We noticed that you're using an unsupported browser. The TripAdvisor website may not display properly.
We support the following browsers:
Windows: Internet Explorer, Mozilla Firefox, Google Chrome. Mac: Safari.
The latest reviews. The lowest prices. The perfect place to shop for hotels.

“Absolutely Wonderful!” 5 of 5 bubbles
Review of Embassy Circle Guest House

Best prices for -
Check In mm/dd/yyyy Check Out mm/dd/yyyy
Prices are for 1 room, 2 adults
Show Prices
Compare best prices from top travel sites
and 3 more sites!
Embassy Circle Guest House
Ranked #2 of 37 Washington DC B&B and Inns
Certificate of Excellence
Pittsburgh, PA
1 review
common_n_hotel_reviews_1bd8 1 helpful vote
“Absolutely Wonderful!”
5 of 5 bubbles Reviewed February 18, 2013

My husband and I just returned last night from a weekend with Laura, Raymond, Angela, Bennie and a cast of staff and other guests at Embassy Circle Guest House and had we not gotten in so late last night and been so tired, I would have written then. The weekend truly could not have been better and I already am trying to figure out when we can go back! Having stayed at a number of B&Bs in my travels, I can honestly say that I have never been made to feel so at home and a part of the family. From the personal and sincere conversations to the homemade appetizers and breakfasts; the incredibly restored home to the personally selected artwork and furniture; the amazing location to the surrounding attractions - I simply cannot imagine a better or more complete destination. This is most certainly a trip worth taking!

  • Stayed February 2013, traveled as a couple
    • 5 of 5 bubbles
      Value
    • 5 of 5 bubbles
      Location
    • 5 of 5 bubbles
      Sleep Quality
    • 5 of 5 bubbles
      Rooms
    • 5 of 5 bubbles
      Cleanliness
    • 5 of 5 bubbles
      Service
Helpful?
1 Thank Karen B
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Write a Review

679 reviews from our community

Traveler rating
    649
    20
    7
    1
    2
See reviews for
69
395
61
122
Rating summary
  • Location
    5 of 5 bubbles
  • Sleep Quality
    5 of 5 bubbles
  • Rooms
    5 of 5 bubbles
  • Service
    5 of 5 bubbles
  • Value
    5 of 5 bubbles
  • Cleanliness
    5 of 5 bubbles
Traveler tips help you choose the right room.   Room tips (103)
Date | Rating
  • Danish first
  • Dutch first
  • English first
  • French first
  • German first
  • Italian first
  • Japanese first
  • Portuguese first
  • Spanish first
  • Any
English first
Arlington Heights, Illinois
Level Contributor
3 reviews
3 hotel reviews
common_n_hotel_reviews_1bd8 1 helpful vote
5 of 5 bubbles Reviewed February 15, 2013

Everything was perfect here. The renovation of the building was outstanding. It was close to cute shops, restaurants and the train. We met interesting people from all over the world. The wine happy hour at night the perfect way to meet other guests. I would definitely return here.

  • Stayed October 2012, traveled as a couple
    • 5 of 5 bubbles
      Value
    • 5 of 5 bubbles
      Location
    • 5 of 5 bubbles
      Sleep Quality
    • 5 of 5 bubbles
      Rooms
    • 5 of 5 bubbles
      Cleanliness
    • 5 of 5 bubbles
      Service
Helpful?
Thank Alicia S
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
London, United Kingdom
Level Contributor
13 reviews
5 hotel reviews
common_n_hotel_reviews_1bd8 13 helpful votes
5 of 5 bubbles Reviewed February 7, 2013

My wife and i came to Washington for my Birthday
We certainly mąde the right choice at Embassy Circle .
Both Laura and Raymond the owners mąkę their guests
Feel at Home and are very accomodating as Well as imformative.
Our room was on the top floor and quite as Well as cosy.

Breakfast is good and the property immaculate .
If you like to stay in a płace with warmrth and character than
this Is the płace to be.
We were also vastly impressed with Angela's restaurants recommendations.
As for Washington DC- What a CIty !!!!
I work in the travel trade and have travelled extensively worldwide - Well this Is the płace to stay
When in DC .

Room Tip: Top floor recommended
See more room tips
  • Stayed February 2013, traveled as a couple
    • 5 of 5 bubbles
      Value
    • 5 of 5 bubbles
      Location
    • 5 of 5 bubbles
      Sleep Quality
    • 5 of 5 bubbles
      Rooms
    • 5 of 5 bubbles
      Cleanliness
    • 5 of 5 bubbles
      Service
Helpful?
2 Thank leon m
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Maryland
Level Contributor
21 reviews
8 hotel reviews
common_n_hotel_reviews_1bd8 61 helpful votes
5 of 5 bubbles Reviewed January 18, 2013

To celebrate our 5 year anniversary my wife and I wanted to do something a little different so I surprised her with a trip to our first Bed and Breakfast. This will not be our last visit to Embassy Circle Guest House. Not knowing what to expect we both were a little apprehensive about how our trip would turn out but this little get-away was one of the best we have had. From the moment you arrive you are made to fell welcomed by the staff! We arrived in the evening during the happy hour and were helped with our bags and settled into our room. Laura and Raymond are great hosts and take time to interact with each individual at the house. We stayed in Room 101 – Berry Kashan and the room is pretty spacious. The bathrooms are sorta small but they are functional. Our room did not have a bathtub but did have a standing shower. The room also had a nice sized closet where we were able to put our luggage in. To top it all off each room is decorated differently.

Breakfast is a great time to meet with other patrons but they also have an evening happy hour. For breakfast you will find a variety of items to choose from. Daily they have cereal, juice, fruit and things of that nature. The hot items seem to change each day. While there we enjoyed stuffed french toast and quiche. The nightly happy hours are pretty fun as you can catch up with the other patrons and find out how their day went and what sights to do the next day. While we were there they were starting to introduce wine parings which seems fun.

The location is walking distance to many restaurants and the DC Metro. If you need anything the staff tries to accommodate you so do not be shy to ask. They are full of helpful tips and information and make you feel like you are an old friend just stopping by to catch up. The location is great as you can walk around the city and see the various Embassy's in the area. We made a nightly trip to P Street and found a variety of places to eat.

Things to note...parking is limited and they recommend you park your car when you arrive. There is a fee per day for parking. Late check-in is allowed but there is a fee for late arrival.

  • Stayed November 2012, traveled as a couple
    • 4 of 5 bubbles
      Value
    • 5 of 5 bubbles
      Location
    • 5 of 5 bubbles
      Sleep Quality
    • 5 of 5 bubbles
      Rooms
    • 5 of 5 bubbles
      Cleanliness
    • 5 of 5 bubbles
      Service
Helpful?
1 Thank l0v3_2_travel
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Australia
Level Contributor
55 reviews
38 hotel reviews
common_n_hotel_reviews_1bd8 25 helpful votes
5 of 5 bubbles Reviewed January 13, 2013

We stayed at Embassy Circle Guest House September 2012.
From the moment we arrived, Betty was at the front door to let us into the Guest House, she was incredibly helpful, showing us around, the facilities - dining room, kitchen, lounge and then to our room, which was impeccably furnished.
The lounge room where they have a happy hour was more than enjoyable, people from all around the world, even Australians!
The restaurants we were recommended again 100%, all in all, our time at Embassy Circle Guest House we thoroughly enjoyed, Laura and Raymond, a little late, thank you once again for your hospitality and kindness.

  • Stayed September 2012, traveled as a couple
    • 5 of 5 bubbles
      Value
    • 5 of 5 bubbles
      Location
    • 5 of 5 bubbles
      Sleep Quality
    • 5 of 5 bubbles
      Rooms
    • 5 of 5 bubbles
      Cleanliness
    • 5 of 5 bubbles
      Service
Helpful?
1 Thank Australia016
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Poole, United Kingdom
Level Contributor
3 reviews
common_n_hotel_reviews_1bd8 1 helpful vote
5 of 5 bubbles Reviewed December 21, 2012

The hospitality that Laura and Raymond showed us at their wonderful home last week was outstanding. It doesn't seem right to call The Embassy a guest house, as that seems too impersonal.

The interaction with the owners and other guests was invaluable to our enjoyment of Washington. We found out where to visit, where to eat and where to drink, and enjoyed every second of our stay.

We love the US, and have always found the people to be so friendly, especially when compared to here in the UK, but you truly have raised the bar! And Raymond running us to the airport when the taxi failed to show was the icing on the cake.

We wish you all the best for the future, and will definitely return someday.

Thanks once again,

  • Stayed December 2012, traveled as a couple
    • 5 of 5 bubbles
      Value
    • 5 of 5 bubbles
      Location
    • 5 of 5 bubbles
      Sleep Quality
    • 5 of 5 bubbles
      Rooms
    • 5 of 5 bubbles
      Cleanliness
    • 5 of 5 bubbles
      Service
Helpful?
1 Thank Adetuono
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
London
Level Contributor
3 reviews
common_n_hotel_reviews_1bd8 4 helpful votes
4 of 5 bubbles Reviewed December 8, 2012

As one would expect this is a clean and well appointed Guest House. However there are significant disadvantages against a fully fledged Hotel. There is not a 24 hour service or late check-in facility. Whilst the rooms are large the bedrooms lack bathtubs.
The sting in the tail is that even if you guarantee your reservation with a credit/debit card, you will be charged $40 if you check in late (Even if you inform them of your late arrival!).
Breakfast is limited. Hot pancakes are prepared but no typical American breakfast alas.
Bottom line is it is excessively expensive. Circa $300 per night which is TWICE the price of the local Marriott.

  • Stayed December 2012, traveled on business
    • 2 of 5 bubbles
      Value
    • 3 of 5 bubbles
      Location
    • 4 of 5 bubbles
      Sleep Quality
    • 3 of 5 bubbles
      Rooms
    • 4 of 5 bubbles
      Cleanliness
    • 4 of 5 bubbles
      Service
Helpful?
4 Thank Lovablelondoners
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
NativeWashingtonian, Owner at Embassy Circle Guest House, responded to this review, December 12, 2012
When there is a problem with your train to London and you miss your international flight from Heathrow to Dulles; when you arrive in Washington DC close to 11 PM, rather than your projected early afternoon arrival time; when you are only here for one night before moving on to another destination - we can understand how you might miss the incredible benefits of staying in a beautiful, world-class B&B. If this guest had arrived with his colleagues as scheduled, we think he would have had a very different experience. In fact, we’re sure he would have enjoyed the House, the evening wine and conversations – there was a fascinating group of international guests here that night – a great dinner at one of our recommended restaurants, a good night’s sleep, and the company and conversation of familiar people at breakfast the next morning.
We do our best to accommodate travel delays. We will make owners or staff available to check you in when you arrive – even if it is hours after we have closed our front desk for the night. There is a cost to provide this service however, and as travelers ourselves, we believe it is a cost that the traveler should anticipate and be willing to pay. When we require service that is over and above what is normally offered, or when we inconvenience our hosts and their staff, we are grateful for their help and we pay for the additional service without complaint.
And as for the Marriott, we're pretty sure the cost comparison is a little bit off – you have to add $20-$30 to the cost per night for that American breakfast. And, as our reviews indicate, our guests appreciate the many significant differences between Embassy Circle Guest House and our local chain hotels - and they prefer to stay with us.

Laura Saba
Innkeeper/Owner
Report response as inappropriate
This response is the subjective opinion of the management representative and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Hotels you might also like...
Travelers also viewed these Washington DC hotels
Dupont Circle
The Hay-Adams
The Hay-Adams
#3 of 140 in Washington DC
4.5 of 5 bubbles 1,157 reviews
Dupont Circle
The Jefferson, Washington DC
The Jefferson, Washington DC
#4 of 140 in Washington DC
5.0 of 5 bubbles 1,054 reviews
Georgetown
Four Seasons Hotel Washington, DC
Show Prices
Show Prices
Show Prices
Dupont Circle
The Dupont Circle
The Dupont Circle
#35 of 140 in Washington DC
4.5 of 5 bubbles 2,850 reviews
Avenue Suites Georgetown
#9 of 140 in Washington DC
4.5 of 5 bubbles 1,385 reviews
Foggy Bottom - GWU - West End
Hyatt Place Washington DC/Georgetown/West End
Show Prices
Show Prices
Show Prices

Been to Embassy Circle Guest House? Share your experiences!

Write a Review Add Photos & Videos

Additional Information about Embassy Circle Guest House

Property: Embassy Circle Guest House
Address: 2224 R St NW, Washington DC, DC 20008-4035
Phone Number:
Location: United States > District of Columbia > Washington DC > Dupont Circle
Amenities:
Free Breakfast Free High Speed Internet ( WiFi )
Hotel Style:
Ranked #2 of 37 B&Bs / Inns in Washington DC
Price Range (Based on Average Rates): $$$
Hotel Class:3.5 star — Embassy Circle Guest House 3.5*
Number of rooms: 11
Official Description (provided by the hotel):
Visit our historic and elegant Washington DC bed and breakfast, steps to the metro, shops & dining in Dupont Circle. Enjoy complimentary breakfast, afternoon wine & snacks, parking & internet access at our Dupont Circle inn. Our Washington DC B&B is centrally located with easy access to the famed monuments and sights of our Nation's Capital. If you are looking for the perfect bed and breakfast in DC, look no further than Embassy Circle, a Select Registry Property. ... more   less 
Reservation Options:
TripAdvisor is proud to partner with Expedia, Booking.com, Hotels.com and Agoda so you can book your Embassy Circle Guest House reservations with confidence. We help millions of travelers each month to find the perfect hotel for both vacation and business trips, always with the best discounts and special offers.
Also Known As:
Embassy Circle Guest House Hotel Washington Dc

Is This Your TripAdvisor Listing?

Own or manage this property? Claim your listing for free to respond to reviews, update your profile and much more.

Claim Your Listing