We noticed that you're using an unsupported browser. The TripAdvisor website may not display properly.We support the following browsers:
Windows: Internet Explorer, Mozilla Firefox, Google Chrome. Mac: Safari.

“Hank's great neighborhood restaurant”
Review of Hank's Oyster Bar

Hank's Oyster Bar
Reserve with OpenTable
Hank's Oyster Bar is not available for your requested time. Choose another time, or search restaurants with availability.
The time you selected has already passed.
Ranked #72 of 3,229 Restaurants in Washington DC
Certificate of Excellence
Price range: $20 - $25
Cuisines: Seafood
More restaurant details
Restaurant details
Good for: Business meetings, Local cuisine
Dining options: Late Night, Lunch, Dinner, Breakfast, Reservations
Neighborhood: Dupont Circle
Description: Hank's Oyster Bar
Hartford, Connecticut
Level Contributor
11 reviews
4 restaurant reviews
common_n_restaurant_reviews_1bd8 11 helpful votes
“Hank's great neighborhood restaurant”
Reviewed May 24, 2014

Great nightly specials, great food. Small bowl of chocolate for dessert. Reasonably priced, always fun.

  • Visited May 2014
    • Value
    • Atmosphere
    • Service
    • Food
Helpful?
1 Thank SUZ H
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Write a Review

634 reviews from our community

Visitor rating
    292
    245
    70
    16
    11
Rating summary
    Food
    Service
    Value
    Atmosphere
Date | Rating
  • Danish first
  • Dutch first
  • English first
  • French first
  • German first
  • Italian first
  • Japanese first
  • Portuguese first
  • Russian first
  • Spanish first
  • Any
English first
Palos Heights, Illinois
Level Contributor
275 reviews
101 restaurant reviews
common_n_restaurant_reviews_1bd8 356 helpful votes
“Decent food spoiled by surprisingly poor service even when restaurant was not yet full.”
Reviewed May 17, 2014

The restaurant was fairly close DuPont Circle, a short walk east from the Dupont Circle Metro station, so we decided check it out for an early dinner. In stark contrast to the nearly-empty neighbour Hank's was already busy, obviously popular with after-office crowd. The sidewalk patio was full when we arrived that early evening. The bar was also packed on our way in to the main dining room where we were seated indoors by the windows. The waitress took our order promptly and the busboys filled (and refilled) our water glasses quickly. They served "Goldfish" crackers in stead of buns for pre-meal snacks. The rest of the service, however, left much to be desired. Despite taking our order it took several attempts at getting our waitress' attention before we got our wine. Then it took more prompting to get our oysters; we chose those harvested from Virginia and they were fresh and tasty. The service missteps, however, did not end there. My daughter had ordered the Po-boy oyster sandwich. The dish that was delivered was the fried oyster dinner, however. That was rectified, soon enough. Then we found out that the chef had decided that the musssels were not up to her standard and that we would have to choose another dish. While we appreciate her not serving us bad shellfish it seem strange that this decision was made only at 6:45PM. I do not know what the standard operating procedure is in terms of when to inspect the ingredients for a dinner service, but it seemed a little late in the game. We had cioppino and sablefish.

There was no dessert, but the restaurant provided pieces of dark chocolate gratis in stead.

The lousy service spoiled whatever ambiance and cuisine Hank's offered. Based on other reviews it appears our experience may have been an anomaly, but we certainly do not plan to dine at Hank's Oysters again on a future visit to D.C.

  • Visited April 2014
    • Value
    • Atmosphere
    • Service
    • Food
Helpful?
Thank ImmerWandern
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Los Angeles, California
Level Contributor
93 reviews
55 restaurant reviews
common_n_restaurant_reviews_1bd8 36 helpful votes
“Sea Food!”
Reviewed May 16, 2014

We were in DC staying in Dupont Circle for a meeting and looking for a place to have dinner with a colleague from elsewhere across the country. We found Hank's. We had arranged to meet at 6:30 p.m. We arrived at 6:25, but the waitress wouldn't seat us until everyone was there. So we waited another 10 minutes for Mike to arrive. Thus Hank's missed the opportunity to sell a couple of drinks while we waited. Once Mike arrived, we ordered drinks and dinner. The martinis were stingy. We ordered oysters as an appetizer and they were great. We ordered the raw bar as he main course. It was clams, oysters and a lobster. the lobster came without a cracker which was a mistake. We sat outside thank God. the noise from the bar was overwhelming and spilled outside. The waitstaff was attentive and pleasant although I felt like they were trying to move us along.

  • Visited May 2014
    • Value
    • Atmosphere
    • Service
    • Food
Helpful?
Thank Thomas S
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Boston, Massachusetts
Level Contributor
156 reviews
95 restaurant reviews
common_n_restaurant_reviews_1bd8 30 helpful votes
“Great Oyster/Seafood/Fish in Dupont Circle”
Reviewed May 13, 2014

We stayed nearby and walked to the restaurant on a Wednesday night. It was crowded so I sat with my two teens at the oyster bar. We had the raw bar, (half a steamed lobster, little necks, oysters and shrimp) and then my son had a lobster roll and my daughter a chicken special with two sides from the black board menu. I finished up with a salad.
The food was good, a little on the expensive side, but fresh and well prepared. Lots of craft beers available and fun cocktails.
Service was very good, especially given how busy they were and the gratis dark chocolate that came with the check was a nice end to the meal.
My daughter wanted to come back the next night! Maybe we'll check out one of the other locations when we're back in DC. I see they also recently opened for lunch. More options!

  • Visited April 2014
    • Value
    • Atmosphere
    • Service
    • Food
Helpful?
Thank JenMBoston
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Cordele, Georgia
Level Contributor
115 reviews
79 restaurant reviews
common_n_restaurant_reviews_1bd8 58 helpful votes
“Friendly staff! Fun experience!”
Reviewed May 11, 2014

Our party of eight ate here our first night in DC. We went up a flight or two of stairs to a room, basically, of our own. At first it seemed isolated, but turned out to be perfect - our private dining room. Our waitress was knowledgeable and patient with all our questions and order changes. We tried two new kinds of oysters that were delicious. The bbqed oysters were to die for! Panko, hot sauce, butter, and Parmesan - yum! Lemon fried olives, lobster roll (all meat- little filler), shrimp, fried oysters, and more with no complaints and lots of empty plates. Good food. Good service. And a good time. Thumbs up!

  • Visited May 2014
    • Value
    • Atmosphere
    • Service
    • Food
Helpful?
Thank Debbie P
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.

Travelers who viewed Hank's Oyster Bar also viewed

Washington DC, DC
 

Been to Hank's Oyster Bar? Share your experiences!

Write a Review Add Photos & Videos

Owners: What's your side of the story?

Own or manage this property? Claim your listing for free to respond to reviews, update your profile and much more.

Claim Your Listing