We noticed that you're using an unsupported browser. The TripAdvisor website may not display properly.We support the following browsers:
Windows: Internet Explorer, Mozilla Firefox, Google Chrome. Mac: Safari.

“Vibrant crowd”

Annie's Paramount Steak House
Ranked #287 of 3,257 Restaurants in Washington DC
Certificate of Excellence
Price range: $12 - $32
Cuisines: Steakhouse
More restaurant details
Restaurant details
Dining options: Late Night, Breakfast, Reservations
Neighborhood: Dupont Circle
Surrey
Level 5 Contributor
51 reviews
18 restaurant reviews
common_n_restaurant_reviews_1bd8 43 helpful votes
“Vibrant crowd”
Reviewed January 22, 2014

Very busy, but the food was very good and the service attentive and efficient. Obviously a place where locals attend regularly but don't be put off, give it a try

Visited January 2014
Helpful?
Thank Scotforever
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Write a Review

327 reviews from our community

Visitor rating
    129
    120
    44
    25
    9
Rating summary
    Food
    Service
    Value
    Atmosphere
Date | Rating
  • Dutch first
  • English first
  • French first
  • German first
  • Italian first
  • Portuguese first
  • Spanish first
  • Any
English first
London, United Kingdom
Level 6 Contributor
266 reviews
222 restaurant reviews
common_n_restaurant_reviews_1bd8 70 helpful votes
“Great Alternative Steak House”
Reviewed January 14, 2014 via mobile

I had the Bull in a Pan - which are basically steak tips on a really hot skillet. I think the restaurant is a gay place and the food is excellent and reasonable value. Nothing not to like!

Helpful?
2 Thank Cakebreadt
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Charlotte, North Carolina
Level 6 Contributor
535 reviews
320 restaurant reviews
common_n_restaurant_reviews_1bd8 207 helpful votes
“Good Steaks on 17th”
Reviewed January 14, 2014

This Washington landmark serves up great steaks. Just go with friends and plan to have a gay old time! The Manhattans are delicious.

Visited January 2014
Helpful?
1 Thank JD28204
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Level 3 Contributor
15 reviews
7 restaurant reviews
common_n_restaurant_reviews_1bd8 14 helpful votes
“Annie's No Longer Paramount Steak House”
Reviewed January 3, 2014

Let me start off by saying it breaks my heart to write this review. I have been going to Annie's since I was in my early twenties, when it was still located down 18th where JR's stands now. I continued being an enthusaistic patron until I moved to England six years ago. On my trips home, I have always triied to get to Annies's, but this trip was my first in about four years. In trying to "upscale the joint", they have ruined what charm Annie's used to have, and the prices, which used to be reasonable, have sky rocketed into Ruth's Chris territory.

First off...the wait staff. Our servers seemed flummoxed that he had to wait on more than one table at a time. The servers have always been friendly, and used to be casual and fun loving in tee shirts, jeans, and the omnipresent Annie's apron Now, they wear these rather unflattering uniforms to make them seem more upscale. Loss on the charm points already.
The interior, which used ot be a bit tatty and cozy, has been tarted up to look like a "fine dining establishment", and the new banquettes in the front room ruin the coziness and charm this room has always had.

Now, to the food. I ordered the old standby, the bull in the pan, which used to be served in a basic bowl with the sizzling meat, with the sides on the rest of the plate now being used up by the bowl. Again, they have been tarted up in presentation, and the addition of green peppers to the recipe, though doing it no harm, are completley unneccsary. The meat itself was good, and tasted like it always had....but it was accomponied by the most tasteless, lackluster, generic frozen french fries that I have ever tasted in my life. Annie's used to be know for their brillinat, thick cut steak fries, and I must admit those were the things I was most looking forward to on this visit.

Needless to say, the place has lost both the charm and the friendly atmosphere it once had in it's attempts to be an upscale destination. Annie is rolling over in her grave.

  • Visited December 2013
    • Value
    • Atmosphere
    • Service
    • Food
Helpful?
2 Thank Scott S
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Miami Beach
Level 6 Contributor
92 reviews
50 restaurant reviews
common_n_restaurant_reviews_1bd8 39 helpful votes
“Friendly staff, Cozy atmosphere, Good food”
Reviewed December 30, 2013

A group of 6 stopped in for dinner and accommodations were quickly and enthusiastically made. Prices were reasonable and when the food arrived, it came as ordered. Nice to have an affordable place to get steak in a city that can be out of reach.

Thank you for the great service and food.

  • Visited December 2013
    • Value
    • Atmosphere
    • Service
    • Food
Helpful?
2 Thank Josh305
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.

Travelers who viewed Annie's Paramount Steak House also viewed

 
Washington DC, DC
Washington DC, DC
 

Been to Annie's Paramount Steak House? Share your experiences!

Write a Review Add Photos & Videos

Owners: What's your side of the story?

Own or manage this property? Claim your listing for free to respond to reviews, update your profile and much more.

Claim Your Listing