We noticed that you're using an unsupported browser. The TripAdvisor website may not display properly.We support the following browsers:
Windows: Internet Explorer, Mozilla Firefox, Google Chrome. Mac: Safari.

“top notch staff, charming home, convenient location”
Review of Akwaaba DC

Best prices for -
Check In mm/dd/yyyy Check Out mm/dd/yyyy
Prices are for 1 room, 2 adults
Show Prices
Compare best prices from top travel sites
Akwaaba DC
Ranked #4 of 35 Washington DC B&B and Inns
Certificate of Excellence
Keaau, Hawaii
Level Contributor
135 reviews
24 hotel reviews
common_n_hotel_reviews_1bd8 55 helpful votes
“top notch staff, charming home, convenient location”
Reviewed October 26, 2013

We were in town for a few days of business and stayed at Akwaaba for its location. We had stayed at Akwaaba Mansion in Brooklyn and met the innkeeper Joanna there. She exudes joy and prepares a tasty breakfast too. Whatever came up -- small question or large -- Joanna was ready to be of assistance. Our room -- Romance -- was on the second floor right at the top of the stairs. The bed was closer to the rear of the home so we were never bothered by the sound of people passing by in the hallway or on the stairs. Internet connection was important to my husband and he was made comfortable downstairs. As others have noted, Akwaaba is conveniently located in the Dupont Circle area, a short walk to Washington's most efficient Metro. I was fascinated by the exquisite tile in the bathroom and around fireplaces throughout the home plus the woodwork. The writers' theme is carried out well with photographs and books.

  • Stayed September 2013, traveled on business
    • Value
    • Location
    • Sleep Quality
    • Rooms
    • Cleanliness
    • Service
Helpful?
1 Thank Katharine C
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Write a Review

460 reviews from our community

Traveler rating
    371
    71
    7
    9
    2
See reviews for
57
229
42
69
Rating summary
  • Location
  • Sleep Quality
  • Rooms
  • Service
  • Value
  • Cleanliness
Traveler tips help you choose the right room.   Room tips (122)
Date | Rating
  • Danish first
  • English first
  • French first
  • German first
  • Italian first
  • Japanese first
  • Spanish first
  • Any
English first
Calgary, Canada
Level Contributor
3 reviews
3 hotel reviews
common_n_hotel_reviews_1bd8 3 helpful votes
Reviewed October 20, 2013

My wife and I arrived during the shut down and were concerned about things to do and see. Our special host, Joanna, made sure we knew what was open, what to see and what to do. She made sure we had maps, tour info etc each day. When we needed a taxi she even stood at the sidewalk to make sure we were picked up on time. She also is a great chef serving tasty breakfasts. We also enjoyed the late afternoon wine and cheese time together with other guests. The B&B is very centrally located which makes it easy to get to all of the sites.
We would certainly recommend this place

Stayed October 2013, traveled as a couple
Helpful?
1 Thank David1913
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Sydney, Australia
Level Contributor
293 reviews
45 hotel reviews
common_n_hotel_reviews_1bd8 99 helpful votes
Reviewed October 18, 2013

Like so many people who have already reviewed Akwaaba we had the most wonderful 3 night stay here. The room we booked - the Toni Morrison room - was really attractively furnished with everything you could possibly need to make your stay comfortable. The B&B is in a fantastic location; a 20 minute walk to the Obamas' and a 30 minute walk to Georgetown if you feel so inclined. If not, DuPont Circle Metro station is an easy 10 minute stroll. There are tons of restaurants in walking distance ... if you feel like eating after the 5pm refreshments. Our stay was made truly special by Joanna who is the most warm, helpful, professional person we have encountered to date in our 6 weeks in the USA. Our stay began during the shutdown and she was a mine of information about everything Washington has to offer and could point you in the direction of anything you needed. A feature of the B&B that we found such a pleasant surprise was the 5pm 'refreshments'. Expecting a cuppa and a bikkie, we were instead served Joanna's homemade cakes, dips and other appetisers and some very nice wine. Add to this the delicious breakfasts and you will want to stay here for the quality of the food alone. The breakfasts and refreshments are also served in an atmosphere that is really conducive to striking up interesting conversations with other guests. We can't imagine a better place to stay in this lovely city.

Room Tip: The Toni Morrison room is beautifully furnished but on the small side so choose another room if you...
See more room tips
  • Stayed October 2013, traveled as a couple
    • Value
    • Location
    • Sleep Quality
    • Rooms
    • Cleanliness
    • Service
Helpful?
1 Thank mini_d51
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Toledo, Iowa
1 review
Reviewed October 15, 2013

Located centrally in the heart of Washington DC, this bed and breakfast is within walking distance to many of the highlights the city has to offer. Akwaaba has an old Victorian charm and the Innkeeper, Joanna is a real delight who pays attention to every detail. She also cooks an amazing breakfast. despite the rain that we had every day of our trip, Joanna and the Akwaaba Bed and Breakfast truly made the trip worth the while.

Room Tip: It is hard to tell you which room is the best because they are all amazing.
See more room tips
  • Stayed October 2013, traveled with family
    • Value
    • Location
    • Sleep Quality
    • Rooms
    • Cleanliness
    • Service
Helpful?
Thank Dallas-boerm600
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Chicago, Illinois
1 review
common_n_hotel_reviews_1bd8 1 helpful vote
Reviewed October 3, 2013

I loved the inn! Very comfortable, accessible and the staff was awesome. Love Joanna - she made the stay even better than expected. The breakfast was amazing - almost wanted to go back and take a nap as opposed to heading out for my business meeting! I will return and have already recommended to many.

Room Tip: My room was the Modern Classics. If I were to stay again, I would pick the Langston Hughes room whi...
See more room tips
  • Stayed September 2013, traveled on business
    • Value
    • Location
    • Sleep Quality
    • Rooms
    • Cleanliness
    • Service
Helpful?
1 Thank Dorothy C
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Washington DC, District of Columbia
Level Contributor
5 reviews
3 hotel reviews
common_n_hotel_reviews_1bd8 2 helpful votes
Reviewed October 2, 2013

I think your experience at this hotel depends on what room you are in. We booked the Writer's Suite, which, when we arrived, was so horrible that we switched immediately. It's a basement, but there is no central air, the bathrooms are dirty and outdated, it smells musty, and there is only one window for two rooms. We then stayed at the Walter Mosby room, which was slightly better, but the bathroom was severely outdated and not all that clean. There was dust everywhere, and no TV. I saw some of the other rooms, which seemed much nicer and had some modern updates. Overall, I do not think it's worth the price tag as the property is not well-kept by the owner, and the rooms are dirty. On the positive, Joanna was great, as was breakfast. She was very good with the move, although the bed and breakfast people were rude via email, and it is odd that the inn keeper could not move the room, but the bed and breakfast people had to do it. It makes service a bit worse. I would not stay here again, nor would I recommend it.

  • Stayed September 2013, traveled with family
    • Value
    • Location
    • Sleep Quality
    • Rooms
    • Cleanliness
    • Service
Helpful?
1 Thank Pedi05401
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
bnbaccomDC, Owner at Akwaaba DC, responded to this review, October 10, 2013
We thank this guest for taking the time to write a review of our bed and breakfast (we are not a hotel), and we appreciate that she enjoyed the hospitality of our innkeeper Joanna as well as the breakfast prepared for her each morning. Our inn is more than 100 years old, and guests often seek us out because the property retains many of the original details and charm of yesteryear.

Each of our guest rooms is individually decorated to suit a wide range of discriminating tastes. The Writer's Suite, which this guest booked for her and two additional guests, is our most economical stay (it had a base rate of $225 during this time). Located on the lower level of the inn with window air conditioning, it has a private entrance, fully equipped kitchen, two sleeping rooms and two bathrooms. The bathrooms are not ultra modern or luxurious, but they are more than serviceable and certainly clean.

When the Writer's Suite did not meet this guest's expectations, our innkeeper needed to first check with our reservation service to see if any other rooms might be available. Her new room, Walter Mosley, is light and airy with an over-sized bathroom featuring a double-sized shower. Does the bathroom have a marble-top vanity or over-sized rain shower, unfortunately not. But it is clean, attractive and fully functional, and the room, at a $195 base rate during her stay including breakfast, offers a great value (the Four Seasons with the kinds of bathroom amenities this guest expected was priced at $700 per night for a standard room). By the way, we're not sure how this guest missed the TV in the room armoire; all of our guest rooms have cable TV and wireless internet. We pride ourselves on cleanliness, and if somewhere or somehow our housekeeper missed dust, a simple mention to Joanna, who this reviewer described as "great," would have resulted in immediate, corrective action.

Respectfully submitted,
Monique Greenwood, Owner Akwaaba Bed & Breakfast Inns
Report response as inappropriate
This response is the subjective opinion of the management representative and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
New York City, New York
Level Contributor
6 reviews
4 hotel reviews
common_n_hotel_reviews_1bd8 5 helpful votes
Reviewed September 25, 2013

We stayed at Akwaaba for one night and really enjoyed the experience. It is a gorgeous and historic home in a great location. Joanna could not have been more lovely and helpful and welcoming. When we arrived at 6 pm, wine, juice, snacks and appetizers were set up which was much appreciated. She called a cab for us for our evening event. We had to depart very early the next morning and she made us a special early hot breakfast, which was beautifully served and delicious. The room we stayed in, Modern Classics, was lovely and comfortable. We wouldn't hesitate to stay here again and recommend it highly.

  • Stayed September 2013, traveled as a couple
    • Value
    • Location
    • Sleep Quality
    • Rooms
    • Cleanliness
    • Service
Helpful?
1 Thank Di_bigapple
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Hotels you might also like...
Travelers also viewed these Washington DC hotels
Dupont Circle
The Jefferson, Washington DC
The Jefferson, Washington DC
#5 of 141 in Washington DC
1,087 reviews
Dupont Circle
The Dupont Circle
The Dupont Circle
#28 of 141 in Washington DC
3,041 reviews
Dupont Circle
Kimpton Carlyle Hotel
Kimpton Carlyle Hotel
#53 of 141 in Washington DC
2,035 reviews
Show Prices
Show Prices
Show Prices
Dupont Circle
The Hay-Adams
The Hay-Adams
#1 of 141 in Washington DC
1,232 reviews
Dupont Circle
Kimpton Hotel Palomar Washington DC
Capitol Hill Hotel
#10 of 141 in Washington DC
1,437 reviews
Show Prices
Show Prices
Show Prices

Been to Akwaaba DC? Share your experiences!

Write a Review Add Photos & Videos

Additional Information about Akwaaba DC

Property: Akwaaba DC
Address: 1708 16th St NW, Washington DC, DC 20009-3104
Location: United States > District of Columbia > Washington DC > Dupont Circle
Amenities:
Free Breakfast Kitchenette Suites
Hotel Style:
Ranked #4 of 35 B&Bs / Inns in Washington DC
Price Range (Based on Average Rates): $$
Number of rooms: 8
Official Description (provided by the hotel):
Akwaaba DC is located in Dupont Circle at the heart of the Nation's Capitol. This 1890's historic townhouse is within walking distance of the White House, and the many fine restaurants, and shops of Dupont Circle. Access to the Smithsonian and National Monuments is a short ride on the Metro just 4 blocks (less than a 10 minute walk). Choose from 7 guest rooms, each with private bath or an apartment with accommodations for 6. ... more   less 
Also Known As:
Akwaaba Dc Hotel Washington Dc

Is This Your TripAdvisor Listing?

Own or manage this property? Claim your listing for free to respond to reviews, update your profile and much more.

Claim Your Listing