We noticed that you're using an unsupported browser. The TripAdvisor website may not display properly.We support the following browsers:
Windows: Internet Explorer, Mozilla Firefox, Google Chrome. Mac: Safari.

“Metamorphoses”
Review of Arena Stage

Arena Stage
Ranked #94 of 444 things to do in Washington DC
Certificate of Excellence
Attraction details
Kensington, MD
Level 2 Contributor
7 reviews
3 attraction reviews
“Metamorphoses”
Reviewed March 11, 2013

The play was very creative and unique. The setting in the Fichandler was amazing. The acting was superior and it made an old tale come to live. The facility is really very nice.

Visited March 2013
Helpful?
Thank Lisa M
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Write a Review

176 reviews from our community

Visitor rating
    112
    51
    8
    2
    3
Date | Rating
  • English first
  • Portuguese first
  • Any
English first
Charlottesville, VA
Level 4 Contributor
28 reviews
17 attraction reviews
common_n_attraction_reviews_1bd8 9 helpful votes
“A wonderful way to spend the evening!”
Reviewed March 10, 2013

I have never seen a bad performance. This season I was lucky enough to see "An Evening with Janis Joplin" and "My Fair Lady". This might not seem much until you consider that each one represents a 200+ mile car trip. I would get seasons tickets if I didn't have so many conflicts. Parking has not been a problem particularly if you arrive early for the cafeteria line dinner. If parking is a concern you can per purchase underground parking below the theater. The building itself is worth visiting for its architectural beauty.

Before the performance, drinks can be purchase to be ready for you at intermission so you don't have to wait in line. There does not seem to be a bad seat at any of the stages.

If you are going to be in DC, do check out the Arena Stage for a reasonably priced evening of excellent entertainment.

Visited November 2012
Helpful?
Thank rmacl
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Bethesda, Maryland
Level 4 Contributor
29 reviews
6 attraction reviews
common_n_attraction_reviews_1bd8 6 helpful votes
“dinner and a show”
Reviewed March 3, 2013

The productions are first class, but what we like the most is the pre-show dinner served in the theater complex. Parking has never been a problem right outside the door when we come early to have a meal before the show. While it is a cafeteria-line affair, the food is very good and not at all like cafeteria food we are used to. The tables are comfortable and spaced and overlook the theater's main floor. Just an easy way to relax before a show and not be rushed getting there, parking, etc.

Visited February 2013
Helpful?
Thank JRBII
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Washington DC, District of Columbia
Level 5 Contributor
53 reviews
26 attraction reviews
common_n_attraction_reviews_1bd8 10 helpful votes
“Outstanding Regional Theater”
Reviewed February 14, 2013

In a vibrant capital theater scene Arena continues to reign as both reliable standard and innovator ranging from serious drama to musicals, drawing top actors from across the country. Their new building is glorious--worth a visit for its architectural merit alone

Visited February 2013
Helpful?
Thank DCafficianado
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Manassas, Virginia
Level 4 Contributor
49 reviews
38 attraction reviews
common_n_attraction_reviews_1bd8 13 helpful votes
“musical”
Reviewed February 4, 2013

great ticket prices, good seats, helpful staff, perfect program - the musical sound was well heard in every area even though we had the inexpensive nose bleed section

Helpful?
Thank njgalnva
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.

Travelers who viewed Arena Stage also viewed

 

Been to Arena Stage? Share your experiences!

Write a Review Add Photos & Videos

Owners: What's your side of the story?

Own or manage this property? Claim your listing for free to respond to reviews, update your profile and much more.

Claim Your Listing