We noticed that you're using an unsupported browser. The TripAdvisor website may not display properly.We support the following browsers:
Windows: Internet Explorer, Mozilla Firefox, Google Chrome. Mac: Safari.

“Delicious and lively, but pricey”
Review of Hank's Oyster Bar

Hank's Oyster Bar
Reserve with OpenTable
Hank's Oyster Bar is not available for your requested time. Choose another time, or search restaurants with availability.
The time you selected has already passed.
Ranked #55 of 3,257 Restaurants in Washington DC
Certificate of Excellence
Price range: $20 - $25
Cuisines: Seafood
More restaurant details
Restaurant details
Good for: Local cuisine, Business meetings
Dining options: Dinner, Late Night, Breakfast, Lunch, Reservations
Neighborhood: Dupont Circle
Description: Hank's Oyster Bar
Texas
Level 6 Contributor
118 reviews
76 restaurant reviews
common_n_restaurant_reviews_1bd8 48 helpful votes
“Delicious and lively, but pricey”
Reviewed December 4, 2013

The good: Friendly, prompt, knowledgeable service even late Saturday night. Excellent oyster selection. Fun atmosphere (although we were seated by the restrooms). Exceptional market fish special. The Megan's Punch was out of this world (and ran out when I asked for a refill!)

The bad: Very expensive cocktails and beer. Slightly expensive seafood, although it was very high quality...plus you purchase sides separately.

Like many, we were a bit stunned by the bill but overall enjoyed the experience!

  • Visited November 2013
    • Value
    • Atmosphere
    • Service
    • Food
Helpful?
Thank GOYAYTravel
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Write a Review

655 reviews from our community

Visitor rating
    303
    252
    72
    17
    11
Rating summary
    Food
    Service
    Value
    Atmosphere
Date | Rating
  • Danish first
  • Dutch first
  • English first
  • French first
  • German first
  • Italian first
  • Japanese first
  • Portuguese first
  • Russian first
  • Spanish first
  • Any
English first
Arizona
Level 5 Contributor
50 reviews
34 restaurant reviews
common_n_restaurant_reviews_1bd8 39 helpful votes
“Nothing special”
Reviewed November 18, 2013

Expensive ,and nothing special. Would have like to have a whole fish and not just a fillet.
The DuPont Hotel is far better.

  • Visited November 2013
    • Value
    • Atmosphere
    • Service
    • Food
Helpful?
1 Thank spoon2013
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Washington DC, District of Columbia
Level 6 Contributor
110 reviews
63 restaurant reviews
common_n_restaurant_reviews_1bd8 97 helpful votes
“Would be four-star if not so expensive”
Reviewed November 15, 2013

Like many Washington restaurants, Hank's features good food at prices that are 20% too expensive. I love the oyster po boy, and I also love brunch here, but whenever I get the check, I'm a little surprised.

Visited September 2013
Helpful?
Thank AmherstBird
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Level 5 Contributor
73 reviews
51 restaurant reviews
common_n_restaurant_reviews_1bd8 17 helpful votes
“Lively and perky place for dinner”
Reviewed November 14, 2013 via mobile

Great place. Great oysters and pretty much great menu overall. There are a lot of weird mixes of food, but are worth the try. Also I had some apperol cocktails that were a contest between the three barmen. And they were great. You have to go. Very cozy quite but nice.

Helpful?
Thank Yikesx
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Merced
Level 4 Contributor
47 reviews
35 restaurant reviews
common_n_restaurant_reviews_1bd8 18 helpful votes
“Fabulous place!”
Reviewed November 6, 2013 via mobile

Popped in and was pleasantly surprised. Very trendy and swanky little place full of locals. Delicious oysters and great service. Definitely stop in if you are in the area. Well worth it!

Helpful?
Thank MrsAmis05
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.

Travelers who viewed Hank's Oyster Bar also viewed

 

Been to Hank's Oyster Bar? Share your experiences!

Write a Review Add Photos & Videos

Owners: What's your side of the story?

Own or manage this property? Claim your listing for free to respond to reviews, update your profile and much more.

Claim Your Listing