We noticed that you're using an unsupported browser. The TripAdvisor website may not display properly.We support the following browsers:
Windows: Internet Explorer, Mozilla Firefox, Google Chrome. Mac: Safari.

“Recommended”

Hank's Oyster Bar Dupont Circle
Ranked #175 of 3,874 Restaurants in Washington DC
Certificate of Excellence
Price range: $20 - $25
Cuisines: Seafood
More restaurant details
Restaurant details
Good for: Business meetings, Local cuisine
Dining options: Dinner, Late Night, Breakfast, Lunch, Reservations
Neighborhood: Dupont Circle
Description: Hank's Oyster Bar
Reviewed May 23, 2019

I stopped by here for lunch this week. It is very informal.

I was pleasantly surprised by the delicious, plump, sweet fried oyster appetizer. The lobster roll was very good. Equally good was the Caesar salad with white anchovies and grilled shrimp. Lip smacking good!

Date of visit: May 2019
    • Value
    • Service
    • Food
Thank TombRaider55
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Write a ReviewReviews (793)
Traveler rating
Traveler type
Time of year
Language

7 - 11 of 793 reviews

Reviewed May 8, 2019

Hank's is the perfect venue for delicious and imaginative seafood. The crab bake was to die for as was the Branzino, a fish I'd never tried before. Washed this all down with a wonderful Rose which was one of the most reasonably priced wines on the menu. The service, ambience, food and wine made it one of those eating experiences you remember forever.

Date of visit: May 2019
    • Value
    • Service
    • Food
Thank Sharmila K
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Reviewed April 30, 2019 via mobile

Everything I ate here was good. Like...EVERY THING. Cool vibe, though small, noisy and a bit cramped. But the food!! Clam chowder was delicious. Shrimp poboy was phenomenal! Loaded with so much shrimp, I actually had to take some off so that I could eat it. The remoulade was great. Even the bun was fantastic—soft and toasted. The fries were amazingly flavorful. Staff were friendly. I’d highly recommend this stop if you’re in the area.

Date of visit: May 2019
Thank fearnatine366
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Reviewed April 28, 2019 via mobile

We found this one on TA and ubered over from Kimpton Rouge Hotel... fabulous peel and eat ship, fresh oysters and fried oysters. Loved the food and staff so much we went back last night. Great fried clams, fresh onion rings and clam chowder. Great menu and neighborhood hangout vibe. They bring a wee bowl of dark chocolate at the end of meal. Kudos to GM Thomas Wainwright for treating us right

Date of visit: April 2019
Thank Ozarklawyer
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Reviewed April 15, 2019

Great fresh food, very friendly service, good advices on their choice of oysters, loud customers though...

Date of visit: April 2019
Thank Lesly P
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.

Travelers who viewed Hank's Oyster Bar Dupont Circle also viewed

 

Been to Hank's Oyster Bar Dupont Circle? Share your experiences!

Write a Review Add Photos & Videos

Owners: What's your side of the story?

Own or manage this property? Claim your listing for free to respond to reviews, update your profile and much more.

Claim Your Listing