We noticed that you're using an unsupported browser. The TripAdvisor website may not display properly.We support the following browsers:
Windows: Internet Explorer, Mozilla Firefox, Google Chrome. Mac: Safari.

“Good staff. Average food”
Review of Bidwell Restaurant

Bidwell Restaurant
Reserve a Table
2
Sun, 7/21
8:00 PM
OR
Ranked #555 of 3,875 Restaurants in Washington DC
Restaurant details
Reviewed May 19, 2019

Tried this restaurant one evening, as it was close to the hotel, and to be honest it was ok, but the prices did raise expectations of better. We arrived during the bar's "happy hour" and the noise was dire, it did quieten later on though. The server was knowlegable and explained the menu well. The food we ordered was nothing special, Moonpie pizza that was bland and the deep fried chicken which was nice, according to Sue, but a little boney. Sweets were better, in particular the blue cheese board that is billed in the starter section.
A split decision on would we come back. So much on the menu that looks promising, but an expensive mistake if it does not live up to expectation.

Date of visit: May 2019
    • Value
    • Service
    • Food
Thank Andy_and_Sue
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Write a ReviewReviews (102)
Traveler rating
Traveler type
Time of year
Language

2 - 6 of 102 reviews

Reviewed April 27, 2019 via mobile

Br in your puppy and sit outside and enjoy beer and pizza. The menu offers many options, but the wood-fire pizza is wonderful. The appetizers are great. The lobster tacos are excellent as is the pear salad. Great beer and wine list.

Date of visit: April 2019
Thank MelissaH572
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Reviewed April 16, 2019 via mobile

Menu had items that could be made vegan.
Venue in the union market. Awesome place. There are so many options I may have just wandered and chosen something else.
Staff was great. It got busy and service suffered. Secret forgot my decaf coffee and hostess took my order and it was wrong.
Still enjoyed it, recommend it, but there are likely better options.

Date of visit: April 2019
Thank NancyJoW64
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Reviewed April 16, 2019

We were at Bidwell for breakfast on a Sunday morning. There were very few customers and it is a rather large space.The hostess was really rude. She immediately told us we could only sit in one of two tables near the door. Supposedly there were reservations for all the other tables? We decided to stay. The beef hash was bad, small portion, and didnt taste like anything.

Date of visit: March 2019
    • Value
    • Service
    • Food
Thank JSWNY
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Reviewed April 7, 2019 via mobile

My husband and I found ourselves with a little time and in need of lunch before heading to wedding venue to dress and prepare for the big night. Stopped in on a whim. We were seated immediately. The server was kind, attentive and helpful. We ordered a soup an salad combo and a soup and sandwich combo. We were both very pleased. The pumpkin soup was delicious. My husband had French onion. He said although it was different from the average French onion he thought the flavor was great. Both of our soups came out hot. The ”Bidwell Burger “ was very tasty. Would definitely recommend if you have time for a sit down meal at union market.

Date of visit: April 2019
Thank 212Moree
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.

Travelers who viewed Bidwell Restaurant also viewed

 

Been to Bidwell Restaurant? Share your experiences!

Write a Review Add Photos & Videos

Owners: What's your side of the story?

Own or manage this property? Claim your listing for free to respond to reviews, update your profile and much more.

Claim Your Listing