We noticed that you're using an unsupported browser. The TripAdvisor website may not display properly.
We support the following browsers:
Windows: Internet Explorer, Mozilla Firefox, Google Chrome. Mac: Safari.

“Great way to end the evening”
Review of Blue Duck Tavern

Blue Duck Tavern
Reserve with OpenTable
Blue Duck Tavern is not available for your requested time. Choose another time, or search restaurants with availability.
The time you selected has already passed.
Ranked #8 of 3,216 Restaurants in Washington DC
Certificate of Excellence
Price range: $40 - $50
Cuisines: American
More restaurant details
Restaurant details
Good for: Bar scene, Business meetings, Local cuisine, Romantic, Special occasions, Large groups
Dining options: Lunch, Late Night, Dinner, Brunch, Breakfast, Free Wifi, Full Bar, Highchairs Available, Outdoor Seating, Parking Available, Private Dining, Reservations, Seating, Serves Alcohol, Valet Parking, Waitstaff, Wheelchair Accessible
Dining style: Casual Elegant
Cross street: 24 & M Streets NW
Transit: Foggy Bottom Metro Station - Orange and Blue Lines Dupont Circle Metro Station - Red Line
Description: Blue Duck Tavern, a contemporary neighborhood restaurant, invites its guests to gather and celebrate in good taste with a menu focusing on the freshest ingredients available from local purveyors and artisans. The menu notes every farm where the main ingredient for the dish was raised before its journey to the table. Dishes are genuine, time-honored and traditional -- slow roasting in wood embers, braising, preserving and smoking techniques bring the true flavors of America's great, simple and wholesome foods to the Blue Duck Tavern. The restaurant has an elegant residential feel through the open staff pantry and kitchen, wood-burning oven and the showpiece Molteni range.
New York City, New York
Level Contributor
48 reviews
34 restaurant reviews
common_n_restaurant_reviews_1bd8 20 helpful votes
“Great way to end the evening”
Reviewed January 29, 2014

I have been going here almost every evening for dinner for the past week and I have to say it has been amazing. The service is spectacular and for those that complain about slow service I actually do not mind because it gives me the opportunity to savor my food (which you definitely have to do) without feeling rushed. Reservations are definitely recommended because it gets very busy however if you are patient you can always find a seat in the lounge which also serves the BDT menu. I've only sampled a small portion of the menu but everything that I have had from the burger to the lobster bisque soup has been amazing. Also the staff is great with helping you find a table in the lounge all the way up to helping you make a decision from the menu. I have had a great experience here and am looking forward to going back again tonight. It is a bit pricey but IMHO it is worth it. Definitely check it out.

  • Visited January 2014
    • Value
    • Atmosphere
    • Service
    • Food
Helpful?
Thank Taimata
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
BlueDuckTavern, Public Relations Manager at Blue Duck Tavern, responded to this review, February 7, 2014
Dear Taimata,

Wow! We love hearing how much you have recently dined with us. We appreciate your patronage of both the restaurant and Lounge! It's great reading you well how staff has taken care of you during your visits. I'll be sure to pass along your feedback to the rest of our team. We look forward to welcoming you back again - hopefully soon!

Best,
Renee Eisman
Director of Public Relations
Report response as inappropriate
This response is the subjective opinion of the management representative and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Write a Review

1,746 reviews from our community

Visitor rating
    1,160
    375
    139
    50
    22
Rating summary
    Food
    Service
    Value
    Atmosphere
Date | Rating
  • Danish first
  • Dutch first
  • English first
  • French first
  • German first
  • Italian first
  • Japanese first
  • Norwegian first
  • Portuguese first
  • Russian first
  • Spanish first
  • Any
English first
Richmond, Virginia
Level Contributor
34 reviews
22 restaurant reviews
common_n_restaurant_reviews_1bd8 34 helpful votes
“Excellent Dinner”
Reviewed January 28, 2014

My husband and I dined here on a Friday night. We arrived about 25 minutes prior to our 8:00 p.m. reservation planning to have a cocktail at the bar until our table was ready. The hostess said it was not a problem and we were seated about five minutes later. The setting was warm and inviting and the seating is very comfortable. Our server, Mike, was very pleasant. We had taken a special bottle of wine, which Mike quickly decanted and served to us. The restaurant charges a $35 corkage fee, which is a bit pricey, but we were in D.C. We started with the smoked trout and kale salad for appetizers. Both were delicious and my husband thought that the trout was some of the best he has had. Our entrees were the suckling pig and the roasted chicken. Both were delicious! Our sides of brussels sprouts and mushrooms were also very tasty. We shared the apple pie for two for dessert, which would have been better served warmer. Throughout the night, the service was very professional and efficient. At no time did we feel rushed. Would definitely recommend this restaurant.

  • Visited January 2014
    • Value
    • Atmosphere
    • Service
    • Food
Helpful?
Thank Claudia I
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
BlueDuckTavern, Public Relations Manager at Blue Duck Tavern, responded to this review, February 7, 2014
Dear Claudia I,

Thank you for making the trip from Richmond to join us for dinner! It sounds like you and your husband both enjoyed your meal with us, from the cuisine to the service of our team. We appreciate you sharing feedback and look forward to welcoming you back again soon.

Best,
Renee Eisman
Director of Public Relations
Report response as inappropriate
This response is the subjective opinion of the management representative and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Level Contributor
35 reviews
12 restaurant reviews
common_n_restaurant_reviews_1bd8 23 helpful votes
“Incredible food and ambiance, spotty service”
Reviewed January 22, 2014

Have eaten here half a dozen times for both lunch and dinner. The ambiance can only be described as sleek, urban, Shaker-chic. Loved the room length benches, wood finishes, and metallic accents. Cocktails are good. Food is divine. Service is spotty. On our first visit, couldn't have been more pleased. However, we took out of town guests and sat with our menus for at least 15 minutes before anyone welcomed us or took drink orders. Another 15-20 minutes later we finally placed food orders. Less than 5 minutes later, our (hot) appetizers arrived as if by magic, and we were served our mains 10 minutes later. The timing just felt awkward. Since then we have returned, and the service was spot on. Thus, the 4 star rating. This is still one of my favorite places to eat in DC.

  • Visited January 2014
    • Value
    • Atmosphere
    • Service
    • Food
Helpful?
Thank N S
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Sydney
Level Contributor
90 reviews
45 restaurant reviews
common_n_restaurant_reviews_1bd8 81 helpful votes
“Excellent Food”
Reviewed January 10, 2014

Loved my steak bernaise - so much flavour, cooked to perfection and it might just be one of the best steak meals I've ever had. The service was officious and a little arrogant, and the ambience was a bit hotel but who cares when the food is this good?

Visited January 2014
Helpful?
1 Thank Suzy B
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Portland, Oregon
Level Contributor
53 reviews
27 restaurant reviews
common_n_restaurant_reviews_1bd8 48 helpful votes
“Fantastic for the whole dsmily”
Reviewed January 5, 2014 via mobile

We had the pleasure to have dinner and breakfast here 4 days in a row and it was fantastic with great fresh ingredients and every request had the same answer; of course sir no problem. Their wine list is also very good try the Malbec!!!

  • Visited January 2014
    • Value
    • Atmosphere
    • Service
    • Food
Helpful?
Thank Reeijm
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.

Travelers who viewed Blue Duck Tavern also viewed

 

Been to Blue Duck Tavern? Share your experiences!

Write a Review Add Photos & Videos

Owners: What's your side of the story?

Own or manage this property? Claim your listing for free to respond to reviews, update your profile and much more.

Claim Your Listing