We noticed that you're using an unsupported browser. The TripAdvisor website may not display properly.We support the following browsers:
Windows: Internet Explorer, Mozilla Firefox, Google Chrome. Mac: Safari.

“Absolutely wonderful experience”

Best prices for -
Check In mm/dd/yyyy Check Out mm/dd/yyyy
Prices are for 1 room, 2 adults
Show Prices
Compare best prices from top travel sites
and 7 more sites!
Embassy Circle Guest House
Ranked #2 of 36 Washington DC B&B and Inns
Certificate of Excellence
Reviewed June 11, 2013

We stayed 7 nights at this beautiful, convenient location in Dupont Circle. Laura and Raymond were wonderful hosts and we felt like we were staying with good friends. The accommodations were very nice and the bed was one of the most comfortable mattresses that we have ever slept on!! We were treated to a special delight on one of the evenings when Raymond prepared an array of dishes for the guests to snack on during the evening wine hour. Our stay in Washington D.C. was definitely more memorable by staying at this top notch guesthouse.

  • Stayed: July 2012, traveled as a couple
    • Value
    • Location
    • Sleep Quality
    • Rooms
    • Cleanliness
    • Service
Thank JenLynn5
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Write a Review
Reviews (699)
There are newer reviews for Embassy Circle Guest House
See the most recent reviews
Traveler rating
Traveler type
Time of year
Language

263 - 269 of 699 reviews

Reviewed June 9, 2013

We couldn't of chosen a more luxurious and friendly accomodation in DC. From the minute we booked our room, we were treated with warmth and friendship. Laura (the host) and her team couldn't be more helpful and engaging. We especially enjoyed meeting the other guests over wine in the early evenings which was hosted by Laura. No one was a stranger for long. You can't get that experience from a large hotel. The breakfast buffet was spectaular and different every morning. The fruit salad was amazing! We thoroughly enjoyed DC and getting around was so easy. If any of the other guests read this review that were there June 5-8, Paul and Maureen say hello from Toronto, Canada.

Room Tip: I don't think there is a room. If you can't take the stairs then the first floor is the one...
  • Stayed: June 2013, traveled as a couple
    • Value
    • Location
    • Sleep Quality
    • Rooms
    • Cleanliness
    • Service
Thank moemoe13
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Reviewed June 5, 2013

This is a fantastic place to stay in luxurious comfort where from the second you arrive you feel like you are being welcomed as a long lost friend. We have just returned from a three night stay here and honestly could have stayed a lot longer.

Location
The location is fantastic, on a very quiet street surrounded by embassies. A very short walk to Dupont Circle where there is a Metro and an abundance of restaurants. If pre booked they will arrange parking of your car for you during your time at the Guest House which takes all the worry out of where to leave it.

The Accommodation
The individually designed rooms are sumptuous and comfortable and the bathrooms luxurious, with the touch of thick fluffy white towels, just divine. The beds are unbelievably comfortable, you will sleep well here!

The Hosts
As I said you are treated like long lost friends. Join Raymond, Laura and other guests for wine and nibbles in the early evening swapping tails of the day and restaurant choices. Go with Laura’s recommendations for restaurants they won’t fail to disappoint!

The Breakfast
You will be set up for the day by these. There is a delicious buffet as well as something different cooked fresh every morning. The coffee is divine with two blends to choose from including their own Embassy Row blend.

This place has everything you need to make for a fantastic visit to Washington D.C I can’t recommend it highly enough.

  • Stayed: May 2013, traveled as a couple
    • Value
    • Location
    • Sleep Quality
    • Rooms
    • Cleanliness
    • Service
Thank Astro07
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Reviewed June 3, 2013

We decided to stay in a guesthouse during a short stay in Washington DC, not just for the convenience but also as an opportunity to meet and interact with other travellers. This turned out to be the ideal place.

Laura, Raymond and Angela could not have been more welcoming. Accommodation was very comfortable, recommendations about what to see and where to eat were spot on and conversations over breakfast and evening drinks always interesting and fun. Breakfasts were delicious! We met and shared stories about our travels with some wonderful people.

The guesthouse is close to both transport and to some very good restaurants and all the necessary shops, pharmacies etc. All the major attractions are easily accessible via the Dupont Circle metro station (about 10 mins walk away).

Room Tip: The Phillips Collection is only about a block away. It's a private art gallery with some great p...
  • Stayed: March 2013, traveled with friends
    • Value
    • Location
    • Sleep Quality
    • Rooms
    • Cleanliness
    • Service
Thank Eldershaw64
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Reviewed June 1, 2013

If you want to rest in total comfort in a beautiful yet lively part of this wonderfully interesting town the place to go is this GREAT, yes GREAT! Bed and Breakfast. In a very spacious mansion 3 short, tree shaded blocks from the Dupont Circle restaurant scene you will find 11 beautiful suites where every need has been thought of. There is no need to list all the amenities or describe the gracious and stimulating hospitality of Laura and Raymond and their team...just consider it DONE!
Enjoy the art, read a book, eat drink and be merry, let Laura be your guide. Walk an honest "5 to 7 minutes" to the metro and all of the Mall museums, stroll thru the Sunday Farmers market (as good as our Portland, Oregon one...well almost anyway), or go 2 blocks and a bit to arguably the finest single collection of Impressionist and Post Impressionist art in America, the Phillips collection. We felt as comfortable and close to what makes life worth living here as in any of the finest hotels in Paris, London, Rome, or San Francisco.

Room Tip: all the rooms have very representative photos on the web site..choose the color that suites your fan...
  • Stayed: May 2013, traveled as a couple
    • Value
    • Location
    • Sleep Quality
    • Rooms
    • Cleanliness
    • Service
Thank gerrythetravelhund
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Reviewed May 27, 2013

Chose this place through tripadvisor and it was so the right thing to do. The location was perfect - a shortish walk from the Metro and also from good shops and a selection of great restaurants. Run by a wonderful couple of Washington people The Embassy is well worth the price and we were treated royally. Nothing too much trouble for them. Their calm welcome that managed to be warm, efficient and by offering tea warmed our hearts right at the get-go. Good information in our room about local restaurants etc and excellent advice on travelling about. Also some tickets for tours and some entrance fees cheaper when bought via Embassy Circle. Great way to meet other travellers at the evening 'wine time' - fabulous place to stay. Attention to detail in the rooms and bathrooms really excellent. Thank you Laura and Raymond and all your helpers. Free Wifi if you are travelling with smart technology.

Room Tip: Read the web site - all the information is there and the rooms and their place in the house is clea...
  • Stayed: May 2013, traveled as a couple
    • Value
    • Location
    • Sleep Quality
    • Rooms
    • Cleanliness
    • Service
Thank westcountrypro
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Reviewed May 26, 2013

This visit was our first to Embassy Circle, and we will definitely return. Located near Dupont Circle, this bed and breakfast is in walking distance to great restaurants and DC sites. Laura and Raymond have beautifully restored an old embassy to a classy and comfortable inn. Our room was clean and tastefully decorated. We absolutely loved Laura and Raymond’s hospitality. From the minute we walked through the front door to our departure, Laura, Raymond and the staff welcomed us, provided tips for our visit, and recommended outstanding restaurants (Nora & Mourayo). The late afternoon wine happy hour was a wonderful way to mingle with guests and to chat with the owners. We missed the appetizers, but Laura has promised to make them during our next visit. The personal attention and engaging conversations truly made our experience at the Embassy Circle Guest House a treat!

  • Stayed: April 2013, traveled as a couple
    • Value
    • Location
    • Sleep Quality
    • Rooms
    • Cleanliness
    • Service
Thank Liz G
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Hotels you might also like...
Travelers also viewed these Washington DC hotels
Foggy Bottom - GWU - West End
Hotel Hive
Hotel Hive
#3 of 141 in Washington DC
434 reviews
Dupont Circle
The Jefferson, Washington DC
The Jefferson, Washington DC
#4 of 141 in Washington DC
1,127 reviews
Dupont Circle
The Hay-Adams
The Hay-Adams
#2 of 141 in Washington DC
1,288 reviews
Show Prices
Show Prices
Show Prices
Dupont Circle
The Dupont Circle
The Dupont Circle
#25 of 141 in Washington DC
3,190 reviews
Georgetown
Four Seasons Hotel Washington, DC
Georgetown
The Avery Georgetown
The Avery Georgetown
#6 of 141 in Washington DC
237 reviews
Show Prices
Show Prices
Show Prices

Been to Embassy Circle Guest House? Share your experiences!

Write a Review Add Photos & Videos

Additional Information about Embassy Circle Guest House

Address: 2224 R St NW, Washington DC, DC 20008-4035
Phone Number:
Location: United States > District of Columbia > Washington DC > Dupont Circle
Amenities:
Free Breakfast Free High Speed Internet ( WiFi )
Hotel Style:
Ranked #2 of 36 B&Bs / Inns in Washington DC
Price Range: $256 - $432 (Based on Average Rates for a Standard Room)
Hotel Class:3.5 star — Embassy Circle Guest House 3.5*
Number of rooms: 11
Official Description (provided by the hotel):
Visit our historic and elegant Washington DC bed and breakfast, steps to the metro, shops & dining in Dupont Circle. Enjoy complimentary breakfast, afternoon wine & snacks, parking & internet access at our Dupont Circle inn. Our Washington DC B&B is centrally located with easy access to the famed monuments and sights of our Nation's Capital. If you are looking for the perfect bed and breakfast in DC, look no further than Embassy Circle, a Select Registry Property. ... more   less 
Reservation Options:
TripAdvisor is proud to partner with Travelocity, Expedia, Orbitz, Booking.com, Priceline, Hotwire, Agoda and Hotels.com so you can book your Embassy Circle Guest House reservations with confidence. We help millions of travelers each month to find the perfect hotel for both vacation and business trips, always with the best discounts and special offers.
Also Known As:
Embassy Circle Guest House Hotel Washington Dc

Is This Your TripAdvisor Listing?

Own or manage this property? Claim your listing for free to respond to reviews, update your profile and much more.

Claim Your Listing