We noticed that you're using an unsupported browser. The TripAdvisor website may not display properly.
We support the following browsers:
Windows: Internet Explorer, Mozilla Firefox, Google Chrome. Mac: Safari.
The latest reviews. The lowest prices. The perfect place to shop for hotels.

“Welcome to Bedrock”
Review of Bohemian Caverns

Bohemian Caverns
maryland
Level Contributor
170 reviews
51 attraction reviews
common_n_attraction_reviews_1bd8 59 helpful votes
“Welcome to Bedrock”
Reviewed August 17, 2012

Funky little place that really is like a little cave. It's not cavernous, by any means, and I can imagine on a busy night it could get pretty stuffy in there, but luckily, the night I visited it wasn't too crowded and I was able to score a nice front view seat (get there early for prime seats as it was first come, first choice). Dark, cozy, romantic, reasonably priced, up close and personal with the artists - pretty much everything you'd want a jazz spot to be. On the night I visited, the artists were walking around hob-nobbing with the patrons between sets - you can't get that at the Verizon Center. The food was surprisingly good. I had a jerk chicken and pasta dish that was quite tasty. The service was adequate, a little slow during the second show, but the server was very pleasant. Everyone I asked a question answered it with a smile. I'll likely be back when an artist on my list is playing.

Visited August 2012
Helpful?
1 Thank ms90
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Write a Review

32 reviews from our community

Visitor rating
    9
    15
    2
    1
    5
Date | Rating
  • English first
  • Italian first
  • Japanese first
  • Portuguese first
  • Any
English first
Silver Spring, Maryland
Level Contributor
89 reviews
22 attraction reviews
common_n_attraction_reviews_1bd8 44 helpful votes
“Too hot to handle”
Reviewed July 31, 2012

Visited Bohemian Caverns on a very hot and humid Saturday night to hear Larry WIllis and his quartet, the music was great, however, the lack of air conditioning or any type of cooling system made the venue almost unbearable. The musicians, in their jackets and shirts, left the bandstand every few minutes to walk outside to catch some fresh air. The patrons were mostly listless despite a great performance by the artists. This old venue needs to update its air cooling system if it wants to retain customers despite great performers.

Visited July 2012
Helpful?
Thank Donnakz
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Voorschoten, The Netherlands
Level Contributor
662 reviews
296 attraction reviews
common_n_attraction_reviews_1bd8 111 helpful votes
“Great jazz”
Reviewed May 28, 2012

Went to see Gregoire Maret. Very good harmonica player

Visited May 2012
Helpful?
Thank ThijsMalmberg
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Level Contributor
428 reviews
64 attraction reviews
common_n_attraction_reviews_1bd8 1,119 helpful votes
“Cab Calloway once owned it, Count Basie played here......a must”
Reviewed April 2, 2012

With a 17 piece band to fit in, the musicians took up 25% of the floor space. A terrific, friendly, cosy venue. Good service, seriously well performed jazz. I don't know how they manage to make it pay given they can only seat circa 100 people and don't charge much..... but we loved our visit.

Helpful?
Thank BarryAscot
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Midlothian, Virginia
Level Contributor
5 reviews
common_n_attraction_reviews_1bd8 6 helpful votes
“amazing!”
Reviewed January 22, 2012

Loved the idea of an underground cavern for a Jazz club! the space was a little tight but the entertainment and food made up for it!

Visited December 2011
Helpful?
1 Thank jo m
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.

Travelers who viewed Bohemian Caverns also viewed

Washington DC, DC
Washington DC, DC
 

Been to Bohemian Caverns? Share your experiences!

Write a Review Add Photos & Videos

Owners: What's your side of the story?

Own or manage this property? Claim your listing for free to respond to reviews, update your profile and much more.

Claim Your Listing