We noticed that you're using an unsupported browser. The TripAdvisor website may not display properly.We support the following browsers:
Windows: Internet Explorer, Mozilla Firefox, Google Chrome. Mac: Safari.

“Gluten-Free friendly (plus vegan and meat lover friendly)”
Review of Open City

Open City
Ranked #111 of 3,237 Restaurants in Washington DC
Certificate of Excellence
Cuisines: American
More restaurant details
Restaurant details
Good for: Families with children
Dining options: Dinner, Breakfast, Late Night, Lunch, Reservations, Takeout
Neighborhood: Upper Northwest
Muncie, Indiana
Level 6 Contributor
313 reviews
120 restaurant reviews
common_n_restaurant_reviews_1bd8 116 helpful votes
“Gluten-Free friendly (plus vegan and meat lover friendly)”
Reviewed June 9, 2013 via mobile

One of our favorites when in DC. You can't really go wrong with anything on the menu. The place is always busy, meaning the staff may struggle to keep up but they are always friendly. Menu items labeled as gluten free (as well as vegan or vegetarian). The gluten free pizzas are excellent. I had the turkey and bacon in a pastry shell, which was good too.

  • Visited June 2013
    • Value
    • Atmosphere
    • Service
    • Food
Helpful?
Thank indyemmett
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Write a Review

1,179 reviews from our community

Visitor rating
    445
    480
    161
    57
    36
Rating summary
    Food
    Service
    Value
    Atmosphere
Date | Rating
  • Dutch first
  • English first
  • French first
  • German first
  • Italian first
  • Japanese first
  • Portuguese first
  • Russian first
  • Spanish first
  • Any
English first
Springfield, Massachusetts
Level 5 Contributor
54 reviews
30 restaurant reviews
common_n_restaurant_reviews_1bd8 22 helpful votes
“A pleasant surprise”
Reviewed June 8, 2013

Delicious offerings, delightful cocktails and an informed menu. Guests will be pleased that the menu clearly states which options are vegetarian, vegan or gluten free. Had a scrumptious flank steak salad and OC cocktail without breaking the bank. Located close to my hotel (Omni Shoreham) with far more accessible fare. Lovely atmosphere with indoor and outdoor tables. Efficient and friendly staff. Only wishI had left room for dessert.

Visited June 2013
Helpful?
1 Thank apeavey
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Level 5 Contributor
60 reviews
44 restaurant reviews
common_n_restaurant_reviews_1bd8 50 helpful votes
“The BEST breakfast (and beer) near the Omni Shoreham Hotel”
Reviewed June 8, 2013 via mobile

Took some good advice and made this our breakfast stop while staying at the Omni Shoreham. We also ate there a couple of evenings - the chorizo pizza was particularly good (the local beer isn't bad either!)
Great range of breakfast menus- we tried a few of them :-))
My particular recommendation is the Cuban Coffee - it is just pure nectar.
Service is excellent - but be warned it is busy at peak times - the locals love it too!

  • Visited June 2013
    • Value
    • Atmosphere
    • Service
    • Food
Helpful?
1 Thank AndyHeadworth
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Level 3 Contributor
16 reviews
5 restaurant reviews
common_n_restaurant_reviews_1bd8 6 helpful votes
“Very good food at a good price”
Reviewed June 5, 2013

Enjoyed dinner at Open City while staying at the Omni Shoreham hotel. Dinner was very good - I had steak frites which was very enjoyable and my dinner companion had the turkey club, half of which served as lunch the next day, as well. Also enjoyed a coffee to go the next day, which was also very good. All prices are very reasonable for city dining. We were able to dine outside at night, and it seemed that we arrived after the crowds, as we overheard folks talking about dinner being worth the wait.

  • Visited May 2013
    • Value
    • Atmosphere
    • Service
    • Food
Helpful?
Thank CarolineOtoole
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Level 6 Contributor
90 reviews
67 restaurant reviews
common_n_restaurant_reviews_1bd8 21 helpful votes
“Went three days in a row!”
Reviewed June 4, 2013

This restaurant was right across the street from the hotel my hubby and I were staying in. Due to the convenience (and my hubby's love of repetition) we went to this diner every morning. The food was very good. My hubby had the same thing every morning (the salmon scramble, obviously he LOVED it) I on the other hand (due to the fact that I'm a woman I'm told) had something different everyday; the first day I had the french toast (so-so), the next day I had the chicken and waffles (meh), and the third day I had the breakfast quesadilla, let me save you the guess work I went through, get the quesadilla! For me, that dish saved this restaurant from being average to being very good! To get excellent all the dishes would have had to have been very good for me, which they weren't. All in all, I liked the service and the food was good, so I would definitely recommend this restaurant. You're welcome! :-)

  • Visited May 2013
    • Value
    • Atmosphere
    • Service
    • Food
Helpful?
Thank Maogun23
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.

Travelers who viewed Open City also viewed

 
Washington DC, DC
Washington DC, DC
 

Been to Open City? Share your experiences!

Write a Review Add Photos & Videos

Owners: What's your side of the story?

Own or manage this property? Claim your listing for free to respond to reviews, update your profile and much more.

Claim Your Listing