We noticed that you're using an unsupported browser. The TripAdvisor website may not display properly.We support the following browsers:
Windows: Internet Explorer, Mozilla Firefox, Google Chrome. Mac: Safari.
Washington International Student Center
Show Prices
Like saving money? We search up to 200 sites for the lowest prices
Nearby Hotels
The LINE Hotel DC(Washington DC)
View Hotel
  • Free Wifi
  • Restaurant
The Normandy Hotel(Washington DC)
View Hotel
Certificate of Excellence
  • Free Wifi
Washington Hilton(Washington DC)
View Hotel
  • Pool
  • Restaurant
Windsor Park Hotel(Washington DC)
View Hotel
  • Free Wifi
  • Breakfast included
Churchill Hotel Near Embassy Row(Washington DC)
View Hotel
Certificate of Excellence
  • Free Wifi
  • Restaurant
View Hotel
Certificate of Excellence
  • Free Wifi
  • Pool
Windsor Inn(Washington DC)
View Hotel
  • Free Wifi
Kimpton Carlyle Hotel(Washington DC)
View Hotel
Certificate of Excellence
  • Free Wifi
  • Restaurant
Omni Shoreham Hotel(Washington DC)
View Hotel
  • Pool
  • Restaurant
View Hotel
  • Pool
  • Restaurant
Reviews (78)
Filter reviews
78 results
Traveler rating
7
9
11
21
30
Traveler type
Time of year
LanguageAll languages
More languages
7
9
11
21
30
See what travelers are saying:
FilterAll languages
Updating list...
57 - 62 of 78 reviews
Reviewed November 18, 2009

The rate of stay for this place is very inexpensive per day around 27 dollars a day, the breakfast was basically toast and jam, small rooms with 3 bunk beds, but they the beds weren't really uncomfortable, it was right in downtown DC, the nightlife was very different, it was an interesting experience, if you cant afford a hotel, stay at this hostel.

Stayed: July 2008, traveled with friends
Thank PhilM8
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Reviewed September 26, 2008

I stayed at this hostel for 3 nights with friends, starting on Labor Day. As we booked the trip last minute, and this was the only place available, we did have some reservations, but figured it was just a place to sleep.

On arrival we were faced with a large, steep flight of stairs. Upon ascending the stairs, we were met by the manager (strange man!).We checked in no problems, then had to climb another 2 smaller flights of stairs to our room. It was a small female only room with 4 bunk beds. The room was extremely untidy (there were 5 other girls in there who clearly did not understand the ettiquette of sharing!). The beds were ok, but the air con unit was positioned over one bed, so that person got extremely cold at night, but if they turned it down then everyone else would boil!

All that being said, the hostel is in a good lcoation in the Adams-Morgan area. There are lots of bars/restaurants on its doorstep. plus fastfood places, mini marts and shops. There are numerous buses to various sights from just outside. The nearest subway station is a 10-15 min walk away (pleasant walk, through residential strret and over the river). The hosel has posters up with directions to all places that you would want to visit.

I probably wouldn't stay here again, unless there was nowhere else in Washington DC to stay cheaply!

  • Stayed: September 2008, traveled with friends
    • Value
    • Location
    • Check in / front desk
    • Rooms
    • Cleanliness
    • Service
    • Business service (e.g., internet access)
1  Thank Layla L
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Reviewed August 29, 2007

We had booked this hostel online after reading of its promising amenities and lively atmosphere (from its own site). After reading some other Tripadvisor recommendations, we got a little nervous and booked into other accomodations. Good thing we did!

Being snoopy tourists, we wanted to know what we narrowly avoided and went to check out the hostel. After finding its name on a piece of paper taped to the door, we buzzed up and asked to look around. The rooms were crowded, dirty, and loud. The bathrooms/hallways/common areas were much the same and any chance of a relaxing vacation or good night's sleep would have been impossible. My dealings with the staff over the phone were nothing short of frustrating and the manager was incredibly rude. If you can avoid it at all (search out for cheap hotel deals during the summer!) do not stay here!

Stayed: August 2007
2  Thank sasktripper
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Reviewed October 17, 2006

Avoid at all costs!

On arrival, even ascending the dirty stairs filled my heart with trepedation.
On meeting the owner - a thiry something stoner - I could tell I was going to be out and about A LOT! He said there were no clean sheets so would get some later as he lazily gazed at a stack of dirty laundry taller than me (6foot).

Aside from being a long walk out of central DC (though quite a nice walk), it is a great location for going out, being on what many of the local students consider the "party area" of DC.
Underneath the hostel is a 24 hour diner which serves amazing food night and day and is really good value. It's always bussling and really gets you into the American spirit.

BUT!

The hostel is hideous.
8 people crammed into a room big enough for 4. Electrical sockets and wires hanging around everywhere. Broken glass from lightbulbs on the wooden floor.
(just warming up)
Grimey unwashed bathroom, plasters (Band-aids) lying around, nails from the floorboards exposed.
(coming upto the good stuff).
RATS under the floorboards [i woke to hear a strange scratching noise - unfortunately that was not the first time i had heard rats under floorboards so knew what it was immediately].
BUGS/FLEAS in the sheets and mattresses. I was eaten all over with small bites - some of which I am still scared with!

And upon check out the owner said "Oh yeah, if you get a card in the mail asking how you rated your stay, make sure you give us like a nine or nine and a half out of ten yeah?".

I think not.

If you plan on staying there make sure you have had a tetenus shot.

  • Stayed: September 2006, traveled as a couple
    • Value
    • Location
    • Check in / front desk
    • Rooms
    • Cleanliness
    • Service
8  Thank dustroom
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Reviewed January 17, 2017
Google Translation

Room Tip: Am Besten gar nicht buchen!
  • Stayed: September 2016, traveled with friends
    • Sleep Quality
    • Cleanliness
    • Service
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
View more reviews