We noticed that you're using an unsupported browser. The TripAdvisor website may not display properly.We support the following browsers:
Windows: Internet Explorer, Mozilla Firefox, Google Chrome. Mac: Safari.

“Sea Food!”
Review of Hank's Oyster Bar

Hank's Oyster Bar
Reserve with OpenTable
Hank's Oyster Bar is not available for your requested time. Choose another time, or search restaurants with availability.
The time you selected has already passed.
Ranked #55 of 3,257 Restaurants in Washington DC
Certificate of Excellence
Price range: $20 - $25
Cuisines: Seafood
More restaurant details
Restaurant details
Good for: Local cuisine, Business meetings
Dining options: Breakfast, Late Night, Dinner, Lunch, Reservations
Neighborhood: Dupont Circle
Description: Hank's Oyster Bar
Los Angeles, California
Level 5 Contributor
93 reviews
55 restaurant reviews
common_n_restaurant_reviews_1bd8 36 helpful votes
“Sea Food!”
Reviewed May 16, 2014

We were in DC staying in Dupont Circle for a meeting and looking for a place to have dinner with a colleague from elsewhere across the country. We found Hank's. We had arranged to meet at 6:30 p.m. We arrived at 6:25, but the waitress wouldn't seat us until everyone was there. So we waited another 10 minutes for Mike to arrive. Thus Hank's missed the opportunity to sell a couple of drinks while we waited. Once Mike arrived, we ordered drinks and dinner. The martinis were stingy. We ordered oysters as an appetizer and they were great. We ordered the raw bar as he main course. It was clams, oysters and a lobster. the lobster came without a cracker which was a mistake. We sat outside thank God. the noise from the bar was overwhelming and spilled outside. The waitstaff was attentive and pleasant although I felt like they were trying to move us along.

  • Visited May 2014
    • Value
    • Atmosphere
    • Service
    • Food
Helpful?
Thank Thomas S
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Write a Review

655 reviews from our community

Visitor rating
    303
    252
    72
    17
    11
Rating summary
    Food
    Service
    Value
    Atmosphere
Date | Rating
  • Danish first
  • Dutch first
  • English first
  • French first
  • German first
  • Italian first
  • Japanese first
  • Portuguese first
  • Russian first
  • Spanish first
  • Any
English first
Boston, Massachusetts
Level 6 Contributor
160 reviews
98 restaurant reviews
common_n_restaurant_reviews_1bd8 31 helpful votes
“Great Oyster/Seafood/Fish in Dupont Circle”
Reviewed May 13, 2014

We stayed nearby and walked to the restaurant on a Wednesday night. It was crowded so I sat with my two teens at the oyster bar. We had the raw bar, (half a steamed lobster, little necks, oysters and shrimp) and then my son had a lobster roll and my daughter a chicken special with two sides from the black board menu. I finished up with a salad.
The food was good, a little on the expensive side, but fresh and well prepared. Lots of craft beers available and fun cocktails.
Service was very good, especially given how busy they were and the gratis dark chocolate that came with the check was a nice end to the meal.
My daughter wanted to come back the next night! Maybe we'll check out one of the other locations when we're back in DC. I see they also recently opened for lunch. More options!

  • Visited April 2014
    • Value
    • Atmosphere
    • Service
    • Food
Helpful?
Thank JenMBoston
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Cordele, Georgia
Level 6 Contributor
116 reviews
80 restaurant reviews
common_n_restaurant_reviews_1bd8 60 helpful votes
“Friendly staff! Fun experience!”
Reviewed May 11, 2014

Our party of eight ate here our first night in DC. We went up a flight or two of stairs to a room, basically, of our own. At first it seemed isolated, but turned out to be perfect - our private dining room. Our waitress was knowledgeable and patient with all our questions and order changes. We tried two new kinds of oysters that were delicious. The bbqed oysters were to die for! Panko, hot sauce, butter, and Parmesan - yum! Lemon fried olives, lobster roll (all meat- little filler), shrimp, fried oysters, and more with no complaints and lots of empty plates. Good food. Good service. And a good time. Thumbs up!

  • Visited May 2014
    • Value
    • Atmosphere
    • Service
    • Food
Helpful?
Thank Debbie P
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Fort Myers, Florida
Level 2 Contributor
5 reviews
5 restaurant reviews
“oyster tour”
Reviewed May 10, 2014

As an avid oyster eater and shell collector I was lucky enough to get 3 new oysters to add to my collection (now at 492 different types). The oysters were fresh, the cocktails and draft beer selection extensive and the staff knowledgeable and friendly. WOuld definitely go back (we went to both DC locations).

Visited May 2014
Helpful?
Thank Mattasen1
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Lake City, Florida
Level 5 Contributor
82 reviews
47 restaurant reviews
common_n_restaurant_reviews_1bd8 23 helpful votes
“Hanks for seafood”
Reviewed May 8, 2014

This small restaurant with dining indoors and outdoors on Q Street and 15th near Dupont Circle was worth the 20 minute walk from our hotel. The sea scallops were excellent. For dessert they serve a cup of dark chocolate pieces.

Visited May 2014
Helpful?
Thank NorthFlorida
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.

Travelers who viewed Hank's Oyster Bar also viewed

 

Been to Hank's Oyster Bar? Share your experiences!

Write a Review Add Photos & Videos

Owners: What's your side of the story?

Own or manage this property? Claim your listing for free to respond to reviews, update your profile and much more.

Claim Your Listing