We noticed that you're using an unsupported browser. The TripAdvisor website may not display properly.We support the following browsers:
Windows: Internet Explorer, Mozilla Firefox, Google Chrome. Mac: Safari.

“Modern beautiful theater complex in DC”
Review of Arena Stage

Arena Stage
Ranked #91 of 447 things to do in Washington DC
Certificate of Excellence
Attraction details
Washington DC, District of Columbia
Level 6 Contributor
382 reviews
181 attraction reviews
common_n_attraction_reviews_1bd8 312 helpful votes
“Modern beautiful theater complex in DC”
Reviewed August 18, 2013 via mobile

It is an impressive structure with glass al around the theaters, which are amazing modern and high tech giving you an extraordinary experience. Also the views from the terrace and the café are good options for expending some time before the event.

Visited August 2013
Helpful?
Thank darwinsail
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Write a Review

179 reviews from our community

Visitor rating
    112
    54
    8
    2
    3
Date | Rating
  • English first
  • Portuguese first
  • Any
English first
Baltimore, MD
2 reviews
common_n_attraction_reviews_1bd8 2 helpful votes
“One Night With Janis Joplin”
Reviewed August 12, 2013

WOW! What a great show - must see if you dig Janis, the blues, rock and roll, soul, or any live music for that matter. Very well done.

Visited July 2013
Helpful?
1 Thank Khorn_1
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Falls Church, Virginia, United States
Level 4 Contributor
24 reviews
7 attraction reviews
common_n_attraction_reviews_1bd8 8 helpful votes
“Front Row Seats Were Fantastic - But Not Necessary”
Reviewed August 10, 2013

My friend and I had front row seats for the recent showing of "One Night With Janis Joplin". Although this was fabulous, there isn't a bad seat in the house. The show was absolutely wonderful. A magnificent group of performers, and Mary Bridget Davies as Janis made me believe she'd come back from the dead. The audience was really into it - how could you not be? I would never have imagined anyone being able to channel Janis the way Mary did - in every aspect - gestures, mannerisms, not to mention the PERFORMANACE - as my friend said, it was just 'raw' - absolutely. Would LOVE to see it on Broadway, but actually, such an up close and personal experience was absolutely perfect. A show I will never forget. Kudos to all - and the entire staff at Arena Stage - great job answering questions, directing, service, ticket checkers - everyone! Greatly appreciated.

Visited August 2013
Helpful?
1 Thank Lucinda D
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Level 5 Contributor
45 reviews
15 attraction reviews
common_n_attraction_reviews_1bd8 23 helpful votes
“The cast of Janis Joplin blew me away!”
Reviewed August 5, 2013

Arena Stage was a great venue for One Night With Janis Joplin! The intimate theater makes the audience feel so close to the cast of this show destined for success on Broadway. The Blues singers made the historic musical connections so real. Wow! Alison Cusano made Janis Joplin come ALIVE, man! What a fun experience! (If there was a dance "area" up front...I would have totally been there. I was chair dancing as best I could....until the end when the crowd was told to stand up and rock out!) Cheers to director/creator Randy Johnson! I think I have to make that trip to NYC to experience another flashback with Janis.
(Thank you to Arena Stage....for the comfortable seat and the tart Margarita.)

Visited August 2013
Helpful?
1 Thank NancyLCarpenter
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Alexandria, Virginia
Level 4 Contributor
34 reviews
17 attraction reviews
common_n_attraction_reviews_1bd8 5 helpful votes
“One night with Janis Joplin at Arena Stage”
Reviewed July 30, 2013

"ONE NIGHT WITH JANIS JOPLIN is going to Broadway! Mary Bridget Davies and Randy Johnson’s “exhilarating” (Washington Post) show will transfer to New York in September and Broadway will discover what our audiences have known for months – this show rocks! "

I am quoting them, but the real surprise of the evening was that Mary Bridget Davies shared the stage with Sabrina Elayne Carten who represented the "blues" singer and profound influence that black jazz singers had on Janis Joplin. The back up band was excellent, while not quite
Big Brother and the Holding Company.. they were up the to task of backing up Ms Davies as she sang and mused about "her life" as Janis Joplin.

Having seen Janis Joplin in real life in 1969 at the Alexandria VA, Roller Rink, (I think it was that year) something one never would forget.. I had a basis for comparison; but I won't make a comparison because Janis Joplin bigger than life.
If you get the chance .. see this show..

Visited July 2013
Helpful?
Thank Itsya36
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.

Travelers who viewed Arena Stage also viewed

 

Been to Arena Stage? Share your experiences!

Write a Review Add Photos & Videos

Owners: What's your side of the story?

Own or manage this property? Claim your listing for free to respond to reviews, update your profile and much more.

Claim Your Listing