We noticed that you're using an unsupported browser. The TripAdvisor website may not display properly.
We support the following browsers:
Windows: Internet Explorer, Mozilla Firefox, Google Chrome. Mac: Safari.

“Happy Hour”
Review of Hank's Oyster Bar

Hank's Oyster Bar
Reserve with OpenTable
Hank's Oyster Bar is not available for your requested time. Choose another time, or search restaurants with availability.
The time you selected has already passed.
Ranked #61 of 3,213 Restaurants in Washington DC
Certificate of Excellence
Price range: $20 - $25
Cuisines: American, Bar, Seafood, Soups
More restaurant details
Restaurant details
Good for: Local cuisine, Special occasions, Bar scene
Dining options: Late Night, Lunch, Dinner, Brunch, Full Bar, Outdoor Seating, Reservations, Seating, Serves Alcohol, Waitstaff, Wheelchair Accessible
Neighborhood: Dupont Circle
Description: Hank's Oyster Bar
Frederick, Maryland
Level Contributor
189 reviews
98 restaurant reviews
common_n_restaurant_reviews_1bd8 74 helpful votes
“Happy Hour”
Reviewed April 15, 2014

The place was packed at the bar- never saw the restaurant- we were lucky to find two seats together, not a lot of standing room. Obvious mix of regulars and vacationers; bartenders equally attentive to all. We just had drinks but it was a welcoming environment with some good microbrews to choose from.

Visited April 2014
Helpful?
Thank urbanagrl
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Write a Review

620 reviews from our community

Visitor rating
    286
    242
    66
    15
    11
Rating summary
    Food
    Service
    Value
    Atmosphere
Date | Rating
  • Danish first
  • Dutch first
  • English first
  • French first
  • German first
  • Italian first
  • Japanese first
  • Portuguese first
  • Russian first
  • Spanish first
  • Any
English first
Milwaukee, Wisconsin
Level Contributor
22 reviews
7 restaurant reviews
common_n_restaurant_reviews_1bd8 10 helpful votes
“Great neighborhood find”
Reviewed April 11, 2014

We stumbled on this spot and had a great table outside under a heat lamp. Great food! Three of us had the oyster po' boy and thought it was excellent. The roasted broccoli made my non-broccoli eating son a fan!

Visited April 2014
Helpful?
1 Thank Rebecca S
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Antonito, Colorado
2 reviews
common_n_restaurant_reviews_1bd8 4 helpful votes
“Amazing”
Reviewed March 15, 2014 via mobile

I went to Hanks after searching trip advisor for good seafood restaurants in D.C. I went alone as my business partner had a night out with a relative. I was sat near the bar and had an excellent waiter. Not knowing how big the ceviche appetizer was, I ordered it on top of the spectacular oysters on the half shell. It was the perfect blend of spices and lime. I haven't had ceviche before with calamari but this one has a great pairing with shrimp and a white fish. Yummy! The oyster Po Boy sandwich was recommended which was even better than I've had in Louisiana. I highly encourage you to try Hanks Oyster Bar your taste buds will be pleasantly surprised.

Visited February 2014
Helpful?
1 Thank Constance R
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Chesterfield, Michigan
Level Contributor
154 reviews
94 restaurant reviews
common_n_restaurant_reviews_1bd8 57 helpful votes
“Pretty good”
Reviewed March 10, 2014 via mobile

A little difficult to find but food was delicious. I had snapper and my husband had the rockfish. It was delicious but very expensive.

Helpful?
Thank 744daniellec
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Bethesda, Maryland
Level Contributor
26 reviews
18 restaurant reviews
common_n_restaurant_reviews_1bd8 9 helpful votes
“Excellent brunch spot”
Reviewed March 3, 2014

We stopped in at Hank's for brunch one quiet Sunday afternoon. We liked both the location on a pretty street in Dupont, and the bright, lively space. Our server was attentive, friendly, and familiar with the menu. My husband gave a thumbs-up to the Bloody Mary. Both of our dishes were also excellent. My fish sandwich tasted fresh and well-seasoned, while the mussels my husband ordered were delectable. A great experience. We will return!

  • Visited January 2014
    • Value
    • Atmosphere
    • Service
    • Food
Helpful?
Thank Krista F
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.

Travelers who viewed Hank's Oyster Bar also viewed

 

Been to Hank's Oyster Bar? Share your experiences!

Write a Review Add Photos & Videos

Owners: What's your side of the story?

Own or manage this property? Claim your listing for free to respond to reviews, update your profile and much more.

Claim Your Listing