We noticed that you're using an unsupported browser. The TripAdvisor website may not display properly.
We support the following browsers:
Windows: Internet Explorer, Mozilla Firefox, Google Chrome. Mac: Safari.
$25 Amazon.com Gift Card Get yours when you book a hotel on TripAdvisor and review your stay!

“Not up to standard of other Courtyards by Marriott” 3 of 5 stars
Review of Courtyard Washington Capitol Hill/Navy Yard

Best prices for -
Enter dates for best prices
Check In mm/dd/yyyy Check Out mm/dd/yyyy
Prices are for 1 room, 2 adults
Show Prices
Compare best prices from top travel sites
and 9 more sites!
Courtyard Washington Capitol Hill/Navy Yard
Ranked #80 of 140 Hotels in Washington DC
Certificate of Excellence
chicago
Level Contributor
42 reviews
27 hotel reviews
common_n_hotel_reviews_1bd8 40 helpful votes
“Not up to standard of other Courtyards by Marriott”
3 of 5 stars Reviewed April 21, 2013

Although the hotel was clean and the bed comfortable (although on the soft side), the towels were thin and scratchy as was the toilet paper in the room. TP in public areas was better quality. There are two computers in lobby for guest use. During the entire four days of our stay, one did not work, and the other worked very poorly. There were constant error messages to deal with which made any task take 3x as long.
The alarm portion of the alarm clock in our room did not work. However, we were able to get a wake up call from front desk.
Message light on phone does not show up except in dark, so we did not know we had had messages since mid afternoon until waking up in the middle of the night and then seeing the light. Most hotels have something that flashes to alert you.
Excellent personnel at the front desk - very friendly and helpful.
Hotel is remote from anything in the District except the ball park. There is a bus that comes every 12 min. during the day that goes to and from Union Station, passing Capitol Hill. The Metro is a block away. However, it is the Green line which did not go anywhere we wanted to go, so we constantly had to transfer to other lines.
Although there is a lot of activity in the area during the day due to office buildings, not much activity at night. Few restaurants in the area. The area does seem safe at night, however, with no suspicious characters hanging around. We returned by Metro at 9:30 p.m. I had been apprehensive that we would be the sole people exiting the train but there were about 20 others.

  • Stayed April 2013, traveled as a couple
    • 3 of 5 stars
      Value
    • 2 of 5 stars
      Location
    • 3 of 5 stars
      Sleep Quality
    • 3 of 5 stars
      Rooms
    • 5 of 5 stars
      Cleanliness
    • 4 of 5 stars
      Service
Helpful?
1 Thank travelholChicago
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
CYWASNY1, Guest Relations Manager at Courtyard Washington Capitol Hill/Navy Yard, responded to this review, April 26, 2013
TravelolChicago-

Thank you for your feedback regarding your recent stay at the Courtyard by Marriott Navy Yard. I am elated that your Front Desk experience was excellent. Moreover, I am happy to report that both computers in the Business Center are up and running. As for the paper products and linen, while we do receive our supplies directly from Marriott approved vendors; I will take this opportunity to double check and ensure we are ordering the most up to date approved products.

Should you have any additional comments or concerns, please do not hesitate to contact hotel and ask for me.

Best
K. Andre Antoine
Guest Services Manager
Report response as inappropriate
This response is the subjective opinion of the management representative and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Write a Review

612 reviews from our community

Traveler rating
    270
    238
    67
    14
    23
See reviews for
213
120
31
170
Rating summary
  • Sleep Quality
  • Location
  • Rooms
  • Service
  • Value
  • Cleanliness
Traveler tips help you choose the right room.   Room tips (111)
Date | Rating
  • English first
  • French first
  • German first
  • Italian first
  • Japanese first
  • Portuguese first
  • Russian first
  • Spanish first
  • Any
English first
Virginia Beach, Virginia
Level Contributor
30 reviews
12 hotel reviews
common_n_hotel_reviews_1bd8 14 helpful votes
5 of 5 stars Reviewed April 12, 2013

Upon arrival to the hotel I was greated by Dwayne. He was very professional. He recommended some resturaunts told where the train was, How to park the car in the parking garage and how to re-enter the hotel. I have never felt more welcome in a hotel. We got to our room it was one in front with the wrap around windows. Room was beautiful! Linen was fresh and the ac was running when we got in. We used the pool and the hot both were clean and stocked with towels. We ran in to the maintenance man when he was cleaning the pool area he was very polite too. Hotel is in a great location and easy transportation. Will stay here again on my next visit to DC

  • Stayed March 2013, traveled as a couple
    • 5 of 5 stars
      Value
    • 5 of 5 stars
      Location
    • 5 of 5 stars
      Sleep Quality
    • 5 of 5 stars
      Rooms
    • 5 of 5 stars
      Cleanliness
    • 5 of 5 stars
      Service
Helpful?
1 Thank dcb626
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Atlanta
2 reviews
common_n_hotel_reviews_1bd8 2 helpful votes
4 of 5 stars Reviewed April 9, 2013

My friend and I first bemoaned having to stay so far away due to the Cherry Blossom Festival, but then we were more than pleased with the choice. The concierge and front desk personnel are excellent and their recommendations for restaurants on 8th street - an easy less than a mile walk - were perfect. A Metro station is literally right across the street and so it made for easy travel to the National Gallery and then to the Mall. The location is also very quiet, which can be rare in DC, and I would certainly use this hotel again for a weekend or longer trip to DC.

  • Stayed April 2013, traveled with friends
    • 3 of 5 stars
      Value
    • 4 of 5 stars
      Location
    • 4 of 5 stars
      Sleep Quality
    • 4 of 5 stars
      Rooms
    • 5 of 5 stars
      Cleanliness
    • 5 of 5 stars
      Service
Helpful?
1 Thank Pagefwd
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Ocean City, Maryland
Level Contributor
156 reviews
19 hotel reviews
common_n_hotel_reviews_1bd8 62 helpful votes
4 of 5 stars Reviewed April 8, 2013

The hotel is relatively new and the staff very attentive although somewhat rough around the edges. The room was fine, and the bed comfortable. The restaurant was very limited and there are no options nearby. Parking is a real problem. Excellent location for Nationals games and stadium, an easy walk.

  • Stayed August 2012, traveled with friends
    • 4 of 5 stars
      Value
    • 4 of 5 stars
      Location
    • 5 of 5 stars
      Sleep Quality
    • 4 of 5 stars
      Rooms
    • 3 of 5 stars
      Cleanliness
    • 4 of 5 stars
      Service
Helpful?
1 Thank 2BeAlive
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Level Contributor
22 reviews
13 hotel reviews
common_n_hotel_reviews_1bd8 16 helpful votes
4 of 5 stars Reviewed April 8, 2013

Location is not superb, ~20-25 mins to the capitol by walk. Location in the DC is very important since taxi service is very poor. I wouldn't take this location again...

The rest is as you would expect from a good hotel - large clean rooms, good bed, good bath, friendly staff.

The parking is somewhat expensive - ~$25 / day

Indoors heated pool and hot tub are great advantages!!! There aren't lots of them in the DC!

  • Stayed April 2013, traveled as a couple
    • 3 of 5 stars
      Value
    • 3 of 5 stars
      Location
    • 5 of 5 stars
      Sleep Quality
    • 4 of 5 stars
      Rooms
    • 5 of 5 stars
      Cleanliness
    • 3 of 5 stars
      Service
Helpful?
1 Thank sodkarin
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Orlando, Florida
Level Contributor
56 reviews
7 hotel reviews
common_n_hotel_reviews_1bd8 20 helpful votes
4 of 5 stars Reviewed April 8, 2013

I listed the name of my location above because I couldn't find it. Its one block from the Nationals Baseball Stadium and a perfect view of the Capitol. The hotel was clean and nice. Parking was expensive but what else is new about DC. If you park on the street, its free from 630p - 7a. By 7:10am, you have a parking ticket. Your 7 blocks from 8th street where alot of locals dine. Metro rail is also 1 block away.

  • Stayed April 2013, traveled with family
    • 3 of 5 stars
      Value
    • 4 of 5 stars
      Location
    • 4 of 5 stars
      Sleep Quality
    • 4 of 5 stars
      Rooms
    • 4 of 5 stars
      Cleanliness
    • 4 of 5 stars
      Service
Helpful?
1 Thank Tom W
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Sewell, New Jersey
Level Contributor
174 reviews
35 hotel reviews
common_n_hotel_reviews_1bd8 57 helpful votes
1 of 5 stars Reviewed April 5, 2013

Started out with really dumb parking situation. Drive to the parking lot, and the attendant says you have to pull to the front of the hotel, get a pass, then come back and they will then take your car (inside the garage) and park it for you. Did they ever hear of valet? Showed up at 2 PM on 4/3 and room not ready. Staff didn't really seem to care. Looked over at the snack area, and there were ~8 other people waiting for their rooms. New Bistro area closed, so no chance of coffee or snack. After waiting for 15 minutes, I asked when I could expect my room, they said they didn't know. I asked would it be in time for normal check in at 3, they said probably (BTW - I am a Gold Elite Marriott member). I then asked if them to take my cell phone number so I could go out and get a coffee (with the new Bistro, they don't provide coffee anymore. Can only buy Starbucks for ~$3 when the Bistro is open). The next morning, I went to Bistro for breakfast. Ordered oatmeal and banana breakfast with coffee. They gave me a number and said they would bring it to me. I was basically put into a queue behind the people who ordered eggs, etc. After asking 10 minutes later where was my oatmeal, they finally poured the pre-made oatmeal into a bowl and gave it to me. Midway through the meal, I realized I was chewing on a plastic piece of paper. After bringing this to the manager's attention, he said I could have my money back or have a free breakfast the next day.
Place overall is very cold. Hallways, lobby, etc all require a sweatshirt or jacket. The walls are very thin. A number of times I woke up thinking someone was walking around, and it turned out to be the next room or hallway. Room was also very chilly. Also there was no bath soap in my room. Went to the lobby and they were out. They said they would have someone bring one up. Waited 1/2 hour, took a shower with the facial soap. After I was dressed and leaving for my dinner engagement, someone showed up with the soap. Also the internet had two speeds, slow and stop.

  • Stayed April 2013, traveled on business
    • 2 of 5 stars
      Value
    • 3 of 5 stars
      Location
    • 2 of 5 stars
      Sleep Quality
    • 2 of 5 stars
      Rooms
    • 2 of 5 stars
      Cleanliness
    • 1 of 5 stars
      Service
Helpful?
1 Thank Bob M
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Hotels you might also like...
Travelers also viewed these Washington DC hotels
0.2 mi away
Hampton Inn & Suites Washington DC - Navy Yard
Hampton Inn & Suites Washington ...
#88 of 140 in Washington DC
4.0 of 5 stars 226 reviews
0.3 mi away
Capitol Skyline Hotel
Capitol Skyline Hotel
#84 of 140 in Washington DC
4.0 of 5 stars 239 reviews
0.7 mi away
Residence Inn Washington, DC/Capitol
Residence Inn Washington, DC/Cap...
#44 of 140 in Washington DC
4.5 of 5 stars 898 reviews
Show Prices
Show Prices
Show Prices
0.8 mi away
Hyatt Place Washington DC / National Mall
Hyatt Place Washington DC / Nati...
#26 of 140 in Washington DC
4.5 of 5 stars 428 reviews
0.6 mi away
Capitol Hill Hotel
Capitol Hill Hotel
#11 of 140 in Washington DC
4.5 of 5 stars 1,134 reviews
1.0 mi away
Holiday Inn Washington - Capitol
Holiday Inn Washington - Capitol
#76 of 140 in Washington DC
4.0 of 5 stars 2,187 reviews
Show Prices
Show Prices
Show Prices

Been to Courtyard Washington Capitol Hill/Navy Yard? Share your experiences!

Write a Review Add Photos & Videos

Additional Information about Courtyard Washington Capitol Hill/Navy Yard

Property: Courtyard Washington Capitol Hill/Navy Yard
Address: 140 L St SE, Washington DC, DC 20003-3335
Location: United States > District of Columbia > Washington DC
Amenities:
Bar / Lounge Business Center with Internet Access Fitness Center with Gym / Workout Room Free High Speed Internet ( WiFi ) Restaurant Suites Swimming Pool Wheelchair access
Hotel Style:
#37 Romantic Hotel in Washington DC
#50 Business Hotel in Washington DC
#63 Family Hotel in Washington DC
Price Range (Based on Average Rates): $$
Hotel Class:3 star — Courtyard Washington Capitol Hill/Navy Yard 3*
Number of rooms: 204
Official Description (provided by the hotel):
Get away to one of the most beautiful Washington, D.C., hotels on Capitol Hill! Our modern accommodations and attentive staff will provide you with the perfect home away from home!Conveniently located near Nationals Park and local attractions such as monuments, museums and the US Capitol in the up and coming Capitol Riverfront neighborhood. We are in the heart of Washington, DC office buildings such as Lockheed Martin, Northrup Grumman, Parsons, BAE Systems, General Dynamics and Booz Allen Hamilton just to name a few. We are also surrounded by government agencies such as the US Department of Transportation, DC Health and Family Services, Bureau of Land Management and convenient to the Navy Yard, Joint Base Anacostia Bolling and Ft. McNair. The striking and modern Courtyard by Marriott Capitol Hill/Navy Yard is ideal for business and leisure travelers alike. Top among hotels near Capitol Hill, we offer 2,215 square feet of meeting space that can accommodate up to 180 guests, plus on-site catering from The Bistro - Eat. Drink. Connect. Enjoy breakfast in the mornings from with delicious Starbucks® coffee or relax with a glass of wine in the evening from The Bistro. You can also stay active during your stay with an on-site 24-hour fitness center, offering cardiovascular equipment, an indoor pool and whirlpool. Our lobby features all of the amenities that saavy travelers have come to expect such as FREE WIFI, a quick print station for your boarding pass to save you time at the airport, comfortable in-room work areas with conveniently located outlets and lighting and a 24-hour business center with a library. The modern lobby would not be complete however without our state-of-the-art GoBoard® that offers directions, up to the minute flight and weather information and information on local attractions with the ability to print you directions! It’s personalized service available at your fingertips! ... more   less 
Reservation Options:
TripAdvisor is proud to partner with Booking.com, Expedia, Hotels.com, Hotwire, Priceline, TripOnline SA, Travelocity, Orbitz, Odigeo, Cancelon and Marriott so you can book your Courtyard Washington Capitol Hill/Navy Yard reservations with confidence. We help millions of travelers each month to find the perfect hotel for both vacation and business trips, always with the best discounts and special offers.
Also Known As:
Courtyard Washington Capitol Hill/Navy Yard Hotel Washington Dc
Courtyard Hotel Washington Dc
Marriott Washington Dc
Courtyard Washington Dc
Washington Dc Courtyard
Washington Dc Marriott

Is This Your TripAdvisor Listing?

Own or manage this property? Claim your listing for free to respond to reviews, update your profile and much more.

Claim Your Listing