We noticed that you're using an unsupported browser. The TripAdvisor website may not display properly.We support the following browsers:
Windows: Internet Explorer, Mozilla Firefox, Google Chrome. Mac: Safari.

“Love it!”
Review of Firehook Bakery

Firehook Bakery
Ranked #36 of 57 Bakeries in Washington DC
Neighborhood: Upper Northwest
Restaurant details
Neighborhood: Upper Northwest
Washington DC, District of Columbia
Level 6 Contributor
246 reviews
115 restaurant reviews
common_n_restaurant_reviews_1bd8 96 helpful votes
“Love it!”
Reviewed January 10, 2013

Just glad that instead of a starbucks we have this local coffee shop! Love the coffee, cakes, cookies and all bakery done in premises!

Visited December 2012
Helpful?
Thank Jiev16
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Write a Review

43 reviews from our community

Visitor rating
    13
    15
    11
    1
    3
Rating summary
    Food
    Service
    Value
    Atmosphere
Date | Rating
  • English first
  • French first
  • German first
  • Russian first
  • Spanish first
  • Any
English first
Indianapolis, Indiana
Level 6 Contributor
115 reviews
49 restaurant reviews
common_n_restaurant_reviews_1bd8 73 helpful votes
“Great place for quick lunch”
Reviewed August 13, 2012

I don't drink coffee or eat many sugary sweets, which limits my ability to competently review coffeeshops. However, I love this one. They have good mint tea, when you're in the mood for it. But my favorite thing here is their mushroom and spinach quiche. I love grabbing one for lunch and in good weather, heading back to their beautiful patio terrace with a fountain that not many other people seem to know about. it's like Spain or Santa Cruz back there, with lattice, flowering vines, little nooks for each table, and a lovely fountain. Perfect for relaxing with lunch and a good book, and a wonderfully quiet sanctuary. I come here as often as I can in good weather, since I work just down the street.

  • Visited August 2012
    • Value
    • Atmosphere
    • Service
    • Food
Helpful?
Thank BlueHorizon7
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Washington DC, District of Columbia
Level 6 Contributor
138 reviews
47 restaurant reviews
common_n_restaurant_reviews_1bd8 93 helpful votes
“Outstanding bakery!”
Reviewed May 6, 2012

We've been a fan of Firehook since they opened their first bakery in Old Town Alexandria. Everything, from breads to cookies and dessert bars, is good. A favorite: chocolate espresso chews. The Best!

Visited September 2011
Helpful?
Thank Laura F
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Longmeadow, Massachusetts
Level 5 Contributor
54 reviews
34 restaurant reviews
common_n_restaurant_reviews_1bd8 20 helpful votes
“Quick, good and reasonable.”
Reviewed March 20, 2012

Firehook has a nice selection and is a more "homey" (or un-corporate) coffee-shop.

Visited March 2012
Helpful?
Thank RCEWP56
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Raleigh, North Carolina
Level 5 Contributor
61 reviews
55 restaurant reviews
common_n_restaurant_reviews_1bd8 27 helpful votes
“Not a great bakery just average”
Reviewed March 15, 2012

We had some muffins and an egg and croissant thing. It was just ok for a bakery claiming fame. The items didn't taste bakery fresh more like fresh frozen baked here not made here. The coffee was just ok. I wish it had been a real home made bakery.

Visited March 2012
Helpful?
Thank Playwrightmajic
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.

Travelers who viewed Firehook Bakery also viewed

Washington DC, DC
Washington DC, DC
 
Washington DC, DC
 

Been to Firehook Bakery? Share your experiences!

Write a Review Add Photos & Videos

Owners: What's your side of the story?

Own or manage this property? Claim your listing for free to respond to reviews, update your profile and much more.

Claim Your Listing