We noticed that you're using an unsupported browser. The TripAdvisor website may not display properly.
We support the following browsers:
Windows: Internet Explorer, Mozilla Firefox, Google Chrome. Mac: Safari.
The latest reviews. The lowest prices. The perfect place to shop for hotels.

“There Should Be A Rating Above Excellent” 5 of 5 bubbles
Review of Embassy Circle Guest House

Best prices for -
Check In mm/dd/yyyy Check Out mm/dd/yyyy
Prices are for 1 room, 2 adults
Show Prices
Compare best prices from top travel sites
and 3 more sites!
Embassy Circle Guest House
Ranked #2 of 37 Washington DC B&B and Inns
Certificate of Excellence
portland, or
Level Contributor
21 reviews
14 hotel reviews
common_n_hotel_reviews_1bd8 23 helpful votes
“There Should Be A Rating Above Excellent”
5 of 5 bubbles Reviewed April 27, 2014

My wife and I have stayed in wonderful bed and breakfasts and in wonderful hotels worldwide. I would be hard pressed to imagine any could be better than this place. I would say that for two reasons: One is the facility and and service, this guest house would rate as the very best one could find anywhere. The second is the warmth and intellectual humanity of the owners. Laura and Raymond share a world view second to none. And they instill, through conversation and getting everyone to know each other, a dimension that rarely exists in travel.
Their guests are from everywhere and are young and old, but when you leave the first thought is, "God I am going to miss mornings with Laura and Raymond and everybody we met." Embassy Circle Guest House is more than a place to lay your head, it is an experience like no other.

Room Tip: There are no bad rooms, period.
See more room tips
  • Stayed April 2014, traveled with family
    • 5 of 5 bubbles
      Value
    • 5 of 5 bubbles
      Location
    • 5 of 5 bubbles
      Sleep Quality
    • 5 of 5 bubbles
      Rooms
    • 5 of 5 bubbles
      Cleanliness
    • 5 of 5 bubbles
      Service
Helpful?
4 Thank doctormm
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Write a Review

676 reviews from our community

Traveler rating
    646
    20
    7
    1
    2
See reviews for
69
393
61
122
Rating summary
  • Location
    5 of 5 bubbles
  • Sleep Quality
    5 of 5 bubbles
  • Rooms
    5 of 5 bubbles
  • Service
    5 of 5 bubbles
  • Value
    5 of 5 bubbles
  • Cleanliness
    5 of 5 bubbles
Traveler tips help you choose the right room.   Room tips (102)
Date | Rating
  • Danish first
  • Dutch first
  • English first
  • French first
  • German first
  • Italian first
  • Japanese first
  • Portuguese first
  • Spanish first
  • Any
English first
Boston, Massachusetts
Level Contributor
10 reviews
6 hotel reviews
common_n_hotel_reviews_1bd8 4 helpful votes
5 of 5 bubbles Reviewed April 27, 2014 via mobile

I decided to treat myself while on holiday with my daughter this spring. Embassy Circle far exceeded my expectations! It's incredibly beautiful, spotless and you could not ask for better hosts.Raymond, Laura and team are knowledgeable , helpful and "just plain nice". They are also interesting and add flavor to your stay with great stories and inside scoop on the area. The wine receptions in the evening were enjoyable and gave me an opportunity to talk with interesting people from all over the world. Breakfast is less ample than at other B&B's we have stayed at but nonetheless very good (great coffee-which is a must for me). A couple of afternoons we just lounged and read in the luxurious and comfortable living room. So relaxing! Embassy Circle is quite convenient to the Metro and is in easy walking distance to restaurants and shops. I highly recommend Embassy Circle-I feel like I made two new friends in addition to having an unblemished stay in a wonderful city.

Stayed April 2014, traveled with family
Helpful?
2 Thank Jackie640
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Afton, Minnesota
2 reviews
common_n_hotel_reviews_1bd8 3 helpful votes
5 of 5 bubbles Reviewed April 23, 2014

We stayed at Embassy Circle Guest House with another couple four nights in Early April. Because of the many positive reviews published here on TripAdvisor, we were expecting a pleasant stay. But "pleasant" is totally inadequate to describe our experience. Faultless, sublime, and incomparable come to mind, though nothing quite captures the unique experience of calling this house our home for a few days. We can start with our spacious, quiet, beautifully-decorated and well-equipped room. Then add the gracious living and dining rooms where we enjoyed lovely breakfasts and afternoon wine gatherings and conversation with Laura, Raymond and friendly, interesting guests. Not to be missed are Betty and Irina, the friendly, personable, knowledgeable and helpful staff. And the serene, quiet, upscale neighborhood makes for a restful place to come home to, while still providing easy, walking access to top-notch restaurants and the Metro. Be sure to ask Laura to prepare her wonderful recipe for scrambled eggs and encourage Raymond to relate his many and interesting stories about the house and his journey in life. We will never visit D,C. without staying here, nor will our friends if we have our way.

Room Tip: Our room was at the front on the second floor. Very private and quiet. Noise was not an issue, eve...
See more room tips
  • Stayed April 2014, traveled with friends
    • 5 of 5 bubbles
      Value
    • 5 of 5 bubbles
      Location
    • 5 of 5 bubbles
      Sleep Quality
    • 5 of 5 bubbles
      Rooms
    • 5 of 5 bubbles
      Cleanliness
    • 5 of 5 bubbles
      Service
Helpful?
2 Thank Denis S
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Level Contributor
12 reviews
6 hotel reviews
common_n_hotel_reviews_1bd8 5 helpful votes
5 of 5 bubbles Reviewed April 22, 2014 via mobile

Clean, very quiet & elegant neighborhood . What you get by staying here is unmatched hospitality. At the end of the day they greet you by your first names. Very good breakfast , early evening wine & snack shared with interesting & polite travelers . Stay there, you will like it.

  • Stayed April 2014
    • 4 of 5 bubbles
      Value
    • 5 of 5 bubbles
      Location
    • 5 of 5 bubbles
      Rooms
    • 5 of 5 bubbles
      Cleanliness
    • 5 of 5 bubbles
      Service
Helpful?
1 Thank Motorcr
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Chittenden, Vermont
Level Contributor
3 reviews
common_n_hotel_reviews_1bd8 5 helpful votes
5 of 5 bubbles Reviewed April 21, 2014

We keep on returning to this beautiful and welcoming B&B! We love the well appointed rooms free of television, the fresh breakfasts with interesting travelers from afar, and the wonderfully personal service. It is everything we want in a travel stay. Thank you, Laura and Raymond, for making it so special. Already looking for the next excuse to return...

  • Stayed April 2014, traveled with family
    • 4 of 5 bubbles
      Value
    • 4 of 5 bubbles
      Location
    • 5 of 5 bubbles
      Sleep Quality
    • 5 of 5 bubbles
      Rooms
    • 5 of 5 bubbles
      Cleanliness
    • 5 of 5 bubbles
      Service
Helpful?
2 Thank Anne G
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
broomall
Level Contributor
5 reviews
3 hotel reviews
common_n_hotel_reviews_1bd8 1 helpful vote
5 of 5 bubbles Reviewed April 15, 2014

Staying at the Embassy Circle Guest House was Spring Break and Beyond! Our room was elegant yet comfortable and Laura and Raymond were the perfect hosts. We especially enjoyed chatting with them as well as the other friendly guests at breakfast and wine/beer hour(s). We are in awe of the property and all that Laura and Raymond must have gone through to renovate and now upkeep such a gem with all of its original beauty. We would highly recommend a visit to Embassy Circle and we cannot wait to return.

  • Stayed April 2014, traveled as a couple
    • 4 of 5 bubbles
      Value
    • 5 of 5 bubbles
      Location
    • 5 of 5 bubbles
      Sleep Quality
    • 5 of 5 bubbles
      Rooms
    • 5 of 5 bubbles
      Cleanliness
    • 5 of 5 bubbles
      Service
Helpful?
1 Thank munchkinbroomall
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Long Beach
Level Contributor
200 reviews
73 hotel reviews
common_n_hotel_reviews_1bd8 192 helpful votes
5 of 5 bubbles Reviewed April 15, 2014

My husband and I just returned from a 7 nite stay at the Embassy Guest House and I must say, it was one of the best experiences we have had in a hotel. We travel quite a bit and have stayed in all types of places...this one was perfect in every way. I was initially hesitant to stay at a B&B without a TV for 7 nites as some B&B's are a bit "dusty" with tiny bathrooms, few amenities and often don't really look like the pictures. The Embassy was exactly like the pictures on the website. We stayed in the first floor room in the front to the House. There was never any street noise. The room was large as was the bathroom with plenty of counter space, excellent bath products and linens...bathrobes included! The story of the remodeling of the place is really fun to hear and the innkeepers have truly put their hearts into a fabulous place. We arrived at about 7pm from the airport, rang the bell and were greeted by name by the innkeeper and staff as well as all the guests having wine and snacks in the living room. If you like meeting different people and sharing your days activities and "finds" in DC, this end of the day wind down can't be beat. The Innkeepers make it a point to introduce everyone and they do the same at breakfast. The staff was there for any need and every nite made us dinner reservation for the times we wanted. We were very lucky to have Raymond make his Lebanese appetizers on our last nite for everyone to enjoy. It was so good, we didn't even go out for dinner! Raymond and Laura, the innkeepers were so warm and friendly to everyone that by the second day we were referring to the Embassy House as home. I highly recommend staying and feel sure we will do so again on another visit to DC.

  • Stayed April 2014, traveled as a couple
    • 5 of 5 bubbles
      Value
    • 5 of 5 bubbles
      Location
    • 5 of 5 bubbles
      Sleep Quality
    • 5 of 5 bubbles
      Rooms
    • 5 of 5 bubbles
      Cleanliness
    • 5 of 5 bubbles
      Service
Helpful?
1 Thank ConnieLongBeach
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Hotels you might also like...
Travelers also viewed these Washington DC hotels
Dupont Circle
The Hay-Adams
The Hay-Adams
#2 of 140 in Washington DC
4.5 of 5 bubbles 1,155 reviews
Dupont Circle
The Jefferson, Washington DC
The Jefferson, Washington DC
#4 of 140 in Washington DC
5.0 of 5 bubbles 1,052 reviews
Georgetown
Four Seasons Hotel Washington, DC
Show Prices
Show Prices
Show Prices
Dupont Circle
The Dupont Circle
The Dupont Circle
#34 of 140 in Washington DC
4.5 of 5 bubbles 2,847 reviews
Avenue Suites Georgetown
#9 of 140 in Washington DC
4.5 of 5 bubbles 1,383 reviews
Foggy Bottom - GWU - West End
Hyatt Place Washington DC/Georgetown/West End
Show Prices
Show Prices
Show Prices

Been to Embassy Circle Guest House? Share your experiences!

Write a Review Add Photos & Videos

Additional Information about Embassy Circle Guest House

Property: Embassy Circle Guest House
Address: 2224 R St NW, Washington DC, DC 20008-4035
Phone Number:
Location: United States > District of Columbia > Washington DC > Dupont Circle
Amenities:
Free Breakfast Free High Speed Internet ( WiFi )
Hotel Style:
Ranked #2 of 37 B&Bs / Inns in Washington DC
Price Range (Based on Average Rates): $$$
Hotel Class:3.5 star — Embassy Circle Guest House 3.5*
Number of rooms: 11
Official Description (provided by the hotel):
Visit our historic and elegant Washington DC bed and breakfast, steps to the metro, shops & dining in Dupont Circle. Enjoy complimentary breakfast, afternoon wine & snacks, parking & internet access at our Dupont Circle inn. Our Washington DC B&B is centrally located with easy access to the famed monuments and sights of our Nation's Capital. If you are looking for the perfect bed and breakfast in DC, look no further than Embassy Circle, a Select Registry Property. ... more   less 
Reservation Options:
TripAdvisor is proud to partner with Expedia, Booking.com, Agoda and Hotels.com so you can book your Embassy Circle Guest House reservations with confidence. We help millions of travelers each month to find the perfect hotel for both vacation and business trips, always with the best discounts and special offers.
Also Known As:
Embassy Circle Guest House Hotel Washington Dc

Is This Your TripAdvisor Listing?

Own or manage this property? Claim your listing for free to respond to reviews, update your profile and much more.

Claim Your Listing