We noticed that you're using an unsupported browser. The TripAdvisor website may not display properly.
We support the following browsers:
Windows: Internet Explorer, Mozilla Firefox, Google Chrome. Mac: Safari.
The latest reviews. The lowest prices. The perfect place to shop for hotels.

“Amazing” 5 of 5 bubbles
Review of Hank's Oyster Bar

Hank's Oyster Bar
Reserve with OpenTable
Hank's Oyster Bar is not available for your requested time. Choose another time, or search restaurants with availability.
The time you selected has already passed.
Ranked #46 of 3,189 Restaurants in Washington DC
Certificate of Excellence
Price range: $20 - $25
Cuisines: American, Bar, Seafood, Soups
More restaurant details
Restaurant details
Good for: Special occasions, Local cuisine, Bar scene
Dining options: Brunch, Late Night, Dinner, Lunch, Full Bar, Outdoor Seating, Reservations, Seating, Serves Alcohol, Waitstaff, Wheelchair Accessible
Neighborhood: Dupont Circle
Antonito, Colorado
1 review
common_n_restaurant_reviews_1bd8 1 helpful vote
“Amazing”
5 of 5 bubbles Reviewed March 15, 2014 via mobile

I went to Hanks after searching trip advisor for good seafood restaurants in D.C. I went alone as my business partner had a night out with a relative. I was sat near the bar and had an excellent waiter. Not knowing how big the ceviche appetizer was, I ordered it on top of the spectacular oysters on the half shell. It was the perfect blend of spices and lime. I haven't had ceviche before with calamari but this one has a great pairing with shrimp and a white fish. Yummy! The oyster Po Boy sandwich was recommended which was even better than I've had in Louisiana. I highly encourage you to try Hanks Oyster Bar your taste buds will be pleasantly surprised.

Visited February 2014
Helpful?
1 Thank Constance R
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Write a Review

602 reviews from our community

Visitor rating
    278
    237
    62
    15
    10
Rating summary
    Food
    Service
    Value
    Atmosphere
Date | Rating
  • Danish first
  • Dutch first
  • English first
  • French first
  • German first
  • Italian first
  • Japanese first
  • Portuguese first
  • Russian first
  • Spanish first
  • Any
English first
Chesterfield, Michigan
Level Contributor
150 reviews
90 restaurant reviews
common_n_restaurant_reviews_1bd8 56 helpful votes
“Pretty good”
4 of 5 bubbles Reviewed March 10, 2014 via mobile

A little difficult to find but food was delicious. I had snapper and my husband had the rockfish. It was delicious but very expensive.

Helpful?
Thank Danielle C
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Bethesda, Maryland
Level Contributor
26 reviews
18 restaurant reviews
common_n_restaurant_reviews_1bd8 9 helpful votes
“Excellent brunch spot”
5 of 5 bubbles Reviewed March 3, 2014

We stopped in at Hank's for brunch one quiet Sunday afternoon. We liked both the location on a pretty street in Dupont, and the bright, lively space. Our server was attentive, friendly, and familiar with the menu. My husband gave a thumbs-up to the Bloody Mary. Both of our dishes were also excellent. My fish sandwich tasted fresh and well-seasoned, while the mussels my husband ordered were delectable. A great experience. We will return!

  • Visited January 2014
    • 4 of 5 bubbles
      Value
    • 4 of 5 bubbles
      Atmosphere
    • 5 of 5 bubbles
      Service
    • 5 of 5 bubbles
      Food
Helpful?
Thank Krista F
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
High Wycombe, United Kingdom
Level Contributor
81 reviews
48 restaurant reviews
common_n_restaurant_reviews_1bd8 38 helpful votes
“Oysters to die for!”
5 of 5 bubbles Reviewed March 1, 2014 via mobile

Excellent service, excellent oysters - does what it says on the tin...... My husband (not an oyster fan) thoroughly enjoyed the popcorn calamari and ceviche

Visited March 2014
Helpful?
Thank Susand70
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Denver, Colorado
Level Contributor
118 reviews
51 restaurant reviews
common_n_restaurant_reviews_1bd8 54 helpful votes
“Perfect Weekend Lunch/Brunch”
5 of 5 bubbles Reviewed February 26, 2014

Fantastic oysters and incredible lobster rolls. The outdoor seating area was quaint and had heat lamps. I loved the extras - goldfish prior to service and delicious dark chocolate after service. The oysters were fresh and fantastic and the old bay fries were pretty darn tasty, too.

Visited February 2014
Helpful?
Thank caitlin108
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.

Travelers who viewed Hank's Oyster Bar also viewed

 
Washington DC, DC
 

Been to Hank's Oyster Bar? Share your experiences!

Write a Review Add Photos & Videos

Owners: What's your side of the story?

Own or manage this property? Claim your listing for free to respond to reviews, update your profile and much more.

Claim Your Listing