We noticed that you're using an unsupported browser. The TripAdvisor website may not display properly.We support the following browsers:
Windows: Internet Explorer, Mozilla Firefox, Google Chrome. Mac: Safari.

“You will not find a nicer B & B anywhere”

Best prices for -
Check In mm/dd/yyyy Check Out mm/dd/yyyy
Prices are for 1 room, 2 adults
Show Prices
Compare best prices from top travel sites
and 8 more sites!
Embassy Circle Guest House
Ranked #2 of 35 Washington DC B&B and Inns
Certificate of Excellence
Reviewed April 8, 2011

Laura and Raymond have made Embassy Circle Guest House the most charming, comfortable, and warm place imaginable. There is not one detail that they have overlooked, from the decorating of the rooms, the gorgeous art throughout the home, the lovely breakfast each morning, the wine and snacks in the evening, or the way they make everyone feel welcome . Their staff is terrific and are always available to help in any way. We will only stay here in the future during our yearly trip to DC . It is so much more pleasant than any hotel that we have stayed in in past years.

Room Tip: It really depends on the type of bed that you want
See more room tips
  • Stayed: April 2011, traveled on business
    • Value
    • Location
    • Sleep Quality
    • Rooms
    • Cleanliness
    • Service
Thank chefjoyce
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Write a ReviewReviews (708)
Traveler rating
Traveler type
Time of year
Language

402 - 408 of 708 reviews

Reviewed April 3, 2011

My wife and I have stayed several times at Raymond & Laura's fabulous bed & breakfast inn. The location within walking distance of Dupont Circle is perfect, the inn is very nicely appointed & comfortable, and it's hard to imagine better and more gracious hosts than Raymond and Laura. They go out of their way to make guest comfortable, and you leave wishing you could stay longer!

Stayed: April 2011, traveled as a couple
1  Thank Andy_Ward_11
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Reviewed March 30, 2011

My wife and I have enjoyed stays in both the Embassy Circle Guest House and its "sister", the Woodley Park Guest House. We can say unequivocally that our stays in both homes were the best B & B experiences that we can recall. In our most recent stay at Embassy Circle, we were welcomed enthusiastically by the staff and were graciously treated with kindness, respect, generosity, and friendship by the hosts, Raymond and Laura. It's not often that one leaves a B & B feeling that the hosts have become your friends. The home is warm and inviting. The room was meticulously clean, comfortable, and well-appointed. The wireless internet connection worked flawlessly. Breakfast was fresh and varied, and even included "Raymond-made" omelets and a breakfast casserole. The late afternoon social hour with wine, nuts, cookies, and conversation with other guests was a very pleasant interlude between daytime and nighttime activities. If the hosts are looking for a motto, Matthew 25:35 best captures their essence. "For I was hungry and you gave me food. I was thirsty and you gave me drink. I was a stranger and you welcomed me." -- John and Evonne Halvorsen

  • Stayed: March 2011, traveled on business
    • Value
    • Location
    • Sleep Quality
    • Rooms
    • Cleanliness
    • Service
1  Thank ejejpj
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Reviewed March 28, 2011

Currently working in the Republic of Georgia, we had found this b&b via the internet and trusted our feelings to have made the right choice, and indeed we did. This is the best b&b we have ever stayed at. It is just perfect in every sense, located in the middle of a historical neighborhood, furnished with so much taste, perfectly clean and with loaded book shelves full of discoveries for a bibliophile as I am. The hosts Laura and Raymond overhelmed us with their hospitality. For technical reasons we were upgraded to a bigger room at no charge, which we gratefully noticed. The breakfast ist the best part of a stay at the Embassy Circle Guest House. We enjoyed the eggs and milk products from a nearby ecolological market and the most interesting conversations with the hosts and the other guests; so inspiring! Raymond later even gave us a ride to a business meeting and to the bus station when we had to continue to New York, we felt treated like close and dear family members. We would have loved to stay longer and cannot wait to come back. Thank you so much for everything!

  • Stayed: March 2011, traveled on business
    • Value
    • Location
    • Sleep Quality
    • Rooms
    • Cleanliness
    • Service
Thank MarikoinGeorgia
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Reviewed March 26, 2011

We had a wonderful 6 nights at the Embassy Circle Guest House. Laura and Raymond are delightful hosts. They made us feel right at home. We had never stayed in a bed and breakfast and weren’t sure we were the “bed and breakfast” type. From the minute we got there Laura and Raymond made sure we felt welcome and you could tell they love sharing their home with the many different people who come through their door.
Our room was light and airy and it was very clean. The service is top notch. Laura, Raymond and their staff go out of their way to make sure everything is just right and you are comfortable.
It was the little things that made our stay at the Embassy Circle so enjoyable. The rooms are quiet. The towels are soft. The breakfast is fantastic. Everyone is friendly.
Every morning we got to start our day in a relaxed setting with a wonderful breakfast. At breakfast we met people from around the world. Laura and Raymond were always there to make introductions and make sure everyone was set for the day. In the evenings when we returned, there was always someone there to welcome us.
On our last night at the Guest House we were treated to one of Raymond’s fabulous dinners. The food was wonderful and the conversation stimulating. It was one of our best evenings in Washington D.C.
We would definitely recommend a stay at the Embassy Circle Guest House.

  • Stayed: September 2010, traveled as a couple
    • Value
    • Location
    • Sleep Quality
    • Rooms
    • Cleanliness
    • Service
Thank Smithville2261
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Reviewed March 17, 2011

This was my ninth visit to the Embassy Circle in the past three or four years, and, once again, another excellent stay! I've always found this boutique, 11-room B&B inn a wonderful, quiet respite in an otherwise busy, bustling city. The accommodations are interesting, comfortable, antique-filled spaces - spotlessly clean bathrooms (the showers look absolutely brand new every time) - and perfect for the business traveler or tourist looking for a relaxing getaway - no TVs, no small children! Breakfast is also wonderful - smoked salmon, fresh fruit salad, assorted breads, cheeses, cereals - and wine and munchies in the afternoons! Quite often, I've shared the guest house and interesting conversation with international guests, and the owners and staff go all out to ensure everyone's comfort. The location is great - within a few minutes walk to wonderful restaurants of DuPont Circle, but on a quiet side street in Embassy Row! You would expect this place to be very expensive but it's actually not much more than a very basic Washington, DC hotel room. It's truly like staying as a guest in the home of friends.

  • Stayed: March 2011, traveled on business
    • Value
    • Location
    • Sleep Quality
    • Rooms
    • Cleanliness
    • Service
Thank SouthGaTravelGuy
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Reviewed March 16, 2011

I often stay here when on business in dc, and i think it is wonderful. Owners Laura and Raymond make you feel like family and the staff is very attentive. I also think it is great to meet so many interesting people from all over the world. There is a nice mix of business anf leisure travelers. So nice to have such a wonderful place to stay when in DC!!

  • Stayed: March 2011, traveled on business
    • Value
    • Location
    • Sleep Quality
    • Rooms
    • Cleanliness
    • Service
Thank tarrymore
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Hotels you might also like...
Travelers also viewed these Washington DC hotels
Dupont Circle
The Dupont Circle
The Dupont Circle
#22 of 141 in Washington DC
3,381 reviews
Dupont Circle
The Jefferson, Washington DC
The Jefferson, Washington DC
#4 of 141 in Washington DC
1,170 reviews
Foggy Bottom - GWU - West End
Hotel Hive
Hotel Hive
#3 of 141 in Washington DC
566 reviews
Show Prices
Show Prices
Show Prices
Malolo Bed and Breakfast
#1 of 35 in Washington DC
350 reviews
Upper Northwest
Woodley Park Guest House
Woodley Park Guest House
#3 of 35 in Washington DC
561 reviews
Dupont Circle
Swann House
Swann House
#6 of 35 in Washington DC
395 reviews
Show Prices
Show Prices
Show Prices

Been to Embassy Circle Guest House? Share your experiences!

Write a Review Add Photos & Videos

Additional Information about Embassy Circle Guest House

Address: 2224 R St NW, Washington DC, DC 20008-4035
Phone Number:
Location: United States > District of Columbia > Washington DC > Dupont Circle
Amenities:
Free Breakfast Free High Speed Internet ( WiFi )
Hotel Style:
Ranked #2 of 35 B&Bs / Inns in Washington DC
Price Range: $188 - $350 (Based on Average Rates for a Standard Room)
Hotel Class:3.5 star — Embassy Circle Guest House 3.5*
Number of rooms: 11
Official Description (provided by the hotel):
Visit our historic and elegant Washington DC bed and breakfast, steps to the metro, shops & dining in Dupont Circle. Enjoy complimentary breakfast, afternoon wine & snacks, parking & internet access at our Dupont Circle inn. Our Washington DC B&B is centrally located with easy access to the famed monuments and sights of our Nation's Capital. If you are looking for the perfect bed and breakfast in DC, look no further than Embassy Circle, a Select Registry Property. ... more   less 
Reservation Options:
TripAdvisor is proud to partner with Travelocity, Orbitz, Expedia, Booking.com, Hotwire, Priceline, Agoda, Hotels.com and TripOnline SA so you can book your Embassy Circle Guest House reservations with confidence. We help millions of travelers each month to find the perfect hotel for both vacation and business trips, always with the best discounts and special offers.
Also Known As:
Embassy Circle Guest House Hotel Washington Dc

Is This Your TripAdvisor Listing?

Own or manage this property? Claim your listing for free to respond to reviews, update your profile and much more.

Claim Your Listing