We noticed that you're using an unsupported browser. The TripAdvisor website may not display properly.We support the following browsers:
Windows: Internet Explorer, Mozilla Firefox, Google Chrome. Mac: Safari.

“One of My Standard Stops”
Review of Open City

Open City
Ranked #111 of 3,237 Restaurants in Washington DC
Certificate of Excellence
Cuisines: American
More restaurant details
Restaurant details
Good for: Families with children
Dining options: Lunch, Late Night, Breakfast, Dinner, Reservations, Takeout
Neighborhood: Upper Northwest
Atlanta
Level 6 Contributor
158 reviews
70 restaurant reviews
common_n_restaurant_reviews_1bd8 73 helpful votes
“One of My Standard Stops”
Reviewed November 9, 2013

I always come back to this place. This trip, I had two dinners. The menu is extensive enough that you can try different things and not get tired. Service both nights was a little slow bu very friendly.

Visited October 2013
Helpful?
Thank ATLcruiser
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Write a Review

1,179 reviews from our community

Visitor rating
    445
    480
    161
    57
    36
Rating summary
    Food
    Service
    Value
    Atmosphere
Date | Rating
  • Dutch first
  • English first
  • French first
  • German first
  • Italian first
  • Japanese first
  • Portuguese first
  • Russian first
  • Spanish first
  • Any
English first
San Francisco, California
Level 4 Contributor
25 reviews
14 restaurant reviews
common_n_restaurant_reviews_1bd8 8 helpful votes
“When in doubt...”
Reviewed November 6, 2013

This is your classic diner-style restaurant... with a DC flair. You can get breakfast all day long and they have a coffee bar you can order drinks at if you just happen to be passing by. They have a very average diner menu - but like I said, it has a fresh modern vibe going on. The service was super wonderful and willing to make changes to a food item due to diet and give honest advice about the menu. The food is clean and fresh - not drenched in grease like normal diners. The have their own water filtration system - I would suggest the Italian soda. Great location and very reasonably priced.

  • Visited November 2013
    • Value
    • Atmosphere
    • Service
    • Food
Helpful?
Thank Geographylover_12
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Arlington, Virginia, USA
Level 2 Contributor
6 reviews
4 restaurant reviews
“Delicious brunch, beautiful open windows with nice weather”
Reviewed November 5, 2013 credit card Amex Card Member Review

Ate brunch here with a friend when the weather was gorgeous. We sat inside but all of the windows/doors were open. It was so beautiful! The food is great. A little expensive but normal for DC. The food was totally worth it. Their Belgian Waffles are to die for and are the best serving size (not too big), and can come as a side.

Visited September 2013
Helpful?
Thank Jlr603
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Dunwoody, Georgia
Level 4 Contributor
17 reviews
7 restaurant reviews
common_n_restaurant_reviews_1bd8 12 helpful votes
“Good, solid lunch”
Reviewed November 5, 2013

A group of us came from the Shoreham across the street to grab a bite to eat for lunch between sessions. The food here was quite good -- not great, but good. The few beer selections included a couple of local brews as well. The best part of this restaurant is the outside patio -- it is a great place to people-watch.

  • Visited September 2013
    • Value
    • Atmosphere
    • Service
    • Food
Helpful?
Thank dawgfan1995
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Washington DC, District of Columbia
Level 6 Contributor
2,743 reviews
1,087 restaurant reviews
common_n_restaurant_reviews_1bd8 1,516 helpful votes
“Slow service”
Reviewed October 31, 2013 via mobile

This restaurant is conveniently located, next to the metro station and several bus stops, in a nice neighborhood.
The menu doesn't look exciting, it has very standard options: pancakes, waffles, eggs and burgers. There is nothing special or new about it.
I had scrambled eggs with salmon. It was just ok.
The staff is very nice but our order took around 30 minutes and the restaurant wasn't even busy.

Visited October 2013
Helpful?
Thank HelenaGuerra
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.

Travelers who viewed Open City also viewed

 
Washington DC, DC
Washington DC, DC
 

Been to Open City? Share your experiences!

Write a Review Add Photos & Videos

Owners: What's your side of the story?

Own or manage this property? Claim your listing for free to respond to reviews, update your profile and much more.

Claim Your Listing