We noticed that you're using an unsupported browser. The TripAdvisor website may not display properly.
We support the following browsers:
Windows: Internet Explorer, Mozilla Firefox, Google Chrome. Mac: Safari.

“Good, perhaps not very good”
Review of Open City

Open City
Ranked #87 of 3,216 Restaurants in Washington DC
Certificate of Excellence
Cuisines: American, Cafe
More restaurant details
Restaurant details
Good for: Large groups, Local cuisine, Kids, Families with children
Dining options: Late Night, Dinner, Lunch, Brunch, Breakfast, Free Wifi, Full Bar, Highchairs Available, Outdoor Seating, Seating, Serves Alcohol, Takeout, Television, Waitstaff, Wheelchair Accessible
Neighborhood: Upper Northwest
Washington, D.C.
Level Contributor
280 reviews
184 restaurant reviews
common_n_restaurant_reviews_1bd8 111 helpful votes
“Good, perhaps not very good”
Reviewed November 28, 2012

I always wish TA had a vote between Average and Very Good as I think my first experience would fall in the Good category, but it was better than Average on our visit. Our group of eight went on a Sunday evening and were seated immediately as it was not too busy. Our server, Lauren K. was excellent and was responsive and proactive. She made a point of asking our group whether we had any food allergies or issues when ordering. Extensive menu (perhaps too to maintain good quality on all?) and 6 draft beers on tap and some nice wine selections. Decent prices (where can you get a $5 BLT these days (we didn't order). Nice casual but cool atmosphere in the restaurant.

In general, many of the dishes we received were lukewarm or room temperature and this was a disappointment. Nice crisp BUT LUKEWARM french fries? they should be made on plated right before coming out. The croque madame was actually pretty good, but the bechamel was a tiny bit bland and underseasoned but the egg was perfectly cooked atop. The egg bacon scramble was recommended by our server and was ok, but a bit on the small side. the sides of toast and grits were fine. The cheese burgers ordered were cooked nicely with fresh accompaniments but lukewarm fries. The crusty club was enjoyed and the design your own omelet. A nice surprise was the pizza - it was large and appropriately crisp - i was expecting less and some disappointment here. If you like thin, crisp pizza, you will like. The white mussels were pretty good but the clumsy doughy white bread sticks accompanying it looked and tasted exactly like what you would find at Olive Garden. Some crusty cut bread would have been better to mop up the Mussel sauce/juice (a bit under seasoned) - and they charegd 50 cents for the breadsticks as they didn't supply eny with this entree. Really?

The apple pie with vanilla ice cream a la mode was very good. nice flavors and flaky crust. the Kentucky Derby Pecan Pie was more like a chocolate pie with a few pecans thrown in. I would not order gain. The coconut custard pie pretty good but it needed a stronger coconut flavor, and the brownie was huge (enough for 2 people), but was a bit too "cakey" and not as dense as a true brownie should be.

We will return and try some other breakfast items (available all day).

  • Visited November 2012
    • Value
    • Atmosphere
    • Service
    • Food
Helpful?
Thank walton56
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Write a Review

1,148 reviews from our community

Visitor rating
    436
    475
    151
    53
    33
Rating summary
    Food
    Service
    Value
    Atmosphere
Date | Rating
  • Dutch first
  • English first
  • French first
  • German first
  • Italian first
  • Japanese first
  • Portuguese first
  • Russian first
  • Spanish first
  • Any
English first
London, United Kingdom
Level Contributor
5 reviews
common_n_restaurant_reviews_1bd8 2 helpful votes
“Great breakfast !”
Reviewed November 19, 2012

I loved this cafe for its all American Breakfasts... crispy bacon, grits, easy over eggs, pancakes, chai latte... ah my I could eat it all again and again !!

Visited October 2012
Helpful?
1 Thank H S
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Washington DC, District of Columbia
Level Contributor
31 reviews
31 restaurant reviews
common_n_restaurant_reviews_1bd8 4 helpful votes
“Great neighborhood spot. Solid food, welcoming atmosphere.”
Reviewed November 18, 2012

I keep coming back to this spot. It's a great place to meet up with friends, and it has breakfast all day and free wifi, so it's a good place to study or telework.

For a more detailed account of the experience, check out my blog: http://hungry-games.com/2012/11/13/guest-post-pants-comfort-hungry-at-open-city-washington-dc/

  • Visited November 2012
    • Service
    • Food
Helpful?
Thank Hungry G
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Northants
Level Contributor
43 reviews
14 restaurant reviews
common_n_restaurant_reviews_1bd8 24 helpful votes
“Busy, Trendy”
Reviewed November 14, 2012

Took Breakfast on a busy holiday weekend, the front of house service and wait, were what would be expected. No issues here

The inside, is simple clean and unpretentious, our table small and a little 'jammed' against others, again no issue here. Our server, was a little challenging, slightly too; aloof, confused and distracted - all minor points, but add up. The food wait time; was acceptable - not too long, no issue here.

Food - average, that about sums it up, nothing spectacular, just average. More than enough of it on the plate, so portion size not an issue here. The coffee well that was just poor. Now I am no Barista snob, at times warm and brown (to coin a "Clarkson'ism") is more than enough – but this was tasteless insipid lukewarm colo(u)ored water.

It was neither cheap nor expensive. The atmosphere was vibrant and very ‘about town’.

Though, no major challenges, the overall experience, food, service, cost and quality, was just average. Other breakfast ‘places’ will be sort moving forward.

  • Visited November 2012
    • Value
    • Atmosphere
    • Service
    • Food
Helpful?
Thank C_Stubing
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Vancouver, Canada
Level Contributor
46 reviews
14 restaurant reviews
common_n_restaurant_reviews_1bd8 31 helpful votes
“A Thousand Hipsters do not an Omelet Make.”
Reviewed November 14, 2012

Huge line ups of young, well-groomed locals and tourists from the nearby Omni, the latter having eschewed the hotel's sterling silver cutlery in favour of something less threatening. This looks promising. But it disappoints. The staff is young but not aware, it seemed to me, that they work in a restaurant that serves brunch, as opposed to a nightclub that serves excitement. Please, I just want some coffee and an omelet. And then the omelet arrives and the scales fall from my eyes. Asparagus, prosciutto and cheese ... shouldn't be a problem, right? Providing the asparagus is crisp or flavourfully cooked, the prosciutto is something like Parma ham and not plain old cooked until it sweats deli ham, and the cheese is, well, cheese and not an ice-cream scoopful of goo. And all the ingredients ought to meet somewhere in the middle of the omelet, not parked at opposite ends. Clearly this omelet was not well conceptualized, let alone executed. Potatoes were chewy, not crisp, coffee was below par. The bill was robust. I'd recommend the Irish pub around back for breakfast. It's simple and unpretentious and somewhat better tasting.

  • Visited November 2012
    • Value
    • Atmosphere
    • Service
    • Food
Helpful?
Thank Burnabonian57
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.

Travelers who viewed Open City also viewed

 

Been to Open City? Share your experiences!

Write a Review Add Photos & Videos

Owners: What's your side of the story?

Own or manage this property? Claim your listing for free to respond to reviews, update your profile and much more.

Claim Your Listing