We noticed that you're using an unsupported browser. The TripAdvisor website may not display properly.We support the following browsers:
Windows: Internet Explorer, Mozilla Firefox, Google Chrome. Mac: Safari.

“Short stay, good stay”

Best prices for -
Check In mm/dd/yyyy Check Out mm/dd/yyyy
Prices are for 1 room, 2 adults
Show Prices
Compare best prices from top travel sites
and 11 more sites!
Courtyard Washington Capitol Hill/Navy Yard
Ranked #64 of 141 Hotels in Washington DC
Certificate of Excellence
Rhode Island
Level 3 Contributor
17 reviews
7 hotel reviews
common_n_hotel_reviews_1bd8 5 helpful votes
“Short stay, good stay”
Reviewed October 26, 2013

I stayed in this hotel for a one night business trip. I arrived midday for an evening event, and I was met by a very polite and efficient desk clerk. I was pleasantly surprised to find that they had a room already available. This allowed me to review my materials and rest a little before my meeting. I left early the next morning to get back to BWI before the worst of the traffic, so I didn't try their breakfast. Very convenient location with a CVS half a block away and many places to eat within a few blocks. It's also one block from the Navy Yard and the Navy Yard Metro stop on the green line. I had a great view of Nationals Park from my 11th floor room.

  • Stayed October 2013, traveled on business
    • Location
    • Sleep Quality
    • Rooms
    • Cleanliness
    • Service
Helpful?
Thank RB94
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Write a Review

709 reviews from our community

Traveler rating
    322
    272
    76
    15
    24
See reviews for
238
132
43
207
Rating summary
  • Sleep Quality
  • Location
  • Rooms
  • Service
  • Value
  • Cleanliness
Traveler tips help you choose the right room.   Room tips (127)
Date | Rating
  • English first
  • French first
  • German first
  • Italian first
  • Japanese first
  • Portuguese first
  • Russian first
  • Spanish first
  • Any
English first
Burlington, Vermont
Level 5 Contributor
58 reviews
15 hotel reviews
common_n_hotel_reviews_1bd8 21 helpful votes
Reviewed October 21, 2013

We traveled to D.C. for parents weekend, and spent two nights here. Due to an early flight, we got to the hotel before noon, expecting to check our baggage until check-in time, but we were able to get right into our room. The front desk clerk was very pleasant and informative. The room was very clean, very comfortable. We slept well.
Friday night we had appetizers and drinks in the Bistro off of the lobby. The bartender was very personable. The flatbread appetizers were delicious. It was a great place to sit and talk.
The location was just one block away from a Metro stop, which was convenient for us.
On Saturday morning, we had some time to kill, so we took a walk around the area. What a nice location! There is a residential community nearby, made up of brownstone townhouses painted pretty colors. Also, a park area designed to be sustainable (rain gardens, underground heating, etc.). Very interesting. Oh,and the Nationals ballpark is a block away as well.
We had breakfast at Lot 38, an espresso bar around the corner from the Marriott, and this was a nice place to dine.

  • Stayed October 2013, traveled with family
    • Value
    • Location
    • Sleep Quality
    • Rooms
    • Cleanliness
    • Service
Helpful?
Thank Marieeddy9
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Denver, Colorado
1 review
common_n_hotel_reviews_1bd8 1 helpful vote
Reviewed October 20, 2013

I was happy to see that this hotel had a high rating by your site. The hotel seemed decent at first. The second day I came back after work and got in the shower to realize there was no shampoo. I went downstairs to ask for some. The man behind the counter told me they ran out but there is a CVS down the street. I replied that I was not ready to walk in a strange city to get an item that I expected hotels to carry. Also my friends had told me it was not a great neighborhood to be walking around at night in DC. His reply was, "You want the shampoo don't you?"
The breakfast in their bistro is overpriced. I got a large latte and egg white english muffin and it was $14.

  • Stayed October 2013, traveled on business
    • Value
    • Location
    • Sleep Quality
    • Rooms
    • Cleanliness
    • Service
Helpful?
1 Thank Rebecca B
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
CYWASNY1, Guest Relations Manager at Courtyard Washington Capitol Hill/Navy Yard, responded to this review, December 18, 2013
Rebecca B

Good day. Thank you for your candid thoughts on our hotel. I am truly sorry that your experience with us fell short of your expecations. I will make sure to pass this feed back to our staff members. This will only serve to help make us better.

Thanks again.

Best
K.Andre Antoine
Report response as inappropriate
This response is the subjective opinion of the management representative and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Massachusetts
Level 2 Contributor
8 reviews
common_n_hotel_reviews_1bd8 2 helpful votes
Reviewed October 14, 2013

My husband and I stayed here with our friends when we went to two Nationals games this summer. Let me first say that the front desk is extremely friendly and helpful! From the get-go they were ready to give us places to see and even took our luggage while we waited for our check-in time. The hotel rooms were clean, spacious, and the bathrooms were great! Rooms were totally updated. The hotel is a 5 minute walk to the stadium- super close! It is also close to some great restaurants, and is only a 20 minute walk to the National Mall. We didn't mind the walk at all because it was great weather and we were able to see some wonderful residential areas of the city. There is a Starbucks located in the lobby which was super convenient. I would highly recommend this hotel if you are going to a Nationals game or if you want to be close to 8th street. The pool and hottub was a great bonus!

  • Stayed August 2013, traveled with friends
    • Value
    • Location
    • Sleep Quality
    • Rooms
    • Cleanliness
    • Service
Helpful?
Thank 384brendaw
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Asheville, North Carolina
1 review
common_n_hotel_reviews_1bd8 1 helpful vote
Reviewed October 11, 2013

The staff were so very helpful and attentive to our requests regarding places to eat, etc. Facilities were very nice. Location is verh handy to metro and walking to Capital Hill.The convenience of other inexpensive places to eat nearby was helpful. It was easy to drive to.

Room Tip: Elevators were adequate so any floor should work.
See more room tips
  • Stayed October 2013, traveled with family
    • Value
    • Location
    • Sleep Quality
    • Rooms
    • Cleanliness
    • Service
Helpful?
1 Thank Patricia439
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Level 3 Contributor
9 reviews
4 hotel reviews
common_n_hotel_reviews_1bd8 4 helpful votes
Reviewed October 10, 2013

Lets start out by saying "yes I know we are in Washington, BUT" My goodness its expensive! The hotel as a whole was fine. Clean and well staffed. Go see Tamika at the bar for happy hour! She makes good peach martini's!
Now for the CONS : Why is it i am paying for breakfast? Is $200+ a night not enough for breakfast? small sandwich, small coffee, small prepackaged juice +tip = $14, Hint: subway is next door. Not much to do (except when baseball is in town) but you should go up to 8th street for restaurants galore! ($10 cab ride tip included) Also Choose high level floors and low number rooms for a good view. otherwise you will be looking at the side of a building.
Would I stay here again? let me think about it.......

  • Stayed October 2013, traveled on business
    • Value
    • Location
    • Sleep Quality
    • Rooms
    • Cleanliness
    • Service
Helpful?
Thank J I
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Richmond, Virginia
Level 3 Contributor
13 reviews
8 hotel reviews
common_n_hotel_reviews_1bd8 11 helpful votes
Reviewed October 1, 2013

My friend and I came for the Veggie Fest. Check-in was sterile - just give me your credit card and sign here. Parking was $29.50 which is probably the norm for the area. At least there is unlimited in & out for that rate. Room was by the ice machine but very quiet. The a/c was blasting on the lowest setting. A call to the front desk resulted in being placed on hold and we disconnected. However, a callback came quickly after that. We enjoyed the fest and enjoyed a 15 minute walk to a restaurant and organic food store. The room was nice with the exception of what appeared to be a blood stain on the bedding. I went down to the gym when I could not sleep. Towels and cups were all over the place and there were no ear plugs for the treadmill screens in the labelled box. Unfortunately, we did not get to use the whirlpool, but some guests entering said it was very nice. The next morning I found only coffee in the room. Maybe next time there will be tea? No newspaper. Nice hot shower. Breakfast was pretty good and the staff friendly. I liked the big screen in the lobby which showed the weather, places of interest, etc. The Metro is close by too!

  • Stayed September 2013, traveled with friends
    • Value
    • Location
    • Sleep Quality
    • Rooms
    • Cleanliness
    • Service
Helpful?
1 Thank Naruto494
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Hotels you might also like...
Travelers also viewed these Washington DC hotels
0.2 mi away
Hampton Inn & Suites Washington DC - Navy Yard
Hampton Inn & Suites Washington ...
#83 of 141 in Washington DC
451 reviews
0.2 mi away
Homewood Suites by Hilton Washington DC Capitol-Navy Yard
Homewood Suites by Hilton Washin...
#18 of 141 in Washington DC
232 reviews
0.1 mi away
Residence Inn Washington Capitol Hill Navy Yard
Residence Inn Washington Capitol...
#113 of 141 in Washington DC
39 reviews
Show Prices
Show Prices
Show Prices
0.3 mi away
Capitol Skyline Hotel
Capitol Skyline Hotel
#78 of 141 in Washington DC
593 reviews
0.7 mi away
Residence Inn Washington, DC/Capitol
0.8 mi away
Hyatt Place Washington DC / National Mall
Hyatt Place Washington DC / Nati...
#36 of 141 in Washington DC
917 reviews
Show Prices
Show Prices
Show Prices

Been to Courtyard Washington Capitol Hill/Navy Yard? Share your experiences!

Write a Review Add Photos & Videos

Additional Information about Courtyard Washington Capitol Hill/Navy Yard

Property: Courtyard Washington Capitol Hill/Navy Yard
Address: 140 L Street SE, Washington DC, DC 20003-3335
Phone Number:
Location: United States > District of Columbia > Washington DC
Amenities:
Bar / Lounge Business Center with Internet Access Fitness Center with Gym / Workout Room Free High Speed Internet ( WiFi ) Restaurant Suites Swimming Pool Wheelchair access Airport Transportation
Hotel Style:
#37 Romantic Hotel in Washington DC
#49 Business Hotel in Washington DC
#62 Family Hotel in Washington DC
Price Range (Based on Average Rates): $$
Hotel Class:3 star — Courtyard Washington Capitol Hill/Navy Yard 3*
Number of rooms: 204
Official Description (provided by the hotel):
Get away to one of the most beautiful Washington, D.C. hotels on Capitol Hill, Courtyard by Marriott Washington Capitol Hill/Navy Yard. Our modern accommodatioins and attentive staff will provide you with the perfect home away from home! Conveniently located near Nationals Park and local attractions such as monuments, museums and the US Capitol in the up and coming Capitol Riverfront neighborhood, our Capitol Hill hotel is in the heart of Washington, DC office buildings such as Lockheed Martin, Northrup Grumman, Parsons, BAE Systems, General Dynamics and Booz Allen Hamilton just to name a few. We are also surrounded by government agencies such as the US Department of Transportation, DC Health and Family Services, Bureau of Land Management and convenient to the Navy Yard, Joint Base Anacostia Bolling and Ft. McNair. The striking and modern Courtyard by Marriott Washington Capitol Hill/Navy Yard is ideal for business and leisure travelers alike. Top among hotels near Capitol Hill, we offer 2,215 square feet of meeting space that can accommodate up to 180 guests, plus on-site catering from The Bistro - Eat. Drink. Connect. Enjoy breakfast in the mornings from with delicious Starbucks® coffee or relax with a glass of wine in the evening from The Bistro. You can also stay active during your stay with an on-site 24-hour fitness center, offering cardiovascular equipment, an indoor pool and whirlpool. Our lobby features all of the amenities that saavy travelers have come to expect such as FREE WIFI, a quick print station for your boarding pass to save you time at the airport, comfortable in-room work areas with conveniently located outlets and lighting and a 24-hour business center with a library. The modern lobby would not be complete however without our state-of-the-art GoBoard® that offers directions, up to the minute flight and weather information and information on local attractions with the ability to print you directions! It’s personalized service available at your fingertips! ... more   less 
Reservation Options:
TripAdvisor is proud to partner with Booking.com, Orbitz, Expedia, Hotels.com, Marriott, Hotwire, Travelocity, Cheap Tickets, Cancelon, TripOnline SA, HotelsforEveryone, getaroom.com and HotelQuickly so you can book your Courtyard Washington Capitol Hill/Navy Yard reservations with confidence. We help millions of travelers each month to find the perfect hotel for both vacation and business trips, always with the best discounts and special offers.
Also Known As:
Courtyard Washington Capitol Hill/Navy Yard Hotel Washington Dc
Courtyard Hotel Washington Dc
Marriott Washington Dc
Courtyard Washington Dc
Washington Dc Marriott
Washington Dc Courtyard

Is This Your TripAdvisor Listing?

Own or manage this property? Claim your listing for free to respond to reviews, update your profile and much more.

Claim Your Listing