We noticed that you're using an unsupported browser. The TripAdvisor website may not display properly.We support the following browsers:
Windows: Internet Explorer, Mozilla Firefox, Google Chrome. Mac: Safari.

“Very different”

Best prices for -
Check In mm/dd/yyyy Check Out mm/dd/yyyy
Prices are for 1 room, 2 adults
Show Prices
Compare best prices from top travel sites
Washington International Student Center
Reviewed November 18, 2009

The rate of stay for this place is very inexpensive per day around 27 dollars a day, the breakfast was basically toast and jam, small rooms with 3 bunk beds, but they the beds weren't really uncomfortable, it was right in downtown DC, the nightlife was very different, it was an interesting experience, if you cant afford a hotel, stay at this hostel.

Stayed: July 2008, traveled with friends
Thank PhilM8
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Write a ReviewReviews (74)
Traveler rating
Traveler type
Time of year
Language
  • More languages

54 - 60 of 74 reviews

Reviewed September 26, 2008

I stayed at this hostel for 3 nights with friends, starting on Labor Day. As we booked the trip last minute, and this was the only place available, we did have some reservations, but figured it was just a place to sleep.

On arrival we were faced with a large, steep flight of stairs. Upon ascending the stairs, we were met by the manager (strange man!).We checked in no problems, then had to climb another 2 smaller flights of stairs to our room. It was a small female only room with 4 bunk beds. The room was extremely untidy (there were 5 other girls in there who clearly did not understand the ettiquette of sharing!). The beds were ok, but the air con unit was positioned over one bed, so that person got extremely cold at night, but if they turned it down then everyone else would boil!

All that being said, the hostel is in a good lcoation in the Adams-Morgan area. There are lots of bars/restaurants on its doorstep. plus fastfood places, mini marts and shops. There are numerous buses to various sights from just outside. The nearest subway station is a 10-15 min walk away (pleasant walk, through residential strret and over the river). The hosel has posters up with directions to all places that you would want to visit.

I probably wouldn't stay here again, unless there was nowhere else in Washington DC to stay cheaply!

  • Stayed: September 2008, traveled with friends
    • Value
    • Location
    • Check in / front desk
    • Rooms
    • Cleanliness
    • Service
    • Business service (e.g., internet access)
1  Thank Layla L
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Reviewed August 29, 2007

We had booked this hostel online after reading of its promising amenities and lively atmosphere (from its own site). After reading some other Tripadvisor recommendations, we got a little nervous and booked into other accomodations. Good thing we did!

Being snoopy tourists, we wanted to know what we narrowly avoided and went to check out the hostel. After finding its name on a piece of paper taped to the door, we buzzed up and asked to look around. The rooms were crowded, dirty, and loud. The bathrooms/hallways/common areas were much the same and any chance of a relaxing vacation or good night's sleep would have been impossible. My dealings with the staff over the phone were nothing short of frustrating and the manager was incredibly rude. If you can avoid it at all (search out for cheap hotel deals during the summer!) do not stay here!

Stayed: August 2007
2  Thank sasktripper
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Reviewed October 17, 2006

Avoid at all costs!

On arrival, even ascending the dirty stairs filled my heart with trepedation.
On meeting the owner - a thiry something stoner - I could tell I was going to be out and about A LOT! He said there were no clean sheets so would get some later as he lazily gazed at a stack of dirty laundry taller than me (6foot).

Aside from being a long walk out of central DC (though quite a nice walk), it is a great location for going out, being on what many of the local students consider the "party area" of DC.
Underneath the hostel is a 24 hour diner which serves amazing food night and day and is really good value. It's always bussling and really gets you into the American spirit.

BUT!

The hostel is hideous.
8 people crammed into a room big enough for 4. Electrical sockets and wires hanging around everywhere. Broken glass from lightbulbs on the wooden floor.
(just warming up)
Grimey unwashed bathroom, plasters (Band-aids) lying around, nails from the floorboards exposed.
(coming upto the good stuff).
RATS under the floorboards [i woke to hear a strange scratching noise - unfortunately that was not the first time i had heard rats under floorboards so knew what it was immediately].
BUGS/FLEAS in the sheets and mattresses. I was eaten all over with small bites - some of which I am still scared with!

And upon check out the owner said "Oh yeah, if you get a card in the mail asking how you rated your stay, make sure you give us like a nine or nine and a half out of ten yeah?".

I think not.

If you plan on staying there make sure you have had a tetenus shot.

  • Stayed: September 2006, traveled as a couple
    • Value
    • Location
    • Check in / front desk
    • Rooms
    • Cleanliness
    • Service
8  Thank dustroom
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Reviewed January 17, 2017
Google Translation

Room Tip: Am Besten gar nicht buchen!
See more room tips
  • Stayed: September 2016, traveled with friends
    • Sleep Quality
    • Cleanliness
    • Service
Thank Hanna v
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Reviewed December 11, 2016 via mobile
Google Translation

Stayed: November 2016, traveled as a couple
Thank Vane G
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Reviewed July 14, 2016 via mobile
Google Translation

Stayed: July 2016, traveled as a couple
Thank Maria F
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Hotels you might also like...
Travelers also viewed these Washington DC hotels
Logan Circle/ Shaw
DC International Hostel
DC International Hostel
#29 of 47 in Washington DC
14 reviews
Mount Vernon Square
Capital View
Capital View
#16 of 47 in Washington DC
127 reviews
Duo Housing
#6 of 47 in Washington DC
253 reviews
Show Prices
Show Prices
Show Prices
Downtown Washington Hostel
#5 of 47 in Washington DC
164 reviews
HI Washington DC Hostel
#2 of 47 in Washington DC
686 reviews
Adams Morgan
HighRoad Hostel DC
HighRoad Hostel DC
#3 of 47 in Washington DC
87 reviews
Show Prices
Show Prices
Show Prices

Been to Washington International Student Center? Share your experiences!

Write a Review Add Photos & Videos

Additional Information about Washington International Student Center

Address: 2451 18th St NW, Washington DC, DC 20009-2058
Location: United States > District of Columbia > Washington DC > Adams Morgan
Hotel Style:
Ranked #33 of 47 Specialty Lodging in Washington DC
Price Range: $37 - $92 (Based on Average Rates for a Standard Room)
Number of rooms: 6
Reservation Options:
TripAdvisor is proud to partner with Booking.com so you can book your Washington International Student Center reservations with confidence. We help millions of travelers each month to find the perfect hotel for both vacation and business trips, always with the best discounts and special offers.
Also Known As:
Washington International Student Hotel Washington Dc

Is This Your TripAdvisor Listing?

Own or manage this property? Claim your listing for free to respond to reviews, update your profile and much more.

Claim Your Listing