay at the Brookland Inn in DC was a great experience very friendly staff, clean rooms and a nice vegan cafe to suite your taste buds. Extremely comfortable mattress and bedding accesories were clean and relaxing...came into town for buisiness although my stay was just a few days "Brookland Inn" spoiled me with their service.

  • Stayed March 2012, traveled on business
    • 4 of 5 stars
      Value
    • 4 of 5 stars
      Location
    • 5 of 5 stars
      Sleep Quality
    • 5 of 5 stars
      Rooms
    • 5 of 5 stars
      Cleanliness
    • 4 of 5 stars
      Service
Helpful?
1 Thank 340monica340
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Hotels you might also like...
Travelers also viewed these Washington DC hotels
Upper Northwest
Ledroit Park Renaissance Bed And Breakfast
Ledroit Park Renaissance Bed And...
#20 of 37 in Washington DC
4.5 of 5 stars 17 reviews
Cardozo Guest House
#10 of 37 in Washington DC
4.5 of 5 stars 133 reviews
William Lewis House
#19 of 37 in Washington DC
4.0 of 5 stars 102 reviews
Show Prices
Show Prices
Show Prices
Kalorama Guest House
#12 of 37 in Washington DC
5.0 of 5 stars 49 reviews
Diplomatic Management
#20 of 31 in Washington DC
3.0 of 5 stars 4 reviews
Upper Northwest
Hydeaway Bed N Breakfast
Hydeaway Bed N Breakfast
#24 of 37 in Washington DC
4.0 of 5 stars 11 reviews
Show Prices
Show Prices
Show Prices

Been to The Brookland Inn? Share your experiences!

Write a Review Add Photos & Videos

Additional Information about The Brookland Inn

Property: The Brookland Inn
Address: 3742 12th Street NE, Washington DC, DC 20017
Location: United States > District of Columbia > Washington DC
Amenities:
Business Center with Internet Access Free High Speed Internet ( WiFi ) Kitchenette
Hotel Style:
Ranked #36 of 37 B&Bs / Inns in Washington DC
Price Range (Based on Average Rates): $$
Number of rooms: 9
Official Description (provided by the hotel):
The Brookland Inn welcomes business travelers to Washington, DC. We offer business travel related amenities at the inn, making your stay convenient and productive. Our location in uptown Washington, DC makes us a preferred place to stay especially since we are metro accessible.Located 10 minutes (3 stops on metro-rail) from either downtown Silver Spring (Metro) or Union Station (Metro), downtown Washington, DC. ... more   less 
Also Known As:
The Brookland Hotel Washington Dc

Is This Your TripAdvisor Listing?

Own or manage this property? Claim your listing for free to respond to reviews, update your profile and much more.

Claim Your Listing