We noticed that you're using an unsupported browser. The TripAdvisor website may not display properly.
We support the following browsers:
Windows: Internet Explorer, Mozilla Firefox, Google Chrome. Mac: Safari.
The latest reviews. The lowest prices. The perfect place to shop for hotels.

“Loved it! Would stay here again!” 4 of 5 bubbles
Review of Akwaaba DC

Best prices for -
Check In mm/dd/yyyy Check Out mm/dd/yyyy
Prices are for 1 room, 2 adults
Show Prices
Compare best prices from top travel sites
Akwaaba DC
Ranked #4 of 37 Washington DC B&B and Inns
Certificate of Excellence
Level Contributor
13 reviews
7 hotel reviews
common_n_hotel_reviews_1bd8 6 helpful votes
“Loved it! Would stay here again!”
4 of 5 bubbles Reviewed June 6, 2013

Loved the room (stayed in the Langston Hughes room)! Spacious, comfortable, and welcoming! Also enjoyed the other guests! Not super posh or modern, but lovely nonetheless. The only bummer is the street noise in this room, if sleeping in is on your list of things to do.

  • Stayed June 2013
    • 4 of 5 bubbles
      Value
    • 5 of 5 bubbles
      Location
    • 5 of 5 bubbles
      Rooms
    • 5 of 5 bubbles
      Cleanliness
    • 5 of 5 bubbles
      Service
Helpful?
1 Thank BrandonPerdue
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Write a Review

444 reviews from our community

Traveler rating
    356
    71
    7
    9
    1
See reviews for
52
222
41
69
Rating summary
  • Location
    5 of 5 bubbles
  • Sleep Quality
    4.5 of 5 bubbles
  • Rooms
    4.5 of 5 bubbles
  • Service
    5 of 5 bubbles
  • Value
    4.5 of 5 bubbles
  • Cleanliness
    4.5 of 5 bubbles
Traveler tips help you choose the right room.   Room tips (115)
Date | Rating
  • Danish first
  • English first
  • French first
  • German first
  • Italian first
  • Japanese first
  • Spanish first
  • Any
English first
Hillsborough, North Carolina
Level Contributor
48 reviews
29 hotel reviews
common_n_hotel_reviews_1bd8 21 helpful votes
3 of 5 bubbles Reviewed June 5, 2013

I stayed at this inn to experience a new, different place. The inn is located on a lovely street and cabs are in abundance. As for the inn, I had a wonderful welcome. I stayed in the Zora Neal Hurston room. The room was spacious, but there were some things that needed to be done:
1. The sheets were not of a good quality and in shades of red with pattern. In fact, there wasn't a fitted sheet and it appeared to be just a flat sheet. The pillows were also not fluffy. Simple, nice 600 thread count white sheets and new pillows would have been great.
2. The room had dust around the floor boards and the hardwood floors were really scratched up.
3. The air conditioning unit was one that was inside of the window. It did work, but was loud.
4. The furniture, though of the period, was scratched up.
5. The toilet seat needs to be replaced.
Again, my stay was OK and the neighborhood was wonderful, but the inn didn't have the final touches to make it awesome. You'll marvel over the architectural touches. I didn't have breakfast, as I headed out really early in the morning.

  • Stayed June 2013, traveled on business
    • 5 of 5 bubbles
      Value
    • 5 of 5 bubbles
      Location
    • 3 of 5 bubbles
      Sleep Quality
    • 3 of 5 bubbles
      Rooms
    • 2 of 5 bubbles
      Cleanliness
    • 5 of 5 bubbles
      Service
Helpful?
Thank Lilyn1
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Newton, Massachusetts
Level Contributor
13 reviews
5 hotel reviews
common_n_hotel_reviews_1bd8 5 helpful votes
4 of 5 bubbles Reviewed May 23, 2013

I haven't stayed in many B&Bs, so this was a little different for me. First, I admired the exterior The main floor is lovely--lots of victorian woodwork and period furninshings. I stayed in the Inspiration room. It is on the 4th floor--walkup, but that was fine. The room was very large, well decorated and very CLEAN. It has a claw foot tub in one corner of the room with netting surrounding it from the ceiling. I thought, "How nice---but I won't be using that." I had a great night's sleep in the comfy king bed. The next morning, try as I might, I could not get hot water in the shower. I tried everything. I didn't want to call Joanna since I had called ther the day before to help get the TV to work (it was unplugged). Faced with the prospect of being the guest who couldn't work the TV OR the shower, I got into the tub. Not a lot of water, but it was warm. Breakfast was very good. I will be back---but I'll try the shower the night before!!

  • Stayed May 2013, traveled with family
    • 4 of 5 bubbles
      Value
    • 4 of 5 bubbles
      Location
    • 5 of 5 bubbles
      Sleep Quality
    • 4 of 5 bubbles
      Rooms
    • 5 of 5 bubbles
      Cleanliness
    • 5 of 5 bubbles
      Service
Helpful?
Thank traveldeb908
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
La Verne, California
Level Contributor
188 reviews
43 hotel reviews
common_n_hotel_reviews_1bd8 82 helpful votes
4 of 5 bubbles Reviewed May 20, 2013

Pluses: very quiet (the inn was full and we never heard any noise at all), wonderful location (walk to metro, numerous restaurants and shops), good breakfast, beautiful common rooms, very comfortable bed and first class linens, free Wi-Fi and newspaper, plenty of room on the bathroom counter. We stayed in the Mosley room (3rd floor in back) No noise at all from outside. Joanna was very friendly, and made us a "to go" breakfast when we had to leave early to catch our plane.
Minuses: Upstairs could use a little TLC-patch and paint. My in-laws were on the second floor (in the front) - that room was in better shape. Parking is extremely limited - and if you have to park off site, you must walk. I understand, this is D.C., but be forewarned. Breakfast is only served for a limited time, and on the weekends that is 9-10. I like to get going before then. overall a great stay, we would definitely go back (especially because this is the closest hotel to Mt. Pleasant, where our daughter lives)

  • Stayed May 2013, traveled as a couple
    • 4 of 5 bubbles
      Value
    • 5 of 5 bubbles
      Location
    • 4 of 5 bubbles
      Sleep Quality
    • 4 of 5 bubbles
      Rooms
    • 4 of 5 bubbles
      Cleanliness
    • 4 of 5 bubbles
      Service
Helpful?
Thank Susanbunny_8
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Houston, Texas
1 review
common_n_hotel_reviews_1bd8 1 helpful vote
5 of 5 bubbles Reviewed May 17, 2013

Akwaaba is located on 16th an R Streets NW in one of DC's signature 19th century homes, which is centrally located between Dupont and Logan Circles, a great area to stay. That was my original reason for booking at Akwaaba. But I was truly impressed more by the staff and the set up itself. Naturally, Akwaaba has the amenities you expect, great breakfast, free and trouble-free wireless internet, cable and what not. The room I stayed (The Langston Hughes) was like a suite unto itself. The owner gave painstaking detail to the room to give it the 1940s ambience from the furniture the lighting, and the articles around that it energized me. The room is expansive and opens to the balcony overlooking 16th Street. The photos do not do it justice. And then the bathroom! It has a jacuzzi and shower and the complimentary soap and shampoo is supber. I snagged a couple of them to bring home. Joanna who manages Akwaaba was responsive and a great host. I would overload this page with positive exclamation marks, but you get the idea. I will stay here whenever I can.

  • Stayed May 2013, traveled on business
    • 5 of 5 bubbles
      Value
    • 5 of 5 bubbles
      Location
    • 5 of 5 bubbles
      Sleep Quality
    • 5 of 5 bubbles
      Rooms
    • 5 of 5 bubbles
      Cleanliness
    • 5 of 5 bubbles
      Service
Helpful?
1 Thank Michael J
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
PA
Level Contributor
12 reviews
12 hotel reviews
common_n_hotel_reviews_1bd8 9 helpful votes
5 of 5 bubbles Reviewed May 14, 2013

We stayed for three nights. It was truly wonderful. The location was ideal and Joanna was so helpful. The meals were both excellent and generous. The room was spacious and very quiet/private. Could not have been better.

  • Stayed May 2013
    • 5 of 5 bubbles
      Value
    • 5 of 5 bubbles
      Location
    • 5 of 5 bubbles
      Rooms
    • 5 of 5 bubbles
      Cleanliness
    • 5 of 5 bubbles
      Service
Helpful?
Thank shouldergeek
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Austin, Texas
Level Contributor
4 reviews
3 hotel reviews
5 of 5 bubbles Reviewed May 13, 2013

This is my 3rd year back at Akwaaba, and I continue to love the experience, no matter which room I stay in. The decor of each room is unique, and the hospitality of Joanne, the inn keeper is exceptional. She is so warm and friendly, always willing to help, and makes the most wonderful breakfasts and snacks. It's also enjoyable to meet and visit with the other couples who were at the B&B at the same time as us. This is a great alternative to staying at the host hotel for my yearly conference. I'll be back again next year!

Room Tip: The Langston Hughes room is HUGE and has a lovely jacuzzi tub and small balcony. It's on the 3r...
See more room tips
  • Stayed May 2013, traveled on business
    • 5 of 5 bubbles
      Value
    • 5 of 5 bubbles
      Location
    • 5 of 5 bubbles
      Sleep Quality
    • 5 of 5 bubbles
      Rooms
    • 5 of 5 bubbles
      Cleanliness
    • 5 of 5 bubbles
      Service
Helpful?
Thank Renita F
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Hotels you might also like...
Travelers also viewed these Washington DC hotels
Dupont Circle
The Jefferson, Washington DC
The Jefferson, Washington DC
#4 of 140 in Washington DC
5.0 of 5 bubbles 1,052 reviews
Dupont Circle
The Hay-Adams
The Hay-Adams
#2 of 140 in Washington DC
4.5 of 5 bubbles 1,155 reviews
Capitol Hill Hotel
#11 of 140 in Washington DC
4.5 of 5 bubbles 1,316 reviews
Show Prices
Show Prices
Show Prices
Dupont Circle
The Dupont Circle
The Dupont Circle
#34 of 140 in Washington DC
4.5 of 5 bubbles 2,847 reviews
Sofitel Washington DC
#16 of 140 in Washington DC
4.5 of 5 bubbles 3,082 reviews
Georgetown
Four Seasons Hotel Washington, DC
Show Prices
Show Prices
Show Prices

Been to Akwaaba DC? Share your experiences!

Write a Review Add Photos & Videos

Additional Information about Akwaaba DC

Property: Akwaaba DC
Address: 1708 16th St NW, Washington DC, DC 20009-3104
Location: United States > District of Columbia > Washington DC > Dupont Circle
Amenities:
Free Breakfast Kitchenette Suites
Hotel Style:
Ranked #4 of 37 B&Bs / Inns in Washington DC
Price Range (Based on Average Rates): $$
Number of rooms: 8
Official Description (provided by the hotel):
Akwaaba DC is located in Dupont Circle at the heart of the Nation's Capitol. This 1890's historic townhouse is within walking distance of the White House, and the many fine restaurants, and shops of Dupont Circle. Access to the Smithsonian and National Monuments is a short ride on the Metro just 4 blocks (less than a 10 minute walk). Choose from 7 guest rooms, each with private bath or an apartment with accommodations for 6. ... more   less 
Also Known As:
Akwaaba Dc Hotel Washington Dc

Is This Your TripAdvisor Listing?

Own or manage this property? Claim your listing for free to respond to reviews, update your profile and much more.

Claim Your Listing