We noticed that you're using an unsupported browser. The TripAdvisor website may not display properly.We support the following browsers:
Windows: Internet Explorer, Mozilla Firefox, Google Chrome. Mac: Safari.

“fogo in dc”

Fogo de Chao Brazilian Steakhouse
Reserve with OpenTable
Fogo de Chao Brazilian Steakhouse is not available for your requested time. Choose another time, or search restaurants with availability.
The time you selected has already passed.
Ranked #35 of 3,259 Restaurants in Washington DC
Certificate of Excellence
Price range: $51 - $51
Cuisines: Brazilian, South American, Steakhouse
More restaurant details
Restaurant details
Good for: Special occasions, Business meetings, Large groups
Dining options: Late Night, Dinner, Breakfast, Lunch, Buffet, Private Dining, Reservations
Dining style: Casual Elegant
Neighborhood: Downtown / Chinatown
Cross street: 11th St NW
Description: Fogo de ChaoR (fo-go dee shoun), is an authentic Southern Brazilian steakhouse. In 1979, FogoR began sharing the gaucho way of preparing meat in Porto Alegre, Brazil. Today, our gaucho chefs still expertly grill each of our 16 cuts of meat and offer you continuous tableside service. We invite you to enjoy the delicious preparations of our gaucho chefs along with our gourmet salad bar, authentic Brazilian side dishes, and award-winning wine list.
Plattsburgh, New York
Level 3 Contributor
13 reviews
common_n_restaurant_reviews_1bd8 4 helpful votes
“fogo in dc”
Reviewed May 4, 2012

I went with my son and his girlfriend. My son had the full steak menu, and michelle and I had just the salad bar. We were more than satisfied with the selections on the salad bar, and I think that Elliott had more than he could handle with the numerous meat offerings brought to our table. Unlike othersimilar restaurants that I have been to in the past, the Fogo seems to offer a real "all you can eat" option. My recommendation is that this is a good value only for thosewith a v ery large appetite.

  • Visited May 2012
    • Value
    • Atmosphere
    • Service
    • Food
Helpful?
Thank rblacki
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Write a Review

1,351 reviews from our community

Visitor rating
    760
    422
    111
    46
    12
Rating summary
    Food
    Service
    Value
    Atmosphere
Date | Rating
  • Chinese (Traditional) first
  • Danish first
  • Dutch first
  • English first
  • French first
  • German first
  • Hebrew first
  • Italian first
  • Japanese first
  • Korean first
  • Norwegian first
  • Portuguese first
  • Russian first
  • Spanish first
  • Swedish first
  • Turkish first
  • Any
English first
DC
Level 6 Contributor
377 reviews
233 restaurant reviews
common_n_restaurant_reviews_1bd8 93 helpful votes
“Wear your stretchy pants for when you visit”
Reviewed May 2, 2012

My brother and i visit this place once a year when he visits. Do not waste time on the salad bar just go for the meat. Although the salad bar is very impressive and has a very nice selection, i am there for the meat. The meat keeps coming, so pace yourself and remember to turn your card to red or they will keep coming by and it is hard to tell the man no when he is slicing a very nice filet.

Visited March 2012
Helpful?
Thank mad155
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Detroit, Michigan
Level 5 Contributor
66 reviews
33 restaurant reviews
common_n_restaurant_reviews_1bd8 16 helpful votes
“The cute of meats are to die for!!”
Reviewed April 28, 2012

The quality of the meat is great. The picanha is juicy and fork tender, the fillet mignon is buttery and with the right amount of sea salt. The service was outstanding.

Visited April 2012
Helpful?
Thank ELMOSH
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
jacksonville, nc
Level 4 Contributor
26 reviews
12 restaurant reviews
common_n_restaurant_reviews_1bd8 5 helpful votes
“Great Experience”
Reviewed April 27, 2012

The concept of the Brazilian style restaurant is about options. Most will have a “salad bar” with everything you will need to accompany a great selection of meats that are brought to the table for your picking.
Fogo de Chao’s Salad bar seemed somewhat limited. However, the quality of the greens and the other delicacies was great. Every pepper was cured to perfection, every salad (potato salad, cole slaw, etc.) had the right amount of ingredients and texture, and even the cheeses seemed to be able to take center stage at the table.
Of course, you come here for the meats! Every cut was perfectly seasoned and very flavorful. You can have everything from filet mignon to pork sausages and every cut in between. Little specialties like chicken wrap in bacon and lamb chops. The lamb T-bones were by far my favorite, I didn’t have to use a knife for these!
Their wine list is extensive and moderately priced. The staff really seems to be aware of your needs and they work hard to make sure your table is well engaged. Even with a full restaurant we felt really well taken care of.

  • Visited March 2012
    • Value
    • Atmosphere
    • Service
    • Food
Helpful?
Thank Lucas R
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Hadley, Massachusetts
Level 5 Contributor
79 reviews
57 restaurant reviews
common_n_restaurant_reviews_1bd8 74 helpful votes
“A well-run Brazilian rodizio”
Reviewed April 15, 2012

Elegant place, with typical Brazilian meats coming out in waves. This style of restaurant usually assumes you'll stay for a while and at least taste numerous kinds of beef, chicken, pork, and lamb cuts of meat. Fogo de Chao seems more "typically DC": they are prepared to hurry you along. The non-meat dishes are also usually good, but the style depends on keeping everything well-supervised, with the refills and newly prepared dishes coming out, and sometimes that breaks down. If you've got some patience, and can slow the service to better try things, can be fun -- and interesting. Not cheap, usually with an international clientele.

Visited May 2011
Helpful?
Thank Phillylad
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.

Travelers who viewed Fogo de Chao Brazilian Steakhouse also viewed

 

Been to Fogo de Chao Brazilian Steakhouse? Share your experiences!

Write a Review Add Photos & Videos

Owners: What's your side of the story?

Own or manage this property? Claim your listing for free to respond to reviews, update your profile and much more.

Claim Your Listing